Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet

Beloved by generations of French cooks, cassoulet is a rustic, slow-cooked dish made with white beans and a lavish assortment of meats, from duck confit or foie gras to sausages and succulent cuts of pork, lamb or poultry. Here, we feature an adaptation of the Languedoc specialty from Thomas Keller, the internationally acclaimed chef of The French Laundry, in Northern California. To simplify the dish for home cooks, Chef Keller developed his cassoulet recipe for us utilizing the All-Clad Deluxe slow cooker.Be sure to use precooked Spanish-style chorizo sausage links, not fresh Mexican-style chorizo. Spanish chorizo is available in a variety of textures; purchase a softer-style sausage, rather than a dry one, for this dish; dry sausages are best suited for slicing and eating on their own, as a tapa.
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
Review 1 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmspdx
,West Lafayette
,IN
West Lafayette, IN
March 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and rustic
March 12, 2013
I've made many different versions of cassoulet over the years, including Child's and Pepin's, and I think this was our favorite. It's more labor intensive than most would expect from a slow cooker meal, but well worth the effort. The dish is packed with well-developed flavors. My husband commented that he could imagine it being spooned out of an earthenware pot in a French farmhouse. You could easily vary this basic recipe with all sorts of meats and sausages, or top it with some duck confit, but it's pretty wonderful just as written.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Complicated, Lengthy
Review 2 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chiareality
,Greencastle
,IN
February 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smart simple adaptation of the traditional recipe
February 3, 2013
NOTE:
I like Keller's take, its worry free. But
DO NOT ATTEMPT this precise recipe if you don't have a slow cooker. Consult the original.
The recipe is excellent though poorly written. Most of the work take places in the morning, there's a huge 9-10 hour pause in the middle, the breadcrumbs (I found Panko worked just fine) are the only do ahead, so they really dry out.
Porkshoulder is great, but i don't care for Chirizo in this. I used a duck sausage, just your basic label. I added a ham hock when cooking the beans, took it out and discarded afterwards. Although I used a lot more beans, in this recipe they're only limiting you to twelve cups here because that's the limit as to what will fit in the slow cooker. Cassolet features white beans, it's meant to be eaten by many. More beans. As much as twice as many. The ham hock helps the flavor. I think you could use nearly any fowl in here as well. Duck is best for the great fat.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jmspdx
West Lafayette, IN
Posted March 11, 2013
Why does it matter if the panko dries out when it's prepared ahead? It's being folded into the dish anyway. It seems to me to be nothing more than a thickener. Drier is probably better in this case.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Broadsheet
,Baltimore
,MD
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Will make again
January 16, 2013
I used 2 lbs. of pork shoulder, a whole rabbit (skinned), and 2 duck breasts. Simply brown the meat as directed. A good Toulouse garlic sausage is preferable to chorizo, which is too spicy for this dish, and worth seeking out. Definitely par cook the beans, or add them halfway through the process, or they get mushy. I would also use homemade toasted bread crumbs mixed with Herbs d'Provence instead of panko, and add a TBL of the herbs to the dish itself. Lovely winter meal. Dinner party worthy. Lasts for days! I have made Cassoulet per Julia Child's famous recipe, and this is every bit as good. Both versions take more than a day to prepare, and like any good chili, soup, or stew - are better the next day.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ESPinMQT
Marquette, Michigan
Posted October 19, 2013
I am intrigued with this twist, although, I have no idea where I will find Toulouse garlic sausage....any suggestions for a second choice?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MacyEL
,Summit
,NJ
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection
January 1, 2013
A wonderful winter dish - perfect for New Year's Eve. For maximum flavor, prepare a day ahead and refrigerate overnight. Before your dinner party, reheat well, fold in the panko and parsley and finish as per the recipe. It will not disappoint.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Junkroom
,San Mateo
,CA
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-47points
5of 57found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's FRENCH cooking not Japanese
June 26, 2012
Keller is a piece of work as it is. Throwing, willy-nilly, exotic named ingredients into a receipe does not make it better. It only tarnishes the original.
Seasoned bread crumbs made from day old French bread is so much more fullfilling than trying to cheat on flavor with Japanese Panko tempura batter. It's too greasy for this dish. Crumb your bread and mix with a light dusting of Herbs de Provence
If you want Japanese cooking, then cook Edamame beans.
The two cannot be fused indiscriminately.
If you're going to cook French, then COOK FRENCH!!
This is almost as bad as his receipe for Ratatouille.
Review 6 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Vitann
,Riverbank
,Ca
December 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hearty meal
December 19, 2011
I cooked the cassoulet in the slow cooker without the beans for about 6 hours, then I added canned cannelini beans and cooked for another hour. I also bought some duck confit legs ( expensive) at a local specialty market and added them towards the end to warm through. I was happy how it turned out . The duck made it special!
Pros: Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DivaDorian
St. Louis, MO
Posted December 21, 2013
Did you remove the skin from the duck legs?
I am concerned about too much fat in the dish?
Thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
damauiman
Maui, Hawaii
September 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Enough for an Army!
September 2, 2011
Terrific recipe. Even better after a few days in the fridge. My slow cooker insert (not AllClad) cracked when cooking the bacon so I switched to a SS pot and finished in the oven. Worked perfectly.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cherry0
College Station, TX
March 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oh MY!!!!!!! Outstanding!
