Smoky Steak Sandwiches with Peppers and Onions

Hickory smoked sea salt lends a rich, smoky flavor to these sandwiches, which are cooked entirely on a backyard grill. Combining juicy steak with bell peppers, red onions and provolone cheese, the sandwiches make a satisfying summer meal.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Smoky Steak Sandwiches with Peppers and Onions
Review 1 for Smoky Steak Sandwiches with Peppers and Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
October 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good, with some modifications
October 13, 2011
I am not a steak sandwich lover because I dislike gristle and tough meat, but I have to say, I am convinced after making this recipe. I cut ALL the fat off and used 4 pounds of new york strip steak, so this was very lean. I did not overcook the meat, it was slightly pink inside so it was not tough to bite into.
I did not have hickory smoked sea salt--who has that in their pantry?---instead I used liquid smoke. It worked wonderfully. I also did not have a green pepper, and instead used two red peppers. The meal was delicious!
I agree with another reviewer that provolone cheese was not strong enough. I did not notice it was present in the sandwich. Perhaps a stronger cheese is necessary or skip the cheese to reduce the calories.
Great Monday Night Football dinner or tailgating. One pot meal. Easy.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Smoky Steak Sandwiches with Peppers and Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love2Cook4Family
North Dakota
June 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Meal in under 30 minutes!
June 13, 2011
I was determined to learn how to make Cheesesteaks for my son. I decided there was no better place to start than WS. This was my first try and I will not even look @ another recipe. I went to my local meat market and asked for 1 1/2 lbs. New York Steak thinly sliced. The butcher thought I was crazy but he sliced it for me anyway. If you don't have the smoked salt, I highly recommend ordering it. Purple onions didn't look good @ the store so I just used yellow and they didn't have any red peppers so I just used green and it was still delicious! The whole family loved them!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Smoky Steak Sandwiches with Peppers and Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FiestaFan
Alaska
June 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fast and easy! Great for summer!
June 11, 2011
Made these today for lunch and they were wonderful. So easy too! Will be great for a summer BBQ with friends.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Smoky Steak Sandwiches with Peppers and Onions
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MNPC
Grand Marais MN
April 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasted great and looked just like the picture!
April 28, 2011
Made this sandwich for dinner and we all loved it! Quick and flavorful! I had to substitute New York strip because it's all I had on hand. Enjoyed the smoky sea salt, could benefit for a hardier cheese, the provolone is awfully mild.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive