Smoky Potato Gratin

In this recipe, thinly sliced potatoes are partially cooked on the stovetop, then layered in a mesh grill pan and cooked on an outdoor grill, which infuses them with enticing smoky flavor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Smoky Potato Gratin
Review 1 for Smoky Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Operababe
Northern CA
August 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super easy and delicious
August 7, 2010
This is a terrific side dish! Easy to prepare, requires only a few standard ingredients, and tastes amazing. The garlic butter mixture is to die for! I tend to use whatever herbs I have on hand but otherwise I make it exactly as stated in the recipe and it's gotten rave reviews each time.
Review 2 for Smoky Potato Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrJenny
Novi, MI
July 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent side dish
July 19, 2010
Hubby and I made these smoky potatoes as a side to Grill-Roasted Chicken with Chimichurri Rojo. We enjoyed the potatoes very much. We easily halved the recipe, leaving the garlic at 2 cloves and using salted butter, which was no problem. We used the mesh grill pan we bought at Williams-Sonoma. We would not change a thing about this recipe. It was perfect as is.
Review 3 for Smoky Potato Gratin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
timmyc
July 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great recipe!
July 7, 2010
This one is a family-pleaser. After experimenting with this recipe a few times, here's what I've found:
Don't parboil for 8 minutes. 4-6 does the trick. Might be our rangetop, but 8 minutes was way too much. 5 minutes was perfect
Sprinkle 1/4 c. parmesan with two minutes to go on the grill. Alternatively you could sprinkle it into the butter mixture, but given the time on the grill tihs tended to burn the cheese a bit.
Review 4 for Smoky Potato Gratin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ruby3138
Cupertino, Ca.
June 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for the Grill
June 21, 2010
My family loved it. I will make it again as it had a lot of flavor and the prep was fairly easy. I put it on the grill for about 30 minutes and then finished in the oven.