March 10, 2011
This recipe is absolutely outstanding!!! Hearty! Made me think I was in a Bistro in Salzburg, Austria. My whole family loved it.
Review 9 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
seattlechef
Seattle
February 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lengthy but good
February 28, 2011
this recipe does take quite a while to make, but it is worth it. perfect for a winter night. Many reviews stated too much liquid, however if you let it cook for 20-30mins withouth the cover, the liquid will evaporate. the liquid is a great part however to soak up with bread.
Review 10 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LauralH
Williamstown, MA
February 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice flavor, lots of work
February 14, 2011
The cassoulet had a very nice flavor if you like a tomato overtone. The pork shoulder was very tender and I didn't need a knife at all, it pulled apart easily. I didn't care for the sausage, though I used a "dry" type so that may have been a problem. I'm not sure what the Panko was for, it didn't seem to enhance the flavor at all and though I have it in my local store, may reconsider that step next time (flavorless bread crumbs). Way too many beans in my opinion. I used 8 cups and precooked them for about an hour but if you like a lot of beans.. use the recommended amount. I think if I prepped some of the food ahead, it would save time. Letting it sit helped it be less soupy. Perhaps the Panko helps the meal thicken too. Overall a good, hearty dish.
Review 11 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lianne
Danville Ca
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive for guests, easy enough for anytime
January 12, 2011
This was an easy to follow, fabulous meal that I have prepared 3 times (4 after this weekend). You can vary ingredients if your need to, but the flavor is great as is. Don't forget to top with the sliced baguette for a beautiful presentation. The key I think is searing the meat in the cast aluminum insert to capture all the drippings and flavor.
Review 12 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
moitz
Chicago, IL
December 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Solid base, needs some help
December 5, 2010
While not cassoulet like I'm used to, this is still a pretty good recipe. However, it misses one major point. The beans should NOT be fully cooked. 9 hours in a slow cooker with fully cooked beans will reduce them to mush. I cooked mine about 45 minutes and let the slow cooker do the rest, and it came out quite well, if a little soupy.
Review 13 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lawandchoirmom
Tennessee
November 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Takes time, but so worth it!
November 10, 2010
I am not a big French cook, and have really never ventured much beyond standard continental fare and spaghetti sauce before trying this recipe. Boy, am I a convert! The pork was so tender and the meal so good, even my 3 year old ate it. It also makes a lot at one sitting, so we froze over half and ate it all winter long. Delicious reheated! You will have to re-toast the bread, of course.
Only con is that it took quite a while to make, but I think the more I do it the less time it will take.
Also, it is hard to find Panko in my town, so if you have the same problem just toast some stale bread with a little olive oil and salt and then break into small pieces. It will work fine.
Review 14 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bullwinkle72
Iowa City, IA
October 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super Fantastic Cassoulet!
October 2, 2010
Prep time will take you roughly 45 minutes or so, but it's so worth it. Just keep that in mind when planning what time to serve because it needs to "rest" some too after it's done cooking. BUT - you will be so happy you did. I've made it twice and have some making my house smell fabulous as I write this. I use 4-5 cans of Great Northerns and think the Mexican chorizo works fine (just now read that note about Mexican vs Spanish). Definitely recommend making this for family & good friends. They'll love you for it.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DivaDorian
St. Louis, MO
Posted December 21, 2013
did your beans
come out mushy given that you used can?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TriciaC
New York City
July 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rich Flavors, Labor Required
July 6, 2010
Excellent recipe results in a light sauce that still has complex flavors and unbelievably tender pork shoulder.
It is quite intense to effectively prepare and execute each component, but well worth it.
I froze about half the beans and have been eating them for weeks, there are a lot of beans in the recipe. Enjoy!
Review 16 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
janemf
Cherry Hill,NJ
June 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
want to impress your friends
June 11, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe. Will not lie it takes a lot of work but it is worth it. It also makes a ton of food so invite over some friends or you can do what I did freeze the extra for a quick meal just thaw and reheat.
Review 17 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Killian
Waegwan South Korea
May 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not quick but worth the effort
May 31, 2010
This recipe definitely requires a lot of prep time, not a throw together before work meal. Made it this weekend and my husband said it was the best meal he has ever had. We didn't care for the chorizo, will leave it out next time. Discarded it and the meal still felt complete.
One warning, I believe I have a standard size slow cooker. I have never had a problem fitting a recipe in it before, but when I went to transfer the meats back in and add the beans it became very clear everything was not going to fit. Had to quickly get rid of a little of each to make it fit and try to preserve the proportion of the dish.
Review 18 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TracyT
Salt Lake City, UT
May 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A dish to amaze your friends and family
May 28, 2010
I made this dish last year, it was a great hit. Of all the dishes I make this is the one dish that stands out with my friends who tried it. I am constantly asked to prepare it again. Which is the plan this next week. It takes some time and effort but you will be rewarded at the end.
Review 19 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sgreen
portland, or
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Entertaining
May 2, 2010
This dish is not for the spur-of-the-moment meal but is worth the wait when cooking for friends. A casual yet elegant meal that will make your guests feel pampered.
Review 20 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EatingWell
Chatsworth, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best One Pot Meal!!
April 30, 2010
This is an excellent gourmet one pot meal!! I have made this 3 times, twice using the Mexican chorizo, even though it states to use the Spanish style chorizo and it was great. I highly recommend this recipe and have passed it on to several friends. I will definitely be making this for years! :)