Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread

This bread is almost effortless to make because it requires no kneading. Instead, the dough is allowed to slowly rise over a long period of time. Then it is baked in a preheated covered cast-iron pot, which helps produce a crispy, bakery-style crust on the finished loaf.
Average Customer Rating:
4.63 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
25 of 27(93%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
Review 1 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eddieruko
December 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Delicious
December 11, 2013
This recipe is incredibly easy to follow, and the bread even easier to make. It looks wonderful, smells wonderful, and tastes wonderful. However, there are a few things to keep in mind:
1. Don't let it proof too long. As other's have said, the dough will lose it's gusto and bubbliness. 18hrs is the max. However, I've let this sit room temp for 24hrs - it flattened and had some scaling on the dough, but to my surprise - the bread rose a bit in the oven and till came out OK.
2. Plan ahead. Since you don't want to overproof this dough, you'll want to make sure you'll be ready to stick it in the oven.
3. Get a good serrated knife. Even with my Wusthof serrated knife, tackling this thick hard crust can be challenging. With a poor knife, you'll flatten the bread trying to cut it and will be unable to cut entirely through the bottom.
4. This pairs wonderfully with good Balsamic Vinegar for dipping. (Not the runny stuff to make salad dressing.)
I'd like to try this with whole-wheat flour.
Pros: Easy, Appearance
Review 2 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Relda
,Logan
,UT
December 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Bread
December 7, 2012
I have been making this bread since April 2008 when it was taught in a class. The water does need to be changed to 1 1/3 cup. I love garlic and for a change of pace I roast some garlic and then add chunks of that to my bread in place of the rosemary and lemon zest. I love the rosemary & lemon also.
Pros: Good Value, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kaitcooks
,San Jose
,CA
January 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So easy, and delicious!
January 20, 2012
I have made this bread at least once a month since I received my Le Creuset pot for my birthday a few years ago. The only time it doesn't turn out, as other reviewers have said, is when you don't measure things exactly. Or, the flour you are using is bad. You need to use unbleached all purpose flour that is fresh ,and use the same measuring cup that you use to measure the flour to measure the water.
The bread tastes amazing, I always get complimented on it when I make it. It has become a staple in my meal planning and turns out perfect every time now!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HMac
Hatfield, PA
July 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Couldn't be easier
July 14, 2011
This recipe takes a little planning because of the time required for rising. However, it couldn't be easier to make and pretty much forget. I have experimented with different herb variations. Great for dipping in good olive oil. I expect the Dutch oven has a lot to do with its success.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rianne
May 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply Rustic
May 8, 2011
Was very nervous to try this bread because of previous comments and reviews.....I followed the recipe almost exactly and it came out absolutely amazing. My entire family raved. I did reduce the time from 15-30 minutes to 5 minutes after taking the cover off of the dutch oven. Came out perfect!!!
Review 6 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gknee0610
Michigan
April 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best bread I have ever had
April 6, 2011
The easiest bread ever to prepare and just so wonderful to eat. If you want to have it for a Sunday dinner, start on Saturday afternoon but the rewards are wonderful!!!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emily1279
Denver, CO
February 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent bread
February 18, 2011
This recipe turned out perfectly for me. I only allowed it to rise for 12 hours on the first proof before turning it out and used good SAF yeast. It has a wonderful texture, good structure and flavor and so easy - it's just hard to wait for it, so plan ahead. I like the ingenuity of using the pre-heated dutch oven to act as a mini-oven / steamer to keep the moisture in. Then the crust develops well with just 15 mins uncovered. Will make this again.
Review 8 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joey57
Cape Cod, MA
February 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than the Bakery
February 18, 2011
This bread recipe is great. It taste like bread you would buy in a bakery, but better. I have never made bread before, so if I have success with it anyone can. I did take the advice of another reviewer that said 1 5/8 cup of water was too much, so I added 1 1/3 +. I did oil the hot pot and the crust is crunchy while the center is soft---delicious.
Review 9 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rocrow29
Greensboro, NC
February 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
7of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recipe isn't correct
February 14, 2011
I attempted to make this bread yesterday and and it was a disaster. I am an experienced bread baker and have been for years. After I mixed the ingredients my initial thought was that it is way too wet. I continued on through the stage of making a ball and it still was a goopy mess. I just happen to own Jim Lahey's "MY Bread" cookbook and checked his original recipe. His original recipe calls for 1 1/3 cups water, not 1 5/8's like this recipe calls for. I'm not sure how 16 or whatever number profess to have "5 Star" bread but whatever. I do agree with the one person that said their's wasn't very good as well. I will try making it again using the "correct" ratio and then reposting a review.
