Spicy Chicken and Basil Stir-Fry

Aromatic basil, sometimes called Italian basil, is fundamental to Mediterranean cooking. But on the other side of the world, in Thailand, another basil variety is equally essential. For a more authentic version of this dish, seek out Thai basil, which has smaller, narrower leaves than the common Italian variety, a reddish purple cast and a more pronounced anise flavor. Look for it in Southeast Asian stores or at farmers' markets, or plant seeds outdoors in pots or beds for easy harvests.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Spicy Chicken and Basil Stir-Fry
Review 1 for Spicy Chicken and Basil Stir-Fry
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ymwelcom
,Marietta
,GA
Marietta, GA
July 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavor
July 9, 2012
This was very easy to make and had a great flavor especially from Thai Basil. This was my first time to use Thai Basil and I'm glad I did. (First I was thinking to use regular basil since I grow it) I used sweet onion instead of red pepper as my family doesn't care for the pepper. I'll definitely make it again!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Spicy Chicken and Basil Stir-Fry
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jennifer816
,Lexington
,KY
Lexington, KY
October 10, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flavorful, authentic dish!
October 10, 2011
I grew thai basil in our garden this past summer and I have been on the lookout for recipes that will do this wonderful ingredient justice-and this is definitely is that type of recipe! I did not have any peppers on hand, so I mixed some sambal olek (sriracha will suffice) into the sauce and it added the right amount of heat. This recipe is healthy and flavorful. Sauce is watery, but still yummy regardless.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Impressive
Review 3 for Spicy Chicken and Basil Stir-Fry
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clydebabe
Redmond, WA
August 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
August 23, 2011
I made this with seitan and it was great - I increased the cornstarch as the sauce didn't thicken well, and also used serrano peppers and some red pepper flake for more heat. The depth and complexity of flavor was wonderful. And I agree with previous poster that you should use Thai basil if at all possible, the flavor is unmistakably authentic!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Spicy Chicken and Basil Stir-Fry
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ADRITHOMMATH
Midwest
November 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Basil Flavor
November 17, 2010
Tastes really great! I normally cook Beef basil, So this recipe is another great way of using basil. Great flavor.
The only thing i would do instead, is cook the 3/4 cook the chicken 1st rather than adding the raw chicken with the vegetable. Perhaps right at the time need to add the chicken, remove red pepper mix from pan, cook chicken about 4 min and add the red pepper mix and continue with the rest of recipe.
Otherwise it was easy to make. Definitely make again.
Review 5 for Spicy Chicken and Basil Stir-Fry
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
db36
New York, NY
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a weekly staple
April 30, 2010
This recipe has become a weekly staple for my family. It's very flexible -- you can use almost any vegetable with it. If you can't use Thai basil, you should go without -- Thai basil does make a big difference. I also like to increase the garlic and use a little kosher salt with the garlic and the chicken before cooking. As for the chilies, jalapenos are more flavorful (in my opinion), but Thai chilies taste more 'authentic' (for lack of a better word). Enjoy!