Summer Braised Chicken and Vegetables with Good Mother Stallard Beans

This lighter take on braised chicken combines creamy Good Mother Stallard beans with red bell peppers, corn and snap peas. A handful of fresh herbs and a squeeze of lemon juice brighten the flavors. To cook the beans, soak them overnight and drain, then place in a large pot with water to cover by 2 inches. Add 1/2 yellow onion, 1 carrot and 1 celery stalk. Bring to a simmer over medium-high heat, reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer until the beans are tender, 1 to 1 1/2 hours.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Summer Braised Chicken and Vegetables with Good Mother Stallard Beans
Review 1 for Summer Braised Chicken and Vegetables with Good Mother Stallard Beans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
angelinao
,Nederland
,CO
June 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Healthy and Delicious
June 3, 2013
The light delicate flavors are perfect for a summertime dinner on the patio.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Summer Braised Chicken and Vegetables with Good Mother Stallard Beans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Edmonton
,AB
February 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very flavourful, LOTS of yummy vegetables!
February 4, 2013
But I didn't realize this was a soup! The picture in the recipe doesn't show nearly as much liquid as I had, the recipe used a 6 qt. Essential pan and I was using a 4 qt. Essential pan; so I guess their liquid would have spread over the bottom. Just before serving, I put my chicken back in the sauté pan, to take a photo. Yikes, with the chicken and all the vegetables back in the pan, the liquid literally came up to the top of my 4 qt Essential Pan. I wonder if there is any way to adjust the recipe without losing the deliciousness of all the wonderful vegetables?
BTW, I used the Good Mother Stallard Beans, which I bought from Williams-Sonoma, and they were wonderful, and even fun to cook. The beans were soaked overnight, drained and then covered with water and simmered for 1 1/2 hours, with a onion, carrot and celery.
I felt like a Gourmet Chef using my new Essential Pan, love it!
Pros: Yield, Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Summer Braised Chicken and Vegetables with Good Mother Stallard Beans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yeya07
September 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect fot a busy mom
September 19, 2012
My family love it..Even my six years old who does not like chicken.. Perfect for a weeknight dinner
Pros: Easy
Review 4 for Summer Braised Chicken and Vegetables with Good Mother Stallard Beans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oh2roam
September 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummo, even with substitutions
September 1, 2012
Because of food allergies and limited availability of ingredients at the time, I substituted a few things, but still followed the cooking method to a T. Here's what I substituted: fresh green beans for corn, defrosted English peas for sugar snaps, yellow & orange bell peppers for red, green onion leaves for chives, 1 tsp dried tarragon for basil (added together with the beans & peas), and the lemon zest suggested in other reviews. Scrumcious. A very adaptable and delicious recipe. The tarragon ( love it) definitely changes the flavor profile in a way that I find delightful, even using dried herb (though fresh preferred). But it might not be for everyone. Looking forward to trying it with the prescribed fresh basil.
Review 5 for Summer Braised Chicken and Vegetables with Good Mother Stallard Beans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeffU
Sunnyvale, CA
August 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great weekend dinner
August 26, 2012
The combination of vegetables, heirloom beans, and herbs is inspired, and the chicken was delicious. I grated the zest of the lemon used for the juice and added it at the end as did another reviewer. With fresh basil and chives right out of the garden the flavors were bright and the texture was perfect. My 2.5 year old son ate it all up! We will definitely be making this again.
Including soaking and cooking the beans, there is a fair share of advance and prep work. Some of it can overlap with the simmering, and it it is all worth it for the result. Mostly, you just need to plan to make it.
(The 6 qt. "essential" pan in the recipe photo is also excellent!)
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Summer Braised Chicken and Vegetables with Good Mother Stallard Beans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seattlerin
,Alexandria
,VA
August 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
August 21, 2012
I don't normally review recipes, but this one deserved some recognition. It was absolutely delicious! The only change I made was to add 1/2 tsp finely grated lemon zest with the lemon juice to punch up the citrus flavor. Other than that, it was completely perfect as is. I'm not a huge fan of chicken, but this was some of the best chicken I've ever made or eaten!
Pros: Yield, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Summer Braised Chicken and Vegetables with Good Mother Stallard Beans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WTLWEE
,Altadena
,CA
August 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Anytime Meal
August 14, 2012
My family and I thought this dish was outstanding. The presentation was gorgeous! The vegetable medley was a delicious combination of creamy and nutty from the beans, paired with the crunchy sweetness of the sugar snap peas and the fresh corn. The basil and chives at the end gave it an extra punch of fresh summer flavor.
My 7 year old daughter is very picky when it comes to vegetables and she loved it. She cleaned her plate!
We will incorporate this dish into our regular repetoire of meals. It was simple to make and is basically a one-pot (or pan) meal that requires less clean up at the end.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, not your everyday boring chicken dish
Review 8 for Summer Braised Chicken and Vegetables with Good Mother Stallard Beans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Entertablement
,Dennis
,MA
Dennis! MA
August 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Flavour
August 8, 2012
We tried this the other night and it was outstanding. I was intrigued to try the new line of heritage beans, and really liked the Good Mother Stallards. They are tender, creamy and have a slightly nutty flavour. Delicious.
We followed the recipe as laid out. Next time I would reduce the stock to 2 cups as I found the dish to be a little more watery than I would like. This posed no problem to the diners, however, as they sopped up all the juices with crusty french bread. It got rave reviews.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 9 for Summer Braised Chicken and Vegetables with Good Mother Stallard Beans
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MichMom
,East Lansing
,MI
August 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A lot of prep for little reward
August 7, 2012
The prep time on this recipe was quite long and the flavor just wasn't there. The chicken was very tender and juicy, but that's about the only redeeming quality. I might try using thyme and sage, instead of chives and basil. And add much more lemon juice. Or just don't make it and save yourself the trouble! I usually have good luck with WS recipes, so this was a let down.
Cons: Taste, Lengthy
Review 10 for Summer Braised Chicken and Vegetables with Good Mother Stallard Beans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaTaosena
,Taos
,NM
August 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really Tasty!
August 5, 2012
I made this for company - everyone agreed that it was truly delish! Loved the beans/corn/sugar snap peas combo. Everything can be prepped ahead of time - put the chicken back in to braise just as guests were arriving, & little to do thereafter.
Pros: Good Value, Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again