Vadouvan Chicken Wings

Created by Chef Michael Voltaggio, these chicken wings are cooked on a backyard grill in our specially designed steel grill wide chef's pan, which makes it easy to toss and stir the wings, without losing them to the fire. They're seasoned with vadouvan curry powder, among the most delicate curries in Indian cooking, and finished with a ginger-lime glaze. Serve Heirloom Potato Salad alongside (see related recipe at left).
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
Review 1 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
csinensis
Lacey, WA
September 17, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice flavor and smells wonderful
September 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly - the glaze is the key element in this recipe as it balances the curry flavor. I thought the wings were a bit too salty for my taste. I will use 1 Tbsp next time. It served as a appetizer nicely - something different than traditional hot wing.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
August 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WS - Please Bring Back the Vadouvan Spice!!!!
August 11, 2013
These are so INCREDIBLE! So easy, so quick and what a phenomenal, unique flavour!
We have made these twice in three days. The first time, I forgot to add the lime juice to the glaze. The glaze was a bit more syrupy and sweet. The second time I made it as written and it was still fantastic. The glaze was thinner and a bit crisper.
I cannot wait to make this for friends. I think I need to throw a BBQ just to serve these wings. They are that good!
My only concern is that Williams Sonoma quit carrying the Vadouvan online. I was recently able to pick up a jar at my local store, though. I am stumped as to why they stopped selling the Vadouvan. IT IS SPECTACULAR! I really hope they bring it back. It's so unique and versatile. It would work on just about any meat or fish I can think of.
Please make these. You won't regret it.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tigerflame7
,CA
March 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun, easy and tasty!
March 2, 2013
It's an easy recipe with a great return! Hard to mess up. Best chicken wings we make at home! Not huge curry fans but the honey and lemon in this recipe balances the curry flavor beautifully! We've had this recipe several times now and have never been disappointed.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cburger100
,Ponte Vedra Beach
,FL
March 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AND I don't like chicken!
March 10, 2012
Let me say, I don't like chicken. Well, it's not anything i'd ever order out or look for a recipe. So when I read the reviews, the ingredients just looked so good, I had to give it a try. When I explained to the butcher, what I was doing, he said why not try with larger drumettes? So I took his word, and now I am sold. This is a great recipe - you can feel totally comfortable serving as appetizer or as an entree. I can't wait to try it with the recommended potato salad. the only thing with drumettes of course longer time on the grill, but it added to the taste and still use the kosher salt but take some off if you don't use much salt. Don't forget the cilantro as a nice flavor and added color (flavor more than color in my opinion)
Pros: Good Value, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again