Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing

In this savory dressing, homemade cream biscuits stand in for the traditional bread, while crispy bacon adds delicious smoky flavor. For the biscuit recipe, click on the link at left.
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
Review 1 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tlvelas66
,Albuquerque
,NM
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Thanksgiving Dressing!
November 28, 2013
This is such a great, smoky dressing! I used cherrywood smoked bacon, so the smokiness wasn't overpowering, this year but I have used applewood in the past and it is fantastic every time. I made homemade cream biscuits which are so easy. Love this recipe!!
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CMEC
,Port St Lucie
,FL
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thanksgiving staple for our family
October 22, 2013
I have made this dressing for the last 4 Thanksgivings and this year will be the 5th. Everyone used to rave about my mothers dressing recipe but none of us want to go back to that after trying this. You need to make the biscuits from scratch because that is one of the flavors you will want to experience along with fresh thyme. It is not a difficult recipe, you can make the biscuits well ahead of time.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LadyGrinch
,Seattle
,WA
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Tasty! Use Less Stock
November 25, 2012
Everyone raved about this recipe even though I felt it was too mushy. I definitely should have used less chicken stock as other reviewers have done. It calls for 5 Cups of stock, I will try 4 Cups next time and see if I need less stock from that point. But it's definitely a recipe I will use again. I stuffed my turkey with it and the flavor was outstanding. The remaining stuffing went in a casserole dish to cook. I had to toast the biscuits a lot longer than mentioned. I could have toasted them even longer. I made this recipe one day before Thanksgiving. I made the biscuits two days before Thanksgiving.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Texture
Review 4 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Karen444
November 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good, used frozen biscuits
November 24, 2012
I used Robinhood Meeting House frozen cream cheese biscuits (9 of them) and cut the recipe in half. This size filled an 8x8 dish well.
I also used turkey stock which I think made it too rich, so I think using a lighter chicken broth would be better. The pancetta was delicious.
I will do this again!
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RainyDay
Seattle, WA
Posted April 6, 2013
Top 10 Contributor
Cream Cheese Biscuits
I am a fan of the Robinhood Meeting House cream cheese biscuits, as well. If any of you can get your hands on some, I highly recommend them.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuvWilliamsSonoma
,Philadelphia
,PA
PA
November 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best filling ever!
November 27, 2011
I do not typically eat filling as I hate soggy, seasoned bread. Since I do like bacon and biscuits I thought i would give this a try for Thanksgiving. It was the best I have ever had. Everyone loved it and it will be my "go to" filling from now on. I doubled the recipe to feed 14. I used the recommended biscuit recipe and it was fantastic also.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Graphene
,Mi
November 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comfort food perfected
November 24, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and like the other reviews was getting asked for the recipe. I used Pamela's Baking Mix for a gluten free version of the biscuits and reduced the heavy cream by 1 cup. I additionally used only 3 1/2 cups of the stock for fear of the dressing turning out mushy as noted in one review and it hit the nail on the head. This will be my new tradition dressing as the taste was amazing.
Pros: Impressive
Review 7 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
coalie
November 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
show stealer....
November 20, 2011
We had three different stuffings and this one was the winner- no contest! Really extraordinary recipe that will be made each year. I should note that every Thanksgiving, this is the one guests ask about in advance.
Review 8 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
musicilife029
,atlanta
,ga
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Side Dish
October 24, 2011
Very good flavor. Only modification I made was to not use the full 5 cups of stock, because after slowly adding 4 of the stock in, it was very mushy. I might even use less next time, depending on how you like the consistency of your stuffing. Using a good quality, thick cut bacon makes a huge difference too.
Review 9 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scanu
,Montgomery
,Il
September 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SO YUMMY!!!
September 21, 2011
I've hosted Thanksgiving for a few yrs now and the first year I hosted I tried this recipe, and I wasn't sure if my family would go along with it....well, I'm so happy I made it because it was a HUGE hit. My family asks me to make a double batch so there is leftovers to take home!!! So needeless to say, I won't be making any other type of dressing again!!! It's a great recipe....trust me!
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 10 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shellie8338
Kentucky
November 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection
November 24, 2010
I've been cooking homemade stuffing for Thanksgiving for over 10 years. I made this last year for the first time and I will NEVER use another recipe. Every single person in my family loved this. I double it and cook the bacon in the oven to quicken the process.
Review 11 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrammyMel
St. Louis, Missouri
November 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Has become a traditional favorite.
November 23, 2010
Made this recipe a couple of years ago and it was a hit. Now my family ask for it every year. It has now become a traditional favorite in our family.
Review 12 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LadyThelma
Boise, Idaho
November 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Newest Thankgiving Tradition
November 22, 2010
This stuffing is by far my favorite I've ever tasted! We've used this reciept for the past couple years and I will never use any other again, not even grandma's dressing can compaire... The key is to make the biscuts as dry as possible before and have the bacon extra crispy... so tasty!!
Review 13 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PlumeriaGirl
Carlsbad, CA
November 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Favorite
November 22, 2010
I just made this for our early Thanksgiving dinner, and it was a huge hit! It is, by far, my favorite dressing!
Just as a previous reviewer had noted, it is important to use fresh herbs and quality smoked bacon. Also, I only added a little stock at a time, stirring constantly. I used 4 cups total. It was easy to see how the dressing could get soggy if all of the stock had been added at once.
Lastly, next time I will add the mushrooms at last minute. They were overcooked by adding them at the same time as the celery. The mushrooms will cook enough during the oven baking time.
Review 14 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gina1221
Durham, NC
October 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
October 20, 2010
This stuffing has become my absolute favorite dish at Thanksgiving. It tastes fantastic and is well worth the work (the cream biscuits are super easy to make so don't let that scare you off).
I would recommend adding the broth one cup at a time, as a previous post noted it became soggy. I have always used the full 5 cups and never had this happen but I can see the potential, especially if you let it sit out any length of time before baking.
Review 15 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
unters
Missouri
October 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Family Favorite For Holiday
October 12, 2010
I have made this dressing for the last couple years and for every holiday meal it is requested. Quality ingredients and attention to detail when adding broth is a must. Even picky eaters and guests who don't care for dressing adore this dish.
Review 16 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BebeRuthie
Clearwater, FL
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Savory Dressing with Fresh Herbs!
May 3, 2010
While preparing this dressing is slightly more time consuming due to the extensive prep work, it's definitely worth the extra effort! *Try using apple-wood smoked bacon, and 1.5 cups less of chicken stock. Too much stock will make the dressing heavy and soggy. Lovely complement to a Holiday dinner!
Review 17 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AuntSusan
Cable, Ohio
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thanksgiving
April 30, 2010
EXCELLENT!!! Thanksgiving I have 25-30+ guests, I tried this recipe two years ago and had rave reviews. Follow the easy directions, using fresh herbs and quality bacon is a must. Add this delicous dressing to you holiday dinners it will become a "secret family recipe" :) Of course grandma's oyster and regular dressing will also be served! Enjoy....
Review 18 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MissPie
Avondale, AZ
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really Soggy
April 30, 2010
My hopes were set high. Bacon, cream biscuits and mushrooms. What a combination. What a disappointment. It did not mix well at all. I ended up with a bunch of mush. Even after trying to bake the mess I had created. I made my biscuits and added my broth sparingly but it did not seem to mix well. To much work for the outcome. I don't think I will be making it again.