Vadouvan Chicken Wings

Created by Chef Michael Voltaggio, these chicken wings are cooked on a backyard grill in our specially designed steel grill wide chef's pan, which makes it easy to toss and stir the wings, without losing them to the fire. They're seasoned with vadouvan curry powder, among the most delicate curries in Indian cooking, and finished with a ginger-lime glaze. Serve Heirloom Potato Salad alongside (see related recipe at left).
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
Review 1 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
August 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WS - Please Bring Back the Vadouvan Spice!!!!
August 11, 2013
These are so INCREDIBLE! So easy, so quick and what a phenomenal, unique flavour!
We have made these twice in three days. The first time, I forgot to add the lime juice to the glaze. The glaze was a bit more syrupy and sweet. The second time I made it as written and it was still fantastic. The glaze was thinner and a bit crisper.
I cannot wait to make this for friends. I think I need to throw a BBQ just to serve these wings. They are that good!
My only concern is that Williams Sonoma quit carrying the Vadouvan online. I was recently able to pick up a jar at my local store, though. I am stumped as to why they stopped selling the Vadouvan. IT IS SPECTACULAR! I really hope they bring it back. It's so unique and versatile. It would work on just about any meat or fish I can think of.
Please make these. You won't regret it.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tigerflame7
,CA
March 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun, easy and tasty!
March 2, 2013
It's an easy recipe with a great return! Hard to mess up. Best chicken wings we make at home! Not huge curry fans but the honey and lemon in this recipe balances the curry flavor beautifully! We've had this recipe several times now and have never been disappointed.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 3 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cburger100
,Ponte Vedra Beach
,FL
March 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AND I don't like chicken!
March 10, 2012
Let me say, I don't like chicken. Well, it's not anything i'd ever order out or look for a recipe. So when I read the reviews, the ingredients just looked so good, I had to give it a try. When I explained to the butcher, what I was doing, he said why not try with larger drumettes? So I took his word, and now I am sold. This is a great recipe - you can feel totally comfortable serving as appetizer or as an entree. I can't wait to try it with the recommended potato salad. the only thing with drumettes of course longer time on the grill, but it added to the taste and still use the kosher salt but take some off if you don't use much salt. Don't forget the cilantro as a nice flavor and added color (flavor more than color in my opinion)
Pros: Good Value, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MargoEd
Reading PA
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quest pleaser
August 4, 2011
Easy to make, not messy to eat, and not to spicy when serving people you never cooked for.
will serve this dish again and share the recipe!
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SND1
Raleigh, NC
June 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty Twist on Chicken Wings!
June 30, 2011
These wings were great! Currently in the process of purchasing a new grill, so I made these in the oven. They were absolutely delicious.
I must admit, I was a little skeptical about the honey-ginger-lime sauce - but it was absolutely what the wings needed. Sweet, with a slight tartness and a bit of warmth.
Overall, these wings were tasty and I will definitely be making them again.
Pros: Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Tamara531
Encino, California
Posted February 2, 2014
Vadouvan chicken in oven
Hi, I would like to make this in the oven also. Can you tell me what the oven temperature was that you used and how long you baked them? I want to bake breasts and drumsticks. Thank you in advance ofo hearing from you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jetcetta
Brentwood, CA
June 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vadouvan chicken Wings
June 13, 2011
Uniquely different and special. The flavors mingle beautifully. Wings are fine but thighs are better.
Pros: Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dee60
Methuen, MA
June 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
June 5, 2011
Made these wings in our store for a demo yesterday. They were a huge hit with our customers. I marinated the wings overnight in the Vadouvan and oil, then cooked them on our All Clad Indoor Grill. The smell in the store was amazing! Loved the honey/lime/ginger glaze. I would definitely make these for company. Surely out of the box for a barbequed wing!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Toronto, ON
June 3, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Recommended
June 3, 2011
This recipe sounded amazIng on paper.
However, I would not make them again. I felt the flavours-curry,lime.honey did not mesh well together. I am glad I tested it first before making it for company. I would have been apologizing.
Review 9 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Ottawa HiIls, OH
June 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, different and simply delicious
June 3, 2011
My husband was chagrined that I fell for the pan but when he tasted the wings... well the crying stopped!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CharlotteBronte
May 19, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tangy, sweet and delicious
May 19, 2011
Zesting the limes was the most arduous part of this recipe, but was well worth it. I didn't have the curry, so I substituted chili powder and cajun seasoning in same amount. I also used ground ginger and cut the amount in half (make sure you also do the conversion... 1 tsp fresh ground ginger = 1/4 tsp of the powder).
The ginger, lime and honey marry quite well and it was a big hit.
I used a grilling pan over charcoal for about 20 minutes, flipping the wings often.
Instead of drizzling the glaze, I brushed it on occasionally using a basting brush.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Vadouvan Chicken Wings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bklynmom
Brooklyn
May 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple and unique approach to wings
May 14, 2011
This recipe is easy to put together and is really delicious. I didnt have vandouvan curry on hand, so i used a mild curry. I have an "old fashioned" pan for the grill that i have neglected for ages and it worked well for this dish, although i dont think a pan is necessary. My husband particularly loved how these turned out -- I like a bit more tartness, so I might increase the lime or reduce the amount of honey next time.
Overall, really nice recipe!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive