Spiced Chicken & Rice

Top this dish with 1/2 cup sweetened, shredded, dried coconut that has been toasted to enhance its nutty flavor. To toast coconut, spread on a baking sheet and place in a preheated 350deg.F oven until light golden brown, 8 to 10 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Spiced Chicken & Rice
Review 1 for Spiced Chicken & Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
martawillcox
,London, UK
September 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Right on the money
September 26, 2013
Definitely packing more flavour than is suggested by the modest title "Spiced Chicken and Rice"!
In an effort to make it a bit healthier and wallet-friendly, I used brown rice instead of basmati and tofu instead of chicken. It turned out splendidly but the brown rice took forever to cook and I fear I did undercook it a bit.
Will definitely make again even though coconut and cashews are not usually things I have a habit of keeping in my pantry.
Review 2 for Spiced Chicken & Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HomeSousChef
,Santa Rosa
,CA
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Simple Meal
January 3, 2013
Very easy to make. The process is just like rice-a-roni but from scratch. Needless to say, knowing how to make this I will never be using boxed rice again!
I added spice to my chicken prior to mixing it because it can quite boring with just salt and pepper, and I would probably try shredded chicken next time. Otherwise, this is a quick and easy recipe.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Spiced Chicken & Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rachaelh
Liberty Township, OH
September 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
simple weeknight meal
September 6, 2012
this recipe was quick and easy to make not to mention yummy! substituted roasted peanuts and left out the peas (both myself and my fiance are not big fans) and it still turned out wonderful.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Spiced Chicken & Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monbus
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
July 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious, not complicated
July 20, 2011
This recipe is great and delicious, I have tried little variations like using toasted almonds instead of the cashews, and also added some toasted coconut for serving, they all taste great. Don´t be shy on the cilantro. This is certainly one of my favorites.
Pros: Easy
Review 5 for Spiced Chicken & Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
khunter
Bethany, OK
April 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipe!!
April 15, 2011
This recipe was sooo good. I used the African Curry to cut down the spice a little for my 6 year old. I also added water chestnuts and removed the cashews and raisins. Still turned out very delicious and will definitely be a staple.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Spiced Chicken & Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HuskerChef
Omaha, NE
February 11, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Nice Change
February 11, 2011
This was the first time I've used curry in my cooking and found this to be a nice and simple dish. Very flavorful and the golden raisins really make it.
Review 7 for Spiced Chicken & Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
homecookinva
Norfolk, VA
November 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and easy
November 9, 2010
This recipe was very easy to make and the flavors were delicious. I skipped the cashews to save some fat but it was still great. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a quick one-pot meal with interesting flavors. I will definitely make it again!
Review 8 for Spiced Chicken & Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hermama
Los Gatos, CA
September 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
September 8, 2010
This was delicious and easy to make . I will definately be adding it to my recipe box!
Review 9 for Spiced Chicken & Rice
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cakegirlnyc
New York, NY
May 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect One Pot Meal
May 26, 2010
This is a great recipe. Its relatively quick and easy to make. I was hesitant at first b/c of all the different spices ... curry , raisins etc, but it really did turn out wonderful. The cashews are the best part! I've made it three times.