Thumbprint Cookies

You use your thumb to make a dent in each ball of dough, which holds the filling. That is how these cookies get their name.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Thumbprint Cookies
Review 1 for Thumbprint Cookies
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cookielover14
May 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flavorless Cookies
May 4, 2013
I have the williams-sonoma cookbook on breads, pastries, and biscuit i think its called... Anyway, I was using the recipe from the book and the cookies came out flavorless and didnt taste good. Also, there were fewer topping ideas so I just used raspberry jam for half and cinnamon sugar for the other half. Maybe I did something wrong or it was the toppings, but I didn't like the outcome and I don't think I will make these ever again. :(
Pros: Quick
Cons: Texture, Taste
Review 2 for Thumbprint Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keels
March 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delightful, cheerful little cookies!
March 26, 2012
This particular combination of flavors - vanilla, almond, orange, and the different preserves - make these particular Thumbprints extraordinary. The baking powder also makes for a lighter sugar cookie base than other Thumbprint recipes I've used.
They taste incredible and are pretty quick and easy to make - can't recommend them enough.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Thumbprint Cookies
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cris208
,Vancouver
,BC
November 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can someone tell me what I did wrong?
November 29, 2011
I made this recipe today with the help of my three yr old, we had a great time and the cookies looked beautiful prior to putting them in the oven.
After about 10 mins they started to burn, I however didn't understand the where to put the cookie sheet so I placed them in the middle of the oven. Was I supposed to put them in the bottom or top?
The bottom of the cookies burned completely, I was able to scrape them and they tasted really good:)
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Cons: Confusing
Review 4 for Thumbprint Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nikkie
Houston, Texas
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hit of the office party
December 28, 2010
I had made this cookie recipe every week in December so far. I had so much request that I actually made 12 dozen cookies at one time. The buttery taste is so good and not too sweet. I had mix orange and lemon zest for this recipe. I highly recommend that everyone try this recipe at least once. Mmmmmmmm.
Review 5 for Thumbprint Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ana41
Thibodaux, LA
December 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent eggless cookie!
December 17, 2010
My son is allergic to eggs and this is the perfect Christmas cookie to make for him. Gently mix in the flour to get a tender, flaky cookie. Use Christmas Sprinkles to flatten the balls of dough. It bakes very pretty and IT IS DELICIOUS!!! Highly recommend. Don't use margarine, use REAL 100 percent butter and you will get excellent results. Use a microplane to get the orange rind fine.