Smoked Macaroni & Cheese

To create this comforting classic, we combine two kinds of cheeses: Sharp cheddar adds a tangy taste, while smoked Gouda lends a delightfully smoky flavor and creamy texture.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Smoked Macaroni & Cheese
Review 1 for Smoked Macaroni & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vic77
,Dobbs Ferry
,NY
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best mac'n'cheese ever, with a little boost
November 24, 2012
This is the second time we've made this version as a Thanksgiving side dish, and our guests kept asking for more.
I did add a few things this year: garlic powder, paprika and nutmeg in the cheese sauce for example. Browned bacon bits, and panko breadcrumbs on top instead of regular. Needless to say it was a whole new experience.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 2 for Smoked Macaroni & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CRHale
Silver Spring, Maryland
May 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Surprisingly Good
May 25, 2011
Well, I don't like macaroni and cheese, but I was asked to fix dinner for a church group and one of the young ladies asked if I would make Mac and Cheese.
Reluctantly I agreed, and decided this recipe might be interesting. It was
delicious - got rave reviews from everyone and I have to admit, even I enjoyed the leftovers. Very easy, very tasty. Buy good quality cheese.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Smoked Macaroni & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KAW06
Richmond, VA
February 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
YUMMM - Wonderful Dish
February 9, 2011
This Mac & Cheese came out wonderful. I brought it as a "side dish" to a super bowl party, and more people have asked me for the recipe.
I didn't change anything - and it was delicious.
Review 4 for Smoked Macaroni & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momof4inCali
Northern California
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
EVERYONE Loves This Dish!
January 4, 2011
A few years ago I married into three very picky eating girls. They LOVE this recipe. It's their favorite dish. It's easy to make and doesn't take long. I don't always add the tomato paste and usually add a few dashes of cayenne pepper. It always turns out great!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Smoked Macaroni & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mk1125
Pittsburgh, PA
October 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A perfect blend of crispy and warm and gooey
October 22, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! I loved the seasoned crisp bread crumbled on the top and the rich smokey flavor of the gouda cheese balanced with the warm and comforting melted cheddar. I will definitely make this my go-to recipe when I don't want the typical mac-and-cheese!
Review 6 for Smoked Macaroni & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PartyAtTheOutdoorKitchen
Fayetteville, Arkansas
September 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Try this on the Grill!
September 4, 2010
I did everything else the same, except I added about 1/2 cup more cheese for the top (both kinds mixed together) put it into a foil roasting pan that had been sprayed with non-stick spray, and cooked it for 40 minutes in the gas grill with the lid down,preheated to 325. I covered it with foil until the last 15 minutes or so. The result was perfectly creamy, with a nice crunch on top. Love this recipe!!!
Review 7 for Smoked Macaroni & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yogakathy
Huntington Beach, Ca
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply Amazing Mac and Cheese
April 30, 2010
I tried this recipe while staying with my family in Colorado. The
ingredients are easy to obtain, the recipe simply to make. Don't let the word simply fool you this Smoked Mac & Cheese pulls a Big punch when it comes to flavor and texture. I promise you it is a keeper one you will enjoy making, serving and eating.
Review 8 for Smoked Macaroni & Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GiselleH
Savannah, GA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Get prepared to make this over & over again!
April 30, 2010
My fiance is always asking me when I'm going to make Smoked Mac & Cheese again. It's a new favorite, and it's fairly simple for a new cook like me to accomplish successfully. It doesn't take long to prepare, either. What's great is you can substitute your fave cheeses to make it your own, as the cayenne pepper is all you need to keep it smokey and spicy. It's great on its own, but I added some cubed chicken I cooked as an experiment once and it was delicious! This mac & cheese is now a staple of my new household, and for good reason–it's simply the best.