Michael Voltaggio's Sous Vide Turkey

In this recipe by Chef Michael Voltaggio, turkey pieces are first cooked using the sous vide method. Then the fully cooked breasts and drumsticks are deep-fried, and the thighs quickly seared, just before serving. The turkey can be cooked in the sous vide circulator for up to four days in advance; refrigerate in the vacuum-sealable bags.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Michael Voltaggio's Sous Vide Turkey
Review 1 for Michael Voltaggio's Sous Vide Turkey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pericowest
,Bellingham
,Wa
December 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but not great
December 1, 2013
The breast was perfect with very good flavor, the dark meat a bit chewy and bland. I have prepared turkey many times sous vide and would consider this method above average for the breast.
Although there are many steps over several days this is very easy and straight forward.Not an advanced technique for an experienced home cook.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Healthy, Appearance
Cons: Lengthy, the dark meat was a bit tough
Review 2 for Michael Voltaggio's Sous Vide Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HaiC
,Portland
,Or
January 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't think i can eat turkey any other way
January 14, 2013
This recipe is outstanding. Prepare ahead, then just heat and fry the day of.
The meat is juicy (white and dark meat) and flavorful.
Pros: Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Michael Voltaggio's Sous Vide Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bffnut
,Tampa
,FL
November 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Turkey This Year!
November 21, 2011
I always make a few different Turkeys each each, but this was the first year making one sous vide (along with a a fried turkey and a smoked turkey). It was by far the favorite of all present! I found it no more difficult to prepare than the others because I also use a brine for those; it just needed a little fore thought for planning.
Next year I'll be dropping the fried turkey and doing this one instead.
I made this a few times over the past few weeks in order to test it for serving to friends, and I would advise to NOT use duck fat. I did not find that it added anything to the dish other than cost. Now, I fried my meat as soon as I pulled it from the water oven, so it is possible that the duck fat helps preserves moisture if you are going to refrigerate it for a few days before you reheat it.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Michael Voltaggio's Sous Vide Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrKeenan
,Albany
,NY
November 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Will never go back to the oven!
November 20, 2011
I made this exact recipe last year for thanksgiving for my friends and wife. Never again will I go back to an oven roasted bird!
I started with a fresh turkey purchased from Fresh Market. I butchered it, brined it, and followed the recipe as best I could. No stores around me carried duck fat, so I substituted butter. I set the sous vide about 10 degrees lower than recommended (WS says 150 for liability reasons). I left it for a bout 4-5 hours, then deep fried it. The deep frying gave the turkey the perfect crisp skin and color, and the texture was perfect. No longer was turkey a bland, dry meat!
Our friends commented that it was the best turkey they had ever tasted, and we agreed. I will be making this recipe again for Thanksgiving this year for my family and am 100% confident that it will be just as good, if not better (I found duck fat this year!).
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again, moist, flavorful
Cons: Lengthy, didn't have the typical whole bird presentation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Michael Voltaggio's Sous Vide Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NathanW
,Fairfax
,VA
November 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best turkey you'll ever have
November 19, 2011
I've been in charge of making the Thanksgiving turkey for the past 10+ years and every few years my method has evolved yielding a better turkey. I moved to deep frying the turkey about 5 years ago and that was a major improvement over cooking in the oven. Adding sous vide to the mix improved the turkey by light years. This method is far from quick and I was not crazy about butchering the turkey but once you taste the end product it is so worth it. This will give you the most flavorful, moist turkey you have ever had. Getting ready to use this method for my second time this Thanksgiving and I can't wait.
Pros: Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy