Sour Cream-Maple Bread

This bread boasts subtle flavors of butter and sour cream with discreet overtones of maple syrup. A handheld mixer can be used instead of a whisk to blend the butter and syrup, but further mixing is easily done by hand.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Sour Cream-Maple Bread
Review 1 for Sour Cream-Maple Bread
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
csinensis
Lacey, WA
January 11, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist and delicious
January 11, 2014
I substituted 3/4 cup WW flour and used fat free Greek yogurt simply because I didn't have sour cream on hand. Also increased pecan by 1/3 cup. It smelled wonderful during baking. The batter overflew the loaf pan. The baking soda-acid reaction was too much so that I could see its volume expanding so fast even before pouring to the pan. I will try 1/2 tsp of baking soda next time. Other than that, it was moist and delicious while not too sweet. Good for breakfast or afternoon snack with hot rooibos tea.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Yield
Review 2 for Sour Cream-Maple Bread
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Darcies
,council bluffs
,ia
April 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
quick and moist bread
April 5, 2013
I made this and liked it. I used half almond flour. I agree that it doesn't have much maple flavor, but I liked the fact that it isn't as dry or sweet as most banana or fruit bread recipes, because you use maple syrup versus sugar. And the sour cream makes it moist. I would imagine the yogurt suggestion would work well.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Sour Cream-Maple Bread
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AidaS
November 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Okay...
November 17, 2012
We didn't think the maple flavor came through at all. My bread was very pale in color - not golden like the picture. Texture is similar to sour cream coffee cakes.
Pros: Quick, Easy
Review 4 for Sour Cream-Maple Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nananan22
,NH
October 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delish for breakfast!
October 5, 2012
A very nice semi-sweet bread. I used Fage plain nonfat yogurt instead of the sour cream. It smells great while it's baking, and tastes even better. When it was cool, I sliced it and wrapped and froze slices (after sampling it, of course!) I liked that it wasn't too sweet. The maple syrup makes it a little costly to make, but worth it.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 5 for Sour Cream-Maple Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
whitedove
,jacksonville
,fl
September 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great company bread
September 28, 2012
This is a great bread. It freezes very well.
I made a maple butter spread to put on it. My family loved it. This will be a Christmas bag gift.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Sour Cream-Maple Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheri658
,Ca
January 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The very best!
January 29, 2012
Very,very good.I added a bit of cinnamon,and a bit of whole wheat flour.
Freezes well also.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again