Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions

The recipe for caramelized onions makes more than you will need for the strata. Reserve the rest for another use, such as topping a pizza or blending into a frittata.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
Review 1 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LazyHubbie
,Washington
,DC
December 29, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recommended by a 'Consumer'
December 29, 2013
Dear All you Cooks,
I am male, a 'consumer'. I know nothing about cooking but "I know what I like".
***
This is a superb dish. The four rather than five stars may well just reflect my personal tastes. That it is ideal for Christmas brunch, as one reviewer said, sounds dead right to me. I believe one reviewer said something about "It's like the savory version of the most wonderful bread pudding you can imagine.": I would not have thought of that for myself but I found it a very perceptive comment. I would guess (I mean guess) that chard would give the overall concoction more of an interesting and complex taste than some other vegetable options.
Pros: consumers like it
Cons: Complicated, Lengthy
Review 2 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BestBuyerAgent
,Frederick
,MD
Frederick, MD
December 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our Christmas morning fav!
December 22, 2013
Once again planning to make for Christmas morning. It is soooo easy to make the day before when things aren't so hectic and then have it ready to eat when we finish opening presents. It's hearty enough to get us through and nicely hungry for Christmas dinner, especially since we do first breakfast of buns, fruit and bacon while opening stockings. The strata is more a brunch dish and is wonderfully delicious.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizLaurel
Laurel, MD
April 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific addition to any brunch/buffet
April 28, 2013
Takes a little time, but this recipe is delicious and a big hit at any gathering. Only caution is that it makes A LOT. I would say that even for a breakfast (vs buffet) this could easily serve 10-12. Other than that, there are no surprises and your guests will love it!
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rbyb
December 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Breakfast or Brunch!
December 8, 2012
This has been our favorite Christmas morning breakfast for several years, Even though easy, I break it up into smaller tasks that fit into my schedule. One day I caramelize the onions, put them in a container in refridge. The next day I may do the sausage & grate the cheese and put them in refridge. By the time I put it altogether on Christmas Eve, so much is done already that it takes very little time. Also, I substitute baby spinach for chard, as someone else mentioned. Always a hit!
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laura350z
,San Diego
,Ca
April 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Brunch!
April 23, 2012
I made this for 3 hungry guys (and myself!) yesterday for brunch. I only had nonfat half-and-half, and not quite enough, so I added chicken broth. I also cooked it immediately, rather than preparing it ahead of time. It was a definite hit! I will absolutely be making this again! Thank you for sharing!
Pros: Good Value, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 6 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynn2004
,San Rafale
,CA
San Rafael, CA
November 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic, Easy and Hearty!
November 5, 2011
Absolutely delicious. Easy to prepare. Can be prepped a day before. I made a few adjustments:
1). I used Grapeseed Oil instead of Olive Oil (I keep hearing that the latter turns to a bad fat once it's heated).
2). I've made this dish once without sausage and twice with sausage. And when I did add sausage I used about 4 ounces.
3). I used Gouda GOAT Aged Dutch Cheese instead of fontina (I hear Goat cheese is better for us than cow cheese).
4). A couple times I used milk instead of half-and-half (because I never seem to have it in the fridge) and it's still delicious.
* Be very careful in the first step (covering and frequently stirring the onions). I don't know if it needs more oil or not? But even stirring every minute or so I still manage to burn a few (which I discard). Anyone else have a suggestion?
* Also before you bake try to cover the greens (as much as possible). They seem to burn a little while everything else cooks perfectly.
Enjoy! You'll love this dish!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookslovews
Lakewood, WA
August 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing!!!
August 15, 2010
This dish is as wonderful and easy as the other reviewers claim. I would have never believed it if I hadn't tried it. It is so easy to make, but yet so impressive and delicious. Not soggy at all. It's like the savory version of the most wonderful bread pudding you can imagine. I had to substitute spinach for the Swiss chard, because that's all my grocery store had. Will definitely make again!
Review 8 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MyOwnOpus
Boston, MA
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and deceptively simple
June 25, 2010
This dish is absolutely fantastic with ingredients that are very easy to find in any supermarket. I make it the evening before and bake it in the morning while I get ready for guests. It's awesome; you can pick your nose and putter around the house while it bakes and guests think you slaved over breakfast/brunch.
The combination of sweet/bitter is really fantastic. The texture is also lovely, as I often don't like egg souffle type things because of the dryness
Review 9 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen39290
Springfield OR
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brunch or luncheon main course
May 3, 2010
I have made this several times for holiday brunches and luncheons for friends. I always get compliments and requests for the recipe. Make it the night before, bake it the day of.
Review 10 for Strata with Chard, Sausage and Caramelized Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CaliforniaSwissMiss
Santa Rosa, California
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Brunch recipe
April 30, 2010
The first time I made this was for christmas morning brunch. It was a huge hit with the relatives. I made it the day before, put it in the oven in the morning and by the time we were done opening presents, breakfast was ready! I have made it many times since for brunch. One tip, avoid a dish that is too deep. It will take too long to get the center done and the edges will end up too crusty.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PortiaMH
New York, NY
Posted December 8, 2010
Always a big hit
Every time I've made this, it's gotten rave reviews from brunch guests. Worth the effort (and the calories).
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)