Turkey and Black Turtle Bean Chili

Our hearty chili combines ground turkey with black turtle beans, a mildly flavored variety that pairs exceptionally well with the bold seasonings used here. Garnish each serving with cheddar cheese, sour cream and green onions to tame the heat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Turkey and Black Turtle Bean Chili
Review 1 for Turkey and Black Turtle Bean Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Palapala
,Vacaville
,Ca
Vacaviile, Ca
February 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Turkey Chili
February 2, 2014
Today is my forth time making this chili. My family loves it! I love that there is finally a turkey chili that taste good and easy to make! I follow the recipe without substitutions.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Turkey and Black Turtle Bean Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom2one
,Escondido
,CA
September 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite chili...
September 21, 2011
I have made this chili a couple of times now and it is wonderful! And I do use canned beans as a time saver. This chili freezes very well and tastes just as good the second or third time around!
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Turkey and Black Turtle Bean Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rockieschef
Salt Lake City
August 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Potlucks- hot or cold!
August 2, 2011
Took chili to outdoor summer party- and served @ room temperature. It was perfect! Next time, canned beans will be my starting base. Used ground turkey and red peppers. Definitely a keeper for year round Rockies' events!
Pros: Yield, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Turkey and Black Turtle Bean Chili
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Friscogirl
Bethesda, MD
July 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect fiber meal
July 18, 2011
Delicious. I used cranberry beans instead but otherwise used the recipe as is. Really delicious. Just plan on the time needed to put it together- the bean soak, then the browning, etc and then the 60 minutes to cook. But worth the effort! I plan on freezing some for a future treat.
Pros: Yield, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Turkey and Black Turtle Bean Chili
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GoodCritic
Jupiter, FL
June 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Light, flavorful chili
June 14, 2011
We all just loved this as it's so light and low fat. I used ground turkey breast, so it was really low fat! I also substituted canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce for the crushed chipotle chili as I did not have that ingredient! I used two sweet onions and two red peppers. I did use dried beans but next time I am totally going with canned! This recipe is just delicious; plenty of veggies and spicy....great!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again