Vegetarian Curry with Butternut Squash, Eggplant and Chickpeas

Seasonal vegetables shine in this meatless curry that's made simple with a Cuisinart multicooker. Serve over steamed rice and if you'd like, top with a spoonful of yogurt.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Vegetarian Curry with Butternut Squash, Eggplant and Chickpeas
Review 1 for Vegetarian Curry with Butternut Squash, Eggplant and Chickpeas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Julie1972
,Richardson
,TX
January 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good!
January 13, 2014
This was a savory, delicious curry that my whole family enjoyed--even the 10 year old boy who HATES squash. He declared he'd eat this any time if I would agree to make it without that one ingredient. Deal!
What I would have liked is a better idea of how much eggplant, cauliflower, etc. to use. The recipe calls for a whole eggplant and a half head of cauliflower. What size? There is a huge difference in size between a large cauliflower or eggplant or a small one. I would have liked to see some sort of equivalent measurement--i.e., about 3 cups worth.
Be sure your rice isn't too wet when you serve this. Any additional moisture dilutes the curry sauce and makes it taste watery. But when I ate the curry by itself, it was perfection. I served mine with mango chutney and rice, and when I make it next time, I'll add chopped peanuts, shredded coconut, and scallions as additional condiments.
Pros: Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Vegetarian Curry with Butternut Squash, Eggplant and Chickpeas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cmartmor
,Fairfax
,VA
December 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So beautiful but not tasty
December 30, 2013
Very disappointed. The photos for this meal are beautiful and I love Thai food so thought I would love this. How disappointing. The flavor was not good.
Review 3 for Vegetarian Curry with Butternut Squash, Eggplant and Chickpeas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ElainePGA
,Atlanta
,GA
November 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a Tasty Meal!
November 27, 2013
I made this meal recently and it was scrumptious! There's some heat to the dish, but not too much. We served it over basmati rice. I also added corn from two ears of fresh corn, and that added a nice texture. Will definitely cook again.
Pros: Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Vegetarian Curry with Butternut Squash, Eggplant and Chickpeas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrJenny1234
November 24, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Crowd Pleaser, Great for Dinner Party
November 24, 2013
My friend made this recipe for me recently and I loved it. I then decided to make it for a dinner party of 8 last night. This was a great decision. The directions are spot on and the recipe is forgiving if you have a little less of something (I had less than 8 oz beans). I used a Madras curry powder. Once the initial prepping of the vegetables is done, you really just wait for everything to cook. We timed our rice cooker to have the rice ready at the same time and were just able to enjoy the company of our guests without fussing in the kitchen. Easy one pot cleanup was nice, too. My friend brought a Raita that we served alongside the curry and it complimented it quite nicely. Everyone enjoyed.
Review 5 for Vegetarian Curry with Butternut Squash, Eggplant and Chickpeas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Idonothaveanicname
,SLC
,UT
November 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vegetarian Curry with Butternut Squash, Eggplant .
November 18, 2013
Wow, because the comments were so glowing I tried this recipe, and I have to tell you, it took three times as long to make than indicated, and it was so bad my husband refused to eat it after the first bite. What went wrong??? I have tried it myself only to say that it does not have a good favor, and thought the eggplant didn't fair well in this dish. All the veggies I used were fresh! I was telling a friend about it, and that I would have to throw it all out, and she said, my husband likes many of the things you put in it, so please let us try it, and guess what they too threw it out. I'm very sad to throw all these great veggies away, but the taste was not good. M
Cons: Taste, Lengthy
Review 6 for Vegetarian Curry with Butternut Squash, Eggplant and Chickpeas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissyP
,Redwood City
,CA
November 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Prep is worth it
November 10, 2013
I used a large stock pot to cook this and it worked just fine. Prep time is a good 30 minutes, but not difficult. I didn't have brown mustard seeds and used yellow instead. Not sure what the difference would be, but the meal was delicious and quite spicy. Recommend serving a side dish to cool the palate. Definitely recommend it.
Pros: Yield, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again, tasty
Review 7 for Vegetarian Curry with Butternut Squash, Eggplant and Chickpeas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mama5mouths
,Long Beach
,CA
October 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fresh, Warm, Satisfying
October 17, 2013
I made this with a Le Creuset dutch oven. It barely fit, but when cooked down, it was perfectly sized.
I was able to throw this together in 30 minutes, then I walked away and let it cook.
I did not deviate from the recipe. All the ingredients were bought at the local grocery store. Nothing exotic or difficult to source.
Day 1 flavor had a bit of a mild kick - day 2 flavor had smoothed out. The vegetables were proportioned well, no single one dominated.
My husband asked if it had any meat and reluctantly ate it. He had seconds and said it was 'quite good.' Which is just as well, since we ate it for two nights. It re-heats well. Made exactly 8 servings.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Vegetarian Curry with Butternut Squash, Eggplant and Chickpeas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnTM
,Eldridge
,IA
September 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great balance of vegetables
September 15, 2013
We tried this for a change of pace. We generally don't cook vegetarian meals, and we want to try to do more. It was very easy to find the ingredients in the grocery store and easy to prepare. My husband and I were both impressed with the full bodied flavor and the way the vegetables all balanced the flavor. Will definitely make again.
Pros: Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again