Review 10 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
New Jersey
February 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
In Regards to Watery Dough
February 12, 2011
Someone mentioned that her dough was too watery. I came across this info on another website that spoke about making this bread, and thought it could be useful:
"Consider reducing the long proofing time by several hours. Don’t get stuck on the idea of 18 hours. Depending on your room temperature and humidity, 18 hours may result in over proofing. When dough proofs too long, the gluten breaks down, the yeast looses some oomph and it can just get downright soupy. Most of the time, I find 12-14 hours to be about right. If you want or need to prolong the proofing time, but don’t want to risk over proofing, stick the dough in the fridge for several hours or overnight. That will slow things down a lot. Then resume proofing at room temp until it’s ready to bake."
Also keep in mind you can always add more flour if needed. Using old/outdated ingredients (yeast particularly) could give poor results as well.
Hope this helps!
Review 11 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrBilly
Kingston, TN
February 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice recipe...
February 12, 2011
Been making this for years now..but on the second rise, I place the dough on parchment paper, place in 8" round deep pan for the rise. So easy to use the parchment "sling" to place dough in preheated dutch oven. And you don't have to deal with the mess of washing kitchen towels after!
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
rmv21044
MD
Posted August 4, 2013
One more reason to love parchment paper
Delicious bread, will definitely make again. Using parchment paper was a wonderful idea, no mess, no fuss, just good bread.
0points
Customer avatar
debraxoxoxoxo
arlington tx
Posted October 2, 2011
question?
do you bake it on the parchment paper too? or just use it as a "sling" then dump it in the dutch oven without the parchment.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SanDiego
San Diego, CA
January 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 17, 2011
I have made this bread numerous times and it has been a winner every time. I now sub in 1/2 of whole wheat flour which gives the bread a bit more character. As for the amount of water, 1 cup equals 16 tablespoons. Therefore, 1 5/8 cups of water is: 1 cup + 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons. I use 1 tablespoon of rosemary (finely minced) because we really like the flavor.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Steamboat Springs, CO
Posted January 26, 2011
I didn't have rosemary around the house and a friend emailed me a link to this recipe. I used thyme instead and a little more than called for. It came out excellent! A super easy and delicious recipe!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saje
Dayton, NJ
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Recipe
December 29, 2010
I made the bread few times now. Everyone in my family loves the bread. I am making it again for New Years Eve.
Review 14 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
December 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Error in the amount of water???
December 9, 2010
eh, I just made this last night hoping it would rise in time to bake for tonight but it would seem the 1 5/8 cups of water called for is WAAAAAAYYYY too much liquid. That's almost 2 cups of water. The dough did not rise, and in fact it's exactly as it was when I first mixed it, except it's now also separating. Good for the garbage.
Review 15 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rhiannon
Catonsville, MD
November 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Bread for Anytime
November 27, 2010
The flavors were perfect; texture was perfect....like walking out of a French pastry shop with a tasty loaf of bread. I will be making it again this weekend!
Review 16 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LongmeadowChef
Longmeadow, MA
September 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OMG - Easy and delicious
September 25, 2010
I have made this bread several times now. It could not be easier. Guests at Thanksgiving last year were amazed that we slaved over fresh bread in the midst of everything else we were cooking. If only they knew how easy it is. Excellent crust. No work. Also let's me use the Le Cruset that my mom gave me for Christmas one year.
Review 17 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evka
Naperville, IL
September 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect any time
September 10, 2010
This a great recipe, it seem complex at first, but it really is easy, just allow the time that the recipe calls for. I used all purpose flour first time I made it, and second time bread flour, they both worked very well without any adjustments to the recipe.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Baking1700
Posted December 10, 2010
Ms
OMG the easiest country bread that I ever make. FYI 1 5/8 cups of water is about 1 1/2 cup minus 2 tbsp of water approximately.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Darrel
Dallas, Texas
July 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No Knead Bread with a twist.
July 6, 2010
I literally love this bread, so simple to
make. At first I had a terrible time
transfering the bread to the pan.
I use an 8" cast iron pot with the lid.
Then watching a show on Public
Broadcasting I saw the baker use
some parchment paper. They formed
the dough on the parchment and
transfered paper and all to the hot cast
iron pot. The paper get's a little brown
but that's ok . Works great.
Review 19 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SacCook
Sacramento, CA
July 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A real impressive and easy bread to make.
July 1, 2010
I have made this bread several times, and did so again this past weekend for a dinner party of six. I made two loaves just to make sure I had enough. There was no bread left after dinner - everyone went nuts for it. It is so impressive looking and one of the most easiest things you will ever make.
Review 20 for Rosemary-Lemon No-Knead Bread
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lori5
Texas
May 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and GRRRReat!
May 27, 2010
Make this right away. It is good, easy and fun to make. Delicious results!
page1 2 next