Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing

In this savory dressing, homemade cream biscuits stand in for the traditional bread, while crispy bacon adds delicious smoky flavor. For the biscuit recipe, click on the link at left.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
Review 1 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Verbyal
,RIVERSIDE
,CA
November 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Stuffing
November 24, 2014
This was the 1st time I ever made stuffing, and I must say this was a huge hit. I took advice from another reviewer and used less stock(only 3 1/2 cups) and added it slowly. It did the trick. I omitted the Sage and used minced Garlic since I find Thyme to be quite strong. Made the cream biscuits but found them to be lacking in taste so will not use those again, perhaps a different biscuit recipe. Otherwise the whole stuffing was a success, and it tastes amazing.
Pros: Easy, Appearance
Review 2 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tlvelas66
,Albuquerque
,NM
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Thanksgiving Dressing!
November 28, 2013
This is such a great, smoky dressing! I used cherrywood smoked bacon, so the smokiness wasn't overpowering, this year but I have used applewood in the past and it is fantastic every time. I made homemade cream biscuits which are so easy. Love this recipe!!
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 3 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CMEC
,Port St Lucie
,FL
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thanksgiving staple for our family
October 22, 2013
I have made this dressing for the last 4 Thanksgivings and this year will be the 5th. Everyone used to rave about my mothers dressing recipe but none of us want to go back to that after trying this. You need to make the biscuits from scratch because that is one of the flavors you will want to experience along with fresh thyme. It is not a difficult recipe, you can make the biscuits well ahead of time.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LadyGrinch
,Seattle
,WA
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Tasty! Use Less Stock
November 25, 2012
Everyone raved about this recipe even though I felt it was too mushy. I definitely should have used less chicken stock as other reviewers have done. It calls for 5 Cups of stock, I will try 4 Cups next time and see if I need less stock from that point. But it's definitely a recipe I will use again. I stuffed my turkey with it and the flavor was outstanding. The remaining stuffing went in a casserole dish to cook. I had to toast the biscuits a lot longer than mentioned. I could have toasted them even longer. I made this recipe one day before Thanksgiving. I made the biscuits two days before Thanksgiving.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Texture
Review 5 for Smoky Bacon-Biscuit Dressing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Karen444
November 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good, used frozen biscuits
November 24, 2012
I used Robinhood Meeting House frozen cream cheese biscuits (9 of them) and cut the recipe in half. This size filled an 8x8 dish well.
I also used turkey stock which I think made it too rich, so I think using a lighter chicken broth would be better. The pancetta was delicious.
I will do this again!
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RainyDay
Seattle, WA
Posted April 6, 2013
Top 10 Contributor
Cream Cheese Biscuits
I am a fan of the Robinhood Meeting House cream cheese biscuits, as well. If any of you can get your hands on some, I highly recommend them.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)