Spiced Apple Coffee Cake

A delicious final touch, the glaze adds a hint of extra flavor and an attractive sheen to this coffee cake.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
Review 1 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SallyCG
February 16, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Something different to offer to friends
February 16, 2014
This was such a hit a our church coffee morning. I didn't make the icing as it seemed quite rich and just sprinkled icing sugar over.
Review 2 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CloudyGirl
,Lynnwood
,WA
November 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Dessert for a Cool Fall Evening!
November 4, 2012
The cake was a big hit. I had to leave it in the over longer than noted on the recipe, but the wait was well worth it. The aroma of the spices baking in the cake and the moist, deliciousness afterward was better than expected. I substituted cloves for the cardamon. This is going in my favorites recipe file.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WS2006
,livermore
,CA
February 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
excellent! big hit!
February 14, 2012
This recipe was veryyy easy to make and turned out to be very moist and almost tastes like a cinnamon roll mmm great recipe!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheCityMouse
,Kill Devil Hills
,NC
November 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Apple Cake Recipe EVER!
November 14, 2011
I have had this recipe saved in my recipe box for...longer than I care to mention. I baked this today...in a run down OLD oven/stove [circa 1984 that needs to be replaced!] ... it took 2 hours to completely bake...but it was well worth the wait. I'd dare say, it's perfect. I shall make this again and again...and work out voraciously in order to enjoy it!!!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ymwelcom
,Marietta
,GA
Marietta, GA
November 9, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very easy to make
November 9, 2011
This is going to be a nice addition to my repertoire especially in the fall season.
I used small Yate apples that we got from the orchard. These apples are rather sweet than tart so I reduced sugar amount by almost half.
I used apple juice to make the glaze instead of condensed milk.
The sweetness was perfect for me but my husband said he could do a little sweeter.
I used the regular 9 in. round pan and cut them in wedges.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jennifermck1
New York, NY
August 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of my new favorites!
August 24, 2011
This was absolutely delicious and I can't wait to make it again and again and again...
Pros: Yield, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 7 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
claireinfirenze
Florence, Italy
May 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
so fast, so good to eat, gone in a minute!
May 13, 2011
I've been making this recipe for a few years and everyone just loves it. It really is one of the best apple cakes I've made. I've made it for everyone and passed the recipe on as well... My kids devour it and guests do too. It's really good made with pears and/or peaches and apricots in summer months.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable
Review 8 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lunchlady
Chicago, Illinois
March 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Experience a slice of heaven!
March 7, 2011
This cake is delicious and oh sooo moist. It was a little labor intensive but totally worth the time and effort. I didn't have carmadon as called for , so I substituted a quarter teaspoon of nutmeg. My family and I absolutely loved this. I will be making it again not only for us but for special occasions as well.
Review 9 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jlightfritz
washington state
February 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely the best Apple Cake!
February 27, 2011
This is absolutely the best apple cake I've ever made! Moist with just the right amount of spices. Used a tube pan, instead of a springform pan, baked for same amount of time as recipe calls for.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
November 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A lot of work, but worth it!
November 29, 2010
This recipe was a lot of work but it was worth it. It was eaten within a day. Sooo delicious!
Review 11 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
karlinka
St.Petersburg, FL
October 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Spice Cake
October 21, 2010
The first time I baked this cake, my husband could not stop eating it. It is so delicious and moist. The combination of spices aren't overpowering but you can definitely taste them. I also baked this for a dinner party and it was a complete hit. Everyone asked me for the recipe. I'm not a fan of granny smith apples but I know that they are perfect for baking so I used 1 large granny smith and 2 braeburn apples. I will definitely make this more often.
Review 12 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CowHarborGal
New York
October 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DE-LISH!!!!
October 15, 2010
ONE OF THE BEST coffee cakes I've ever had. Attended a WS techniques class and enjoyed it so much there, I made it for Sunday dinner - dessert. I did not have cardamom so I used allspice instead. I also goofed and put it at the oven at 300 (should have been 350) - so I had to cook it longer. I was worried it wouldn't turn out with my mistake but it was still perfectly moist and delicious. I did not add the glaze - I personally thought it made the cake too sweet.
Was a HUGE HIT!! Perfect for dessert, a snack or even breakfast
SO EASY - will DEFINITELY make again
Review 13 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BakingMom02
Dallas, TX
October 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Cake
October 12, 2010
I attended the one of the many fall classes at my local Williams Sonoma offers and the Spiced Apple Coffee Cake was presented on the day. I left the store excited about fall and ready to bake!
The Coffee Cake was a hit at the office! Delicate and light!
Review 14 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BakerMom
Valley Forge, PA
September 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best apple cake- ever!
September 21, 2010
B/c I was baking with my 2 year old son and we got distracted... I Accidently forgot to toss the apples in the brown sugar mixture. Instead, I just folder the brown sugar in at the last minute. The cake turned out amazing- regardless of the opps. My favorite part is the easy vanilla icing. I was going to skip that step but it really makes the whole cake worth it. And it is super easy.
Review 15 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kellybelly
Washington, DC
June 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smells & tastes heavenly!
June 8, 2010
This coffee cake is easy to make and is also incredibly moist and flavorful! Big hit with my friends. This would be good for breakfast or dessert : )
Review 16 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Giogita
Mexico City
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect with a cup of coffee.
May 14, 2010
This is a recipe that I would repeat over and over is really excellent!!
Review 17 for Spiced Apple Coffee Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DragonSwan
Central Florida
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fab-U-Lous!!!!!!
May 14, 2010
This is the BEST coffee cake EVER! Moist, just the right amount of sweet/spice, and more like a regular cake than a coffee cake.
I used Apple Juice and Granny Smith apples; had a bit of a time finding Cardamom, but what it did for the flavor was amazing. (Recipe would be in the intermediate range as far as difficulty, but that is a personal opinion .) Won a "contest" at my last employer for a company bake-off using this recipe.....there was nothing left!
Wonderful Fall/Winter desert, or "just because" goodie if you want that warm spicy smell in your house and LOTS of compliments from family and freinds. Good to share as a housewarming gift, coffe and a nosh with the girls, or for a bake sale.