Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet

Beloved by generations of French cooks, cassoulet is a rustic, slow-cooked dish made with white beans and a lavish assortment of meats, from duck confit or foie gras to sausages and succulent cuts of pork, lamb or poultry. Here, we feature an adaptation of the Languedoc specialty from Thomas Keller, the internationally acclaimed chef of The French Laundry, in Northern California. To simplify the dish for home cooks, Chef Keller developed his cassoulet recipe for us utilizing the All-Clad Deluxe slow cooker.Be sure to use precooked Spanish-style chorizo sausage links, not fresh Mexican-style chorizo. Spanish chorizo is available in a variety of textures; purchase a softer-style sausage, rather than a dry one, for this dish; dry sausages are best suited for slicing and eating on their own, as a tapa.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
Review 1 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmspdx
,West Lafayette
,IN
West Lafayette, IN
March 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and rustic
March 12, 2013
I've made many different versions of cassoulet over the years, including Child's and Pepin's, and I think this was our favorite. It's more labor intensive than most would expect from a slow cooker meal, but well worth the effort. The dish is packed with well-developed flavors. My husband commented that he could imagine it being spooned out of an earthenware pot in a French farmhouse. You could easily vary this basic recipe with all sorts of meats and sausages, or top it with some duck confit, but it's pretty wonderful just as written.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Complicated, Lengthy
Review 2 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chiareality
,Greencastle
,IN
February 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smart simple adaptation of the traditional recipe
February 3, 2013
NOTE:
I like Keller's take, its worry free. But
DO NOT ATTEMPT this precise recipe if you don't have a slow cooker. Consult the original.
The recipe is excellent though poorly written. Most of the work take places in the morning, there's a huge 9-10 hour pause in the middle, the breadcrumbs (I found Panko worked just fine) are the only do ahead, so they really dry out.
Porkshoulder is great, but i don't care for Chirizo in this. I used a duck sausage, just your basic label. I added a ham hock when cooking the beans, took it out and discarded afterwards. Although I used a lot more beans, in this recipe they're only limiting you to twelve cups here because that's the limit as to what will fit in the slow cooker. Cassolet features white beans, it's meant to be eaten by many. More beans. As much as twice as many. The ham hock helps the flavor. I think you could use nearly any fowl in here as well. Duck is best for the great fat.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jmspdx
West Lafayette, IN
Posted March 11, 2013
Why does it matter if the panko dries out when it's prepared ahead? It's being folded into the dish anyway. It seems to me to be nothing more than a thickener. Drier is probably better in this case.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Broadsheet
,Baltimore
,MD
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Will make again
January 16, 2013
I used 2 lbs. of pork shoulder, a whole rabbit (skinned), and 2 duck breasts. Simply brown the meat as directed. A good Toulouse garlic sausage is preferable to chorizo, which is too spicy for this dish, and worth seeking out. Definitely par cook the beans, or add them halfway through the process, or they get mushy. I would also use homemade toasted bread crumbs mixed with Herbs d'Provence instead of panko, and add a TBL of the herbs to the dish itself. Lovely winter meal. Dinner party worthy. Lasts for days! I have made Cassoulet per Julia Child's famous recipe, and this is every bit as good. Both versions take more than a day to prepare, and like any good chili, soup, or stew - are better the next day.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ESPinMQT
Marquette, Michigan
Posted October 19, 2013
I am intrigued with this twist, although, I have no idea where I will find Toulouse garlic sausage....any suggestions for a second choice?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MacyEL
,Summit
,NJ
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection
January 1, 2013
A wonderful winter dish - perfect for New Year's Eve. For maximum flavor, prepare a day ahead and refrigerate overnight. Before your dinner party, reheat well, fold in the panko and parsley and finish as per the recipe. It will not disappoint.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Thomas Keller's Slow-Cooker Cassoulet
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Junkroom
,San Mateo
,CA
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-51points
5of 61found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's FRENCH cooking not Japanese
June 26, 2012
Keller is a piece of work as it is. Throwing, willy-nilly, exotic named ingredients into a receipe does not make it better. It only tarnishes the original.
Seasoned bread crumbs made from day old French bread is so much more fullfilling than trying to cheat on flavor with Japanese Panko tempura batter. It's too greasy for this dish. Crumb your bread and mix with a light dusting of Herbs de Provence
If you want Japanese cooking, then cook Edamame beans.
The two cannot be fused indiscriminately.
If you're going to cook French, then COOK FRENCH!!
This is almost as bad as his receipe for Ratatouille.