Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Tarte Tatin of Winter Pears
Review 1 for Tarte Tatin of Winter Pears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melanielovestocook
,Toronto
May 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious spin on a French classic
May 29, 2012
Normally tarte tatin is made with apples, but this recipe with pears is to die for! It turned out beautifully and I look forward to making it again.
Simply scrumptious.
Pros: Good Value, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, delectable
Review 2 for Tarte Tatin of Winter Pears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dakeeks
,New York
,NY
New York, NY
December 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent dessert
December 20, 2011
I make this dessert every winter and have done so for the past 5 years or so and it always comes out perfectly. I use a regular aluminum pan. I highly recommend it. Everyone loves the dessert and thinks it took much more effort than it actually did!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 3 for Tarte Tatin of Winter Pears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chuchu
Chicago, IL
July 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Always perfect
July 6, 2011
I have made this recipe lots of times and it always comes out perfectly. My friends love it.
I think the pan where you bake it is crucial though, I use a heavy iron skillet and it works wonderful =)
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Tarte Tatin of Winter Pears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FoodPersuasion
April 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Delicious
April 3, 2011
For a beginner cook, this recipe was very easy, quick and most importantly delicious.
Pros: Quick, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Tarte Tatin of Winter Pears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RecipeFan
Portsmouth, NH
March 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding
March 14, 2011
This Tarte Tatin is wonderful. I used Anjou pears but otherwise followed the recipe exactly as listed. I made it in a Le Creuset Tatin dish which is ideal, but I suppose it would work in any round baking dish. This is a very easy recipe and apart from the 1 hour baking it's quick to make. It's a light dessert -- ideal after a nice dinner with guests.
Review 6 for Tarte Tatin of Winter Pears
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tess1
Santa Cruz, CA
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple and Elegant
May 3, 2010
I tried this recipe because I wanted a quick, no fuss dessert for a gourmet dinner club gathering that featured an otherwise complicated and intricate menu. I wanted to balance out the meal and avoid upstaging the main dish . I liked being able to bake it ahead and simply warm it up again or serve it cold without fussing in the host's kitchen.
The instructions were very clear and easy to follow. The crust is superb, the filling flavorful without being overly sweet and gooey and the presentation was elegant.