Roasted Spiced Walnuts

Both sweet and savory, these spicy walnuts make for crunchy nibbling to enjoy out of hand. This snack can be prepared well in advance and stored in an airtight container at room temperature. A slender rasp-style grater is the ideal tool for the orange zest.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
3 of 6(50%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Roasted Spiced Walnuts
Review 1 for Roasted Spiced Walnuts
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nessaj
,La Crescenta
,Ca
January 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recommend, but with reservations
January 2, 2014
The execution of this recipe needs tweaking. Mine nearly burned the first time around.
Reading similar recipes for spiced nuts over the internet, I noticed a couple of things to tweak.
1 - I too had a 'gummy' like consistency that made it difficult to coat the nuts evenly. A lot of recipes which incorporate 1 egg white also incorporate anywhere from 1 tsp to 1 Tbsp of water or vanilla extract. This makes sense, as I imagine it would reduce the ‘gumminess’ and make it easier to coat the nuts.
2 – No recipe I could find online roasted at or above 375F. Most recipes called for temperatures of 300F – 325F, citing more controlled roasting, even browning, and less risk of burning. Some recipes went as low as 200F but roasted for MUCH longer. Perhaps the author of this Williams Sonoma recipe, having a baking time of 30 minutes, intended for 275F! Not 375F!
The spicing is good, and I like the balance of flavors being imparted. I will try again. I’m thinking 300F, and adding 1 tsp of water.
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: recipe needs revision
Review 2 for Roasted Spiced Walnuts
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lizzywalk
,Dublin
,CA
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recipe needs tweaking
November 24, 2012
I wish I had read the other reviews before making these. I liked the taste of the spice mixture, There seemed to be too much 'batter' so I added another cup of walnuts. It was still pretty gummy and, after 20 minutes of baking (yes, I turned them at 10min), they were very dark, so I took them out. Taste was disappointing. I'm wondering if WS taste kitchen really tried this recipe before posting it.
Review 3 for Roasted Spiced Walnuts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PearSpice
,Norman
,OK
October 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Impressed
October 25, 2012
"Spiced" flavor very, very weak. Recipe's cook time too long. 15-20 min. would be good. Hard to tell when they're done, until it's too late as they stayed gummy looking until cooled. Unattractive "fuzzy" appearance. Two cups of walnuts ruined.
Cons: Taste, Appearance, recipe needs revision
Review 4 for Roasted Spiced Walnuts
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chowhound
,Long Beach
,CA
December 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Close but...
December 9, 2011
The cooking time is probably twice what is necessary. I went the full 30 minutes while cooking other stuff and burned the walnuts a bit. Had I stopped at 15 or 20 min I would've been just fine I think.
Also, the spices/egg white mixture came out with a batter-like consistency. I would recommend shaking off as much excess as possible, as you can end up with a fairly thick coating that can burn easily.
The ingredients are good, just the execution needs some finessing.
Review 5 for Roasted Spiced Walnuts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ExperimentalScience
Orange, CA
November 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Time and Temperature
November 22, 2010
375 degrees for 30 minutes was too long. Mine would have burnt completely had I not checked it every 10 min. 13 minutes was enough. Plus, make sure you shake off the excess mixture from walnuts. It burns very quickly in the oven. The recipe can cover about 2.5 cups of walnuts, if not more. Otherwise, it is a good recipe that I will be making again with some adjustments.
Review 6 for Roasted Spiced Walnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carro
redlands, ca
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
healthy and delicious
May 1, 2010
My family loved these! Walnuts are a super food, so I eat a handful a day. This is a great way to spice up my diet.