Sweet Potato Mash

Melted butter seasoned with fresh sage, ground cinnamon, grated nutmeg and brown sugar give a flavor boost to these mashed sweet potatoes. Drizzle with the maple-pecan topping for a sweet crunch.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Sweet Potato Mash
Review 1 for Sweet Potato Mash
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LolaLemon
November 24, 2012
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Sweet Potatoes Ever
November 24, 2012
I wanted to make something different this year for Thanksgiving, as my family typically does not make sweet potatoes. Everyone was very hesitant to try escpecially because of the pecans. However, it was the ONLY dish that dissappeared durning dinner! Everyone kept going back for more! I was asked for the recipe by three differnt guests. I was very happy that everyone enjoyed it, but not happy that I didn't have any left overs for the day after! ;) I will definitely make this year after year! Thank you for a wonderful recipe! Oh one thing I forgot to mention - I did not use maple syrup with this because I did not have any. I used honey instead and it worked out just as well.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Sweet Potato Mash
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShuBaughman
,Salem
,OR
November 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Recipe - and easy!
November 24, 2011
After reading the other reviews, I decided to try this for Thanksgiving today. What an awesome, and easy, recipe! The kids loved it even before I served the maple syrup/pecan mixture. Taking the leftovers to my Dad's to try tonight. I'm sure it will get rave reviews there too. Give this one a try.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Sweet Potato Mash
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsChambers
,Harrisburg
,PA
November 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This was a hit!
November 24, 2011
I used yams instead of sweet potatoes for this recipe (only option left in my grocery store), so I had to sweeten this some with white sugar. Overall, the dish was delicious and an absolute crowd-pleaser. This will be a Thanksgiving dinner staple at my house!
Pros: Good Value, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Sweet Potato Mash
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seckzthing
,Hillsborough
,NJ
Hillsborough, NJ
November 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most delicious sweet potatoes I ever had
November 15, 2011
At first I thought this recipe would be labor intensive and not worth the effort. Boy was I wrong. Even if you don't have a potato ricer, you can just mash them the old fashioned way and the potatoes will still just come out fine! The brown sugar and maple syrup-coated pecans add just the right amount of melt-in-your-mouth sweetness to this dish. I also didn't have fresh sage on hand and substituted dried sage instead. Again, it was no problem to do so, as the buttery, fragrant flavor of this dish came through.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Sweet Potato Mash
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tromich
November 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very very yummy!
November 6, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. I love sweet potatoes so I am always trying different variations. This was up there with some of the best sweet potato recipes. Will be making this for Thanksgiving this year...
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Sweet Potato Mash
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
USAKatie
,Birmingham, England
October 23, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply divine!
October 23, 2011
I made this for the first time and have now put copied the recipe in my recipe book to make many more times in the future! It was such a big hit with me, my boyfriend and his mother (who are both English and don't normally eat sweet potatoes/have them at Thanksgiving). This is such an "Autumn" flavor and it is definitely a comfort food. It's easy to make also which will help encourage those of you who are like me (beginner chefs!) to try it out. Family and friends will love it - it makes so much also, you'll have lots of leftovers! A must try!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again