Short Rib Wellington Potpie

Inspired by classic beef Wellington, which features a beef tenderloin encased in puff pastry, we created this recipe for a homey potpie. Beef short ribs are braised with mushrooms and pearl onions in a savory stock-wine mixture. Then the dish is topped with puff pastry and baked until golden brown. It makes an impressive main course for a casual gathering with friends.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
Review 1 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnotherWSFan
,Louisville
,CO
Boulder, CO
August 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding
August 1, 2013
Made just as published. Fantastic results. One guest still drools whenever I offer to make it for his birthday. Clearly in the category "sometimes food", it will stick to your ribs, for sure.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 2 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rachel007
,Orange County
,CA
December 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Welington recipe!
December 14, 2012
We love this dish!! I have made it both ways, using my dutch oven pot only to using my dutch oven to prepare but finishing individual wellingtons in souffle dishes. I usually do a layer of mashed potatoes at the bottom of the souffle dishes, top with the finished wellington mixture and then the puff pastry on top before final bake. I have always used beef (not short ribs) such as new york strip roast or rib eye roast, cut into bite sized pieces. Also, I use the mushroom demi glaze if I don't have the beef demi glace on hand! It comes out great everytime!
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lminne
,North arlington
,No
September 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comfort food
September 29, 2012
The best dish I have made ... A bit of work but well worth it!!! True crowd pleaser!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 4 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bluedaisy
,Wakefield
,Ma
August 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the effort!
August 30, 2012
I made this during the winter last year and it was amazing! I actually made it in individual portions so everyone had their own potpie. It took a bit of work but well worth it for a special occasion or a nice Sunday dinner. I have been trying new recipes every Sunday like my mother used to years ago and this is one I will make again and again!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost
Review 5 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jointchief
,Cupertino
,CA
June 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Casual or elegant
June 23, 2012
Made this recipe for Christmas dinner last year and the whole family loved it. It was a fun to do a rustic looking meal with my formal china and crystal stemware... the contrast was fun and unexpected. Going online to print recipe to make again and loved other reviewers suggestions to add diff. veggies, etc. Have made before with pie dough, just to see, and puff pastry was definitely better.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 6 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
romanticf16
,Commerce Township
,MI
April 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
for our next dinner part in the Fall
April 21, 2012
I made this dish from a recipe my wife had clipped from a magazine adv from Le Cruset. The only ingredient I didn't have was the demi glace- I added Kitchen Bouquet for color and Worchester Sauce for complexity. I cooked the ribs one day, then cooled them and degreased, then added the puff pastry and rebaked the next evening.This is the first meal I've ever seen my wife enjoy with leftovers for 3 days in a row! It will be the basis for a FOODIE Dinner Party for 12 this comming Fall. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, fine dining quality, worth the effort to prepare
Cons: Complicated, Cost, lots of prep and clean up
Review 7 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joylou
February 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
awesome flavor
February 12, 2012
Boneless short ribs were not available so substituted skirt steak at the suggestion of my butcher. The meat was so tender. I used the cookware suggested and was perfect. Used low sodium beef broth, and regulated salt to taste. Had difficulty preparing puff pastry then transferring; next time will try placing on pot then scoring. Served with homemade gnocchi with gorgonzola my daughter made while I prepped this. Served with a bold red wine. 5 people served with healthy seconds; not one bite was left; so delish!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 8 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chefkath
,Flanders
,nj
Flanders, nj
January 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Triple A comfort food
January 31, 2012
Anyone who cooks often knows short ribs take time to cook. That being said, this recipe has layers of flavors that satiate the comfort crave you're looking for. I added cooked peas, parsnips and carrots when the meat was finished and put it into my mini pie maker. Served another batch on the side with soup. Would be a great filling for mini puff pastry cups as an appetizer for football. KEEPER!!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, short ribs can be expensive for not so much meat
Review 9 for Short Rib Wellington Potpie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ruthmarie
,Senoia
,GA
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful comfort food
January 12, 2012
Taste and texture excellent. Great receipe for a couple to prepare together. Prep work ahead of time really makes the actual cooking and combining of ingredients speedy. (We substituted the prosciutto with bacon cubed up) We could tell that the dutch oven was going to be too large so after everything was cooked, we transferred it to a 2qt round casserole dish. Perfect for the puff pastry! Before placing the pastry over the food we used the lid of the casserole dish to measure and make sure we had stretched the pastry out enough to cover everything. We're anxious to offer it when we have our next dinner club.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious