Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie

Technically a vegetable, rhubarb is treated like a fruit and is traditionally paired with strawberries, which complement its tart, fruity flavor. Rhubarb comes in two types. Field rhubarb, most often available in late spring, is cherry-red and has a more pronounced flavor than its hothouse kin. Hothouse rhubarb is bright pink and is usually in the market year-round. To avoid a stringy filling, slice the rhubarb no wider than 1/2 inch thick. If the outside of the stalks are stringy, remove the strings with a vegetable peeler. Rhubarb leaves are mildly toxic and should always be discarded.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie
Review 1 for Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hodee1
,Austin
,TX
January 25, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classy and Easy
January 25, 2013
In all my years of cooking, never before had I made a Rhubarb pie. At a special party the guest of honor requested a Rhubarb pie......I found the recipe at W&S. It was delicious and soooooo easy to make! Highly recommend.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barobaro
June 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple-n-sweet, fabulous summer treat
June 7, 2012
Many times, I'd heard about strawberry rhubarb pie on Garrison Keillor's Prairie Home Companion. For last year's Independence Day celebration , I decided to give it a go, relying on my history with and trust in Williams-Sonoma's always perfect pie recipes. Although the pie was golden and gorgeous, none of the guests wished to touch it as, prior to this, they'd had "bad" experiences with or didn't like the idea of the mysterious rhubarb. Needless to say, I was glad to have also made the W-S Blackberry Farm’s Blackberry Cobbler (available here) from berries freshly picked outside our door. But then, my dear husband decided to have his finger in the pie (couldn't resist; not literally!), and when everyone heard him "mmm..." and "ohhhh...", they decided to try. It soon surpassed the cobbler! Our family has a breakfast tradition of eating leftover pie the next day with a glass of milk.... An old-fashioned, delicious slice of life.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apolline
Boston, MA
September 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Dream About This Pie
September 1, 2010
So few ingredients fill this pie but it is perfect in all its simplicity! Do not be tempted to improvise- your tastebuds will be glad you didn't meddle this time! This pie will make for a delicious spring or summer day!
Review 4 for Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ericainpa
Pittsburgh, PA
May 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful recipe!
May 17, 2010
My husband is not a big dessert eater, but he loves pie and Strawberry Rhubarb is his favorite. This was the first time I made him this pie and I used this recipe...he absolutely loved it. The filling was perfectly tart and sweet and the buttery crust was a really nice balance to those flavors. I will make this recipe for years to come
Review 5 for Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
motokelly
Grand Rapids, MI
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this pie!
May 14, 2010
I've made this pie several times for different occasions, and have never found a better strawberry-rhubarb recipe. It's always a big hit!
Review 6 for Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jgbaxter
Boca Raton, FL
May 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pie ever!
May 4, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe for my favorite pie~ Strawberry-Rhubarb pie! Yummy!!! It won't disappoint!