Rolled Flank Steak

This flank steak is stuffed with a flavorful filling of bread crumbs, spinach, roasted garlic and ras el hanout, a prized Moroccan spice blend.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Rolled Flank Steak
Review 1 for Rolled Flank Steak
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CapCookie
,Albany
,Ny
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Recipe & you can enjoy your company
January 6, 2013
If you have a Le Creuset pot this recipe is a snap. It also looks terrific on a serving plate.
Tip- I purchased a lg. flank steak & had it butterflied & split in 2. So, I ended up with 2 thinner rolled steaks. I also cut the bread crumbs by a 1/4 cup & added a little more olive oil. The Ras El Hanout makes this recipe. I served it with a butternut squash risotto.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Rolled Flank Steak
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
KLDarrow
March 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointed with this dry dish
March 20, 2011
I followed the recipe, and there were several issues with the final product.
First, WAAAAY too many breadcrumbs. Use no more than 1/2 cup total. Also, don't worry about removing the moisture from the spinach. And go easy on the ras el hanout unless you know that you like the flavor.
Rolling the steak was a huge mess, with dry breadcrumbs everywhere. I figured that while baking they would get nice and moist like a good stuffing, but they were just about as dry coming out of the oven. My husband said he couldn't even enjoy the meat b/c it was coated in "sawdust." The spinach shriveled up in the breadcrumbs and were basically lost, and the garlic was barely detectable. Finally, the spice masked what would otherwise have been a simply good meat flavor.
This is the first W-S recipe we've ever said we'd never make again, out of at least 75 attempted to date.
Review 3 for Rolled Flank Steak
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pedro
Raleigh NC
February 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect meal for a change of pace
February 16, 2011
The Ras el Hanout spice attracted me to this recipe as did the different opportunity to prepare flank steak and incorporate leeks into the overall preparation. Not being able to find the Ras el Hanout in the spice section of my local market I looked online and discovered it was easy to make and I had all the ingredients already.
Made only one slight modification and that was I pounded the flank steak after judiciously trimming it and seasoned both sides with the ReH and then wrapped it tightly by rolling it in plastic wrap and returning to the refrigerator for 4 hours of "getting friendly". The rest of recipe was followed to the letter and served with couscous and oven roasted brussels sprouts. incredible hit with family and rest of rolled flank steak got served for lunch and even breakfast.
Review 4 for Rolled Flank Steak
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haudi
Lexington, MA
February 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Good Alternative to Grilling
February 13, 2011
After reading other comments re "lack of flavor", I substituted toasted pine nuts and kale for the bread crumbs and spinach. I also added shallots and a fresh herb (parsley, sage & rosemary) and raw garlic mixture (chopped in a food processor) for the roasted garlic which I combined with the wilted kale off heat. A lovely presentation and delicious as well!! Oh, I'd also skip the leeks -- the consensus was they added nothing -- and just roast on a rack in the skillet or a small roasting pan after searing.
Review 5 for Rolled Flank Steak
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BQGirl
North Carolina
January 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy treat
January 30, 2011
Using the ras el hanout was a new experience and made for a very tasty treat. I would recommend cutting back on the bread crumbs a bit. Also, I needed to deglaze the pot after browning and did so with some white wine.. not a bad addition.I cooked it almost 40 minutes making the beef very soft and not as tough as flank steak can sometimes be. In the end I had a sauce of bread crumbs, wine, olive oil and leeks to put over the sliced stuffed steak. Yummy!
Review 6 for Rolled Flank Steak
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AJDub
Tampa, FL
January 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good, but needs a few touches
January 30, 2011
First, pound a lot. Second, less breadcrumbs. Maybe 1/2 to 3/4 of them. 3rd, followed the recipe up to the sear, but then went off...
I made a red wine deglaze after the sear with half bottle of red wine, half a can of chicken stock, threw in carrots, leeks, and potatoes w/ maybe 1-2 TBL of dried herbs de provence. Simmered at a nice boil for 30-35 mins, then added ~2TBL of SIFTED flour and stirred in, put the skirt back on top and cooked for 15 mins. Probably could have been a few mins left, but I did sear it very well (2 mins a side on medium-high heat),
My modifications and I give this 5 stars, that is if you lose some bread crumbs.
Güden.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Rolled Flank Steak
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
yumyumHawaii
January 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flavorful surprise!
January 28, 2011
Though the steps were a bit time consuming it was well worth the effort. Not sure if a novice cook could follow the recipe. I had to learn how to butterfly my flank steak via the internet and it was a good thing I already knew how to make roasted garlic.
My grocer doesn' sell flanks larger than 1 lb so I had to truss a bunch to gether to use the same cooking time. In the end my family loved it, although the ras el hanout was a little exotic for some. Very tender in the end and a beautiful presentation!