Toad in the Hole

A traditional English recipe, toad in the hole features sausages that are baked in a batter, which becomes puffy and golden brown. The origins of the name are disputed, although according to one version, the dish resembles a toad sticking its head out of a hole.
Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
19 of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Toad in the Hole
Review 1 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wannabeBelle
,Lebanon
,TN
November 20, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Christmas Brunch Staple
November 20, 2013
This recipe has been one of my brunch staples for nearly 10 years. It's an easy, prep-ahead crowd pleaser and can be easily modified (though it's perfect per the recipe). You'll impress guests EVERY time!
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JPPatch
,Irvine
,CA
January 21, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First time cook, I think I shined
January 21, 2013
Instruction was easy to follow even me, 1st generation immigrant from Korea, who don't cook at all other than egg scramble or pancake once in a while...
Taste of the food was literally, "WOW"... I will give two thumbs up as well as two big toes if I have to show how much I enjoyed i cooking and eating it...
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Blue Ridge
,GA
December 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Has become our Annual Christmas Brunch
December 24, 2011
I am always looking for tasty and easy recipes. Last Christmas when I told our two little boys I was making "Toad in a Hole" they couldn't wait to eat! This year instead of trying something new they are already excited about Christmas Brunch - Toad in a Hole is now our annual holiday goto
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tinker2
Elizabeth City, NC
February 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great entree for our Bed and Breakfast guests!
February 14, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! Our bed and breakfast guests love it and have requested the recipe numerous times. It has the perfect combination of salty, chewy, soft, crunchy, etc. And it's really colorful. Definitely highly recommend it!
Review 5 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItsBABEright
Rancho Mirage, CA
February 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Dish
February 4, 2011
Love this! We increased the batter recipe and extra cheese. We will make this again very soon!
Review 6 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lelly66
Houston, TX
January 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tired of Quiche?
January 16, 2011
This recipe is a nice change from quiche, which I always enjoy. Having some friends and relatives who are not "egg" people, this really fills the bill. It is good even when made an hour or two ahead - reheats very nicely, lends itself to vegetable substitutions and the addition of red pepper flakes, etc. Incidentally, I prepared the batter less than 45 min. ahead, and everything turned out fine (used 3 whole eggs).
Review 7 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
babeboots
virginia
January 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Recipe
January 6, 2011
This was a new recipe we tried on X-Mas day for our annual Champagne Brunch and it was awesome! We liked it so much we fixed it for New Year's Eve. I deviated from the recipe in that I used the third egg instead of just the white, sauteed in the sausage grease and the second time I made it I added mushrooms, cooked the red pepper less. An onion would be good in this also.
Review 8 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CreativeCookWearsCrocs
West Virginia
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Special Breakfast for Any Day
December 30, 2010
Made for Christmas Breakfast. We loved it just the way the recipe was given. Next time, I will play with this, changing up some of the veggies based on what is in season. Served it with a bowl of fresh sectioned navel oranges, whole wheat drop biscuits and plum jam. We will enjoy this as a brunch or an easy weeknight dinner with some different sides. Love the name.
Review 9 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoCalDawn
San Clemente, CA
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Breakfast for a Crowd
December 28, 2010
We made this recipe for Christmas breakfast and it was a hit! I doubled the recipe to have an ample amount for my 8 guests and used my large oval All-Clad roasting pan to execute the recipe in one pass. It was a perfect, comforting, savory serve-yourself rustic breakfast.
Review 10 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
December 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Christmas Brunch!
December 27, 2010
I made this Christmas morning and it is sure to become an annual tradition. Flavors were excellent. Next time I might experiment with the vegetables -- I think mushrooms would be lovely although the spinach and red pepper were festive!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sexycook
NJ
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Brunch!
December 26, 2010
This was delicious and very easy to make. Used 2-7oz. boxes of frozen turkey sausage links (followed skillet instructions from box) but made everything else the same. I will definitely make it again but may add another 1/4 cup of flour and one more egg to make more batter.
Review 12 for Toad in the Hole
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
merber
San Francisoc, ca
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great flavors
December 25, 2010
we just tried this recipe & it wasvery good. Got a little burned on the bottom of the pan. Any suggestions?
Review 13 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ClariceM
KY
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Beautiful!
December 25, 2010
Excellent dish. Came out better than I even expected and got rave reviews for Christmas brunch.
Review 14 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bohemian
Austin, TX
December 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Add More Eggs
December 25, 2010
We made this for our Christmas Day brunch, and it is not only beautiful but also delicious. Based on another reviewer's suggestion, we used three whole eggs and two egg whites. I think it was a wise choice. We also added some red pepper flake to the egg batter, but we always "spice up" our dishes. We served this with broiled English muffins and Ginger-Peach Bellinis. Very hearty and tasty!
Review 15 for Toad in the Hole
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kaye54
Fond du Lac
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
hearty breakfast
December 24, 2010
Very good;
next time I will cut the sausages into one inch pieces for better distribution. Also, I may use jar roasted red peppers. I did not have chives on hand and it was fine. I'll make this again in spring when my chives are growing in my garden.
Review 16 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patapower
San Antonio, TX
December 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
British Delight
December 12, 2010
My husband is British and misses the food from home, so I made this as a treat for his birthday. He absolutely loved it!
Of course, he mentioned that not all the ingredients are traditional but added that having this "high end" version made the dish special.
Oh, yes, he wants me to make it on Xmas day for his family.
Review 17 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeniseBB
Washington DC
December 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Looked Great!
December 2, 2010
I'm no chef, but this looked delicious in the catalog, plus I had some sausage to use up. I made a few substitutions (fontina for gruyere; red pepper sausage for plain); but it looked and tasted delicious, and super easy recipe. A new staple. I am going to use this as a base recipe to make just about any "quichelike" meal because it's more nutritious and less fattening without needing a crust or a lot of cream or milk.
Review 18 for Toad in the Hole
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Floraposte
Portland, Oregon
December 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recommendation to omit the bell peppers
December 2, 2010
Bell peppers are not traditional to 'Toad in the Hole'.
In this recipe they did not add to the flavor, but detracted from it.
Review 19 for Toad in the Hole
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bevrich
El Paso
December 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
reminded me of London
December 1, 2010
Very easy to make for a weeknight meal, and it reminded me of the breakfasts served in London hotels (sans the boiled tomato slice). The next time I make this I will add more eggs to make it a bit more quiche-like for our tastes.