Whipped Sweet Potatoes

People are sometimes confused by sweet potatoes and yams, which look very much alike. Both have fairly thin skin, with flesh ranging from pale yellow to bright orange. Typically, sweet potatoes have less moisture than yams. Feel free to use whichever you prefer in this recipe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Whipped Sweet Potatoes
Review 1 for Whipped Sweet Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
moxley
,Cattle Ranch
,ID
November 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sweet Potatoes with Fresh Ginger!
November 21, 2012
I married into a family that thought they didn't like sweet potatoes. I've been making this now for years and my family loves it. It's amazing the way the fresh ginger enhances the flavor of the sweet potatoes.
I omit the green onions and, if using dried ginger increase it to two teaspoons. When the potatoes are finished, I put them in a casserole dish, dot them with butter, cover them loosely with foil and place them in the oven to warm up. Wouldn't be Autumn without them!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, yummy!
Review 2 for Whipped Sweet Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unruly
Los Angeles
March 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick ,easy and very tasty!!!
March 2, 2011
This dish was quick and easy to prepare. The simplicity and flavor of this dish will have everyone begging for the recipe. I served this along side the Apricot-Glazed Chicken and steamed veggies. It was fantastic!!!!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Whipped Sweet Potatoes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ottilia
East Aurora, NY
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice gluten-free option
January 2, 2011
This is a great recipe and very filling. My family needs gluten-free and lactose free options, and this recipe is PERFECT, as it is VERY flavorful, and nice complement to either beef or chicken.
Review 4 for Whipped Sweet Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jane4
evanston, il
December 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best sweet potatoes
December 7, 2010
we make these every thanksgiving and they are always a favorite. ( we bake rather than boil to avoid the peeling)
Review 5 for Whipped Sweet Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pegann
Grand Junction, CO
November 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Sweet Potato recipe
November 2, 2010
This is a very tasty dish! My family's secret is using one half sweet potatoes and one half yams!
Review 6 for Whipped Sweet Potatoes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jbaker
San Diego, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Sweet Potatoes
April 30, 2010
I put this recipe on my Thanksgiving list a few years ago and it was fantastic. The best sweet potatoes I've had. I made them last year as well. It's a nice change from the gooey marshmallow version.