Spanakopita

Common all over Greece, stuffed filo pastries make a memorable meze, or appetizer. These small triangles are stuffed with feta and spinach. You might also see them stuffed with feta and herbs, or with lamb and spices and rolled into cigar shapes or tied like knots. Serve these pastries with a glass of ouzo over ice.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Spanakopita
Review 1 for Spanakopita
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vixter
,Pittsburgh
,PA
October 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic and easy to make!
October 22, 2012
I enjoyed everything about this recipe. A few basic ingredients, a marginal bit of time to work with the filo dough, and you have a scrumptious appetizer! I made them ahead of time and stacked them on parchment paper on drying racks in my fridge (covering them tightly with saran wrap). Then I just slid the parchment onto a cookie sheet and baked. Easy. Next time, I'm going to freeze them so as to keep my fridge a little less packed :) The mint in this recipe gave it a little zip too. Will definitely make again.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Spanakopita
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kaiulani
Lanikai, HI
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Deliciously Flaky
January 12, 2011
This was a big hit at our Meet & Greet Open House. Love the mint & hint of nutmeg. Next time I'll cut the strips into 3" width for a smaller triangle.
Review 3 for Spanakopita
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CannuckCook
Washington DC
August 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect H'ors D'oeuvres On Demand
August 10, 2010
I LOVE this recipe, and it never fails to get rave reviews. I've made it in small triangles as an h'ors d'oeuvre, made the triangles larger and paired them with a salad for a full meal as they are very, very rich, I've even brought them camping and reheated them in tinfoil over the campfire! But perhaps the most wonderful thing about Spanakopita is that you can freeze it and then pop it back in the oven for quick use when guests drop by unexpectedly.
I usually omit the mint and nutmeg but I can't help but give this recipe 5 stars.
Review 4 for Spanakopita
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scratchcook
Wichita Kansas
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone LOVES these
April 30, 2010
These are easier than they sound. The folding isn't hard to master if you remember how you learned to fold a flag. Same thing. Plus, make a double or triple batch while you are at it, up to the baking. Put in a single layer onto a large sheet and freeze overnight. Then pop them into a zip top bag and keep in the freezer a couple of months with no loss of goodness. To bake, just heat the oven, put however many you want onto your baking sheet and enjoy. Yum