Wild Mushroom, Chestnut & Sausage Dressing

When the first European settlers landed on American shores, they found an abundance of mushrooms growing wild in the forests. Hence, wild mushrooms are a fitting addition to our Thanksgiving dressing. We call for dried mushrooms, which lend a wonderful texture and depth of flavor. The mushroom soaking liquid enhances the earthy character of the dish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Wild Mushroom, Chestnut & Sausage Dressing
Review 1 for Wild Mushroom, Chestnut & Sausage Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DJill
December 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is it!
December 13, 2010
This is the best stuffing recipe ever. Make it mostly the day before and it's a breeze. I loved how easy and creative this was and how many rave compliments I got. The secret is the dried mushrooms I think, and the great bread and the sausage and ... You won't regret the time you put into making this dish. It'll make your holiday meal!
Review 2 for Wild Mushroom, Chestnut & Sausage Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amshi
Mililani, HI
November 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Every Time
November 29, 2010
I make 2 batches every Thanksgiving so that everyone can take some home. Using the Focaccia Stuffing Mix makes all the difference. This year, I made it the night before as suggested and it was such a time saver the next day! I buy extra ingredients so I can make it throughout the year.
Review 3 for Wild Mushroom, Chestnut & Sausage Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pegaus28
Seattle, WA
October 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crowd Pleaser
October 29, 2010
We had a dinner party for 12 people so I doubled the recipe and we ate almost all of it. I got so many compliments and some people said it was by far the best stuffing they'd ever had. Very easy to make, but a little time consuming.
Review 4 for Wild Mushroom, Chestnut & Sausage Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NicoleNY
Florida, NY
October 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious
October 5, 2010
Made this numerous times in Fall of 2009 for various occasions and always stole the show. Unbelievably delicious considering how easy to make. Make it your own by substituting some ingredients. Have used with scrambled eggs for a brunch, as a dish on it's own with salad as well as a side dish. Limitless uses. Only downside is seasonal availability of key ingredient - chestnuts.
Review 5 for Wild Mushroom, Chestnut & Sausage Dressing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Magsmv
San Francisco, CA
May 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Turkey AND roast chicken side dish
May 7, 2010
I thought the recipe was a little heavy on the bread - actually it works better with the wonderful croutons that WS offers around Thanksgiving. I wish the chestnuts were more readily available, as this works well year-round, not just at the holiday season.
Review 6 for Wild Mushroom, Chestnut & Sausage Dressing
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Inkgoddess
Scottsdale, AZ
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Flavors!
April 30, 2010
The flavors in this dressing really pop, and are wonderful alongside the Cider-Brined Turkey. The only issue I've had with the recipe is a tendency for it to dry out, so I have to pay close attention to it as it bakes. The flavors though, make it worth the time. It's a mainstay in our Thanksgiving menu.
Review 7 for Wild Mushroom, Chestnut & Sausage Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
raizel629
Alpharetta, GA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Thanksgiving Day MUST
April 30, 2010
I have made this recipe on two separate Thanksgivings and I have always received rave reviews. The directions are clear and concise, the results are amazing. It disappears way too quickly and I should probably make two batches to keep up with the demand. Enjoy!!!!