Tequila-Marinated Skirt Steak (California Chili Powder)

California chili powder is made from dried California chili peppers, also known as Anaheim chilies. Here, the spice adds mild heat and peppery flavor to a compound butter that's served atop grilled skirt steak.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tequila-Marinated Skirt Steak (California Chili Powder)
Review 1 for Tequila-Marinated Skirt Steak (California Chili Powder)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chefmom2
,Highland Park
,Il
June 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic marinade
June 26, 2013
This recipe was a total hit. I have used it on grilled salmon and shrimp also. The family says better than eating out!
Pros: Easy
Review 2 for Tequila-Marinated Skirt Steak (California Chili Powder)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YuleJewel
Plano, TX
October 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flavorful and easy!
October 4, 2012
I substituted Ancho chile powder as I did not have the California chile powder. I also subbed a flank steak instead of the skirt steak, since my family prefers it as more tender than skirt steak, and then marinated it for 3 hours. Another reviewer was right about letting it marinate longer than the called-for 15 minutes. Mine turned out really tender and flavorful, although I ended up having to finish it stove-top, in a grill pan, as our gas grill ran out of gas! While it was still warm, I then spread a bit of the Ancho chile butter all over the top of the steak before carving and serving.The results still got raves, and my husband was asking when we can make it again. We were fighting over who gets to take the left-overs to lunch tomorrow!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Tequila-Marinated Skirt Steak (California Chili Powder)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
queenzookie
May 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
tough, chewy, stringy meat
May 5, 2012
This was my husband's and my first time grilling skirt steak. We love flank steak, and I thought this would be similar. Instead the meat was tough, chewy, and stringy. Maybe this cut of meat should marinate longer?
Review 4 for Tequila-Marinated Skirt Steak (California Chili Powder)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nilpi
Beverly Hills, CA
August 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy & delicious
August 5, 2010
This recipe is so easy to prepare and the flavors just jump out. The marinade is fabulous and better if the meat is left in there a good 30 minutes. The butter is far too much; half a stick does the job just as well, and your heart will thank you too!