Michael Voltaggio's Spanish-Inspired "Mac & Cheese"

Add a global twist to family favorites. In this recipe, all-American comfort food becomes a brand-new dish by using a few Spanish ingredients.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Michael Voltaggio's Spanish-Inspired "Mac & Cheese"
Review 1 for Michael Voltaggio's Spanish-Inspired "Mac & Cheese"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrJenny1234
November 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decadently Delicious
November 7, 2012
My husband and I made this Mac & Cheese for dinner last night. It was really rich and really delicious. It was not difficult to make. The only modifications that I made were to use 8 oz of goat cheese (because that is what I had) and I used soy "chorizo" from Trader Joe's to make it vegetarian. This worked excellent and my husband indicated that he really liked it. We will make this again.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 2 for Michael Voltaggio's Spanish-Inspired "Mac & Cheese"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoontoretireJudy
Long Island, NY
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outrageous
February 24, 2011
The recipe looked very interesting. So I decided I would try it. I had to substitute the arborio rice because no where could I find bomba rice. My friend just went to Spain, so I put her on a mission to find it. My family and friends absolutely loved it. Easy to make and delicious. I'm thinking of making it for dinner tonight since I went out to get the ingredients to have on hand. My mouth is watering.
Review 3 for Michael Voltaggio's Spanish-Inspired "Mac & Cheese"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dpowers
Richmond, VA
January 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantabulous!
January 22, 2011
This is a superb adaptation of a great mac n' cheese. Worthy of serving guests and totally worth the time and expense of ingredients.
Review 4 for Michael Voltaggio's Spanish-Inspired "Mac & Cheese"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CathyM1957
Bradenton, FL
January 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Slice of Heaven in One Dish
January 17, 2011
This is even more fabulous than the picture on the front cover of the catalogue suggests, which is what inspired me to try it! Love Williams Sonoma and all the great recipes and ideas for great meals.
Thank You!
Review 5 for Michael Voltaggio's Spanish-Inspired "Mac & Cheese"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scales
Ann Arbor, MI
January 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Snowy Evenings
January 13, 2011
This recipe is a fantastic alternative to the standard version of mac 'n cheese. For some reason, Spanish chorizo is difficult to find in my area, so I substituted cubed ham. Not as spicy but still tasty with the cheese. BTW, people who don't try a recipe but who feel compelled to bash it for the fat, sodium, or cholesterol content should not be allowed to post comments.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Neecies
Washington
Posted August 9, 2011
Best Chorizo substitute
Pepperoni. Not the cheap pre-sliced stuff made for pizza or the long snack sticks you see at the checkout counter at truck stops :), but the kind that comes in a small solid log in Italian delis that you slice yourself.
0points
Customer avatar
PattiM
New Jersey
Posted January 17, 2011
Substitution
Is there a cheese I can substitute for the goat cheese. Husband won't touch goat cheese. Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Michael Voltaggio's Spanish-Inspired "Mac & Cheese"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RoseCityTexas
January 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious side!
January 2, 2011
We made this recipe minus the chorizo and it was fantastic. Highly recommend.
Review 7 for Michael Voltaggio's Spanish-Inspired "Mac & Cheese"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie1978
Englewood, Florida
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved this!
December 28, 2010
This recipe is so yummy. Great to eat on a cold night! Easy to follow and well worth all the stirring!
Review 8 for Michael Voltaggio's Spanish-Inspired "Mac & Cheese"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarbieRoses
New Market, MD
December 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
10of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pasta Dish Ever
December 27, 2010
According to the title, this is a Mac & Cheese, but this is much more. We served it to our family, and we ate every last bit.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
RGBPLAYER
Mission Viejo, CA
Posted January 14, 2011
Spanish Goat Cheese
For those that have made this. Was finding Spanish goat cheese difficult? In reading up on Spanish goat cheese, I see there are several varieties, including some hard varieties. I am going to try and make this tonight.
0points
Customer avatar
SoupieSue
NJ
Posted January 3, 2011
Misleading and unhealthy
This recipe contains no pasta at all. It requires a specialty rice that costs around $12 a lb, and then adds 4.5 cups of high-fat dairy and a cup of specialty sausage. There is no relationship here to the standard "mac and cheese", which is a quick, convenient, and economical dish. This might be tasty for folks on colesteral medication, but you should rename it "Cheese Paella" or "Bomba Cheese Glop".
Please list nutritional values for this recipe as well!
0points
Customer avatar
Taliausc12
Columbia, SC
Posted December 30, 2010
For this recipe did you use fresh chorizo?
Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)