Roasted Spiced Walnuts

Both sweet and savory, these spicy walnuts make for crunchy nibbling to enjoy out of hand. This snack can be prepared well in advance and stored in an airtight container at room temperature. A slender rasp-style grater is the ideal tool for the orange zest.
Average Customer Rating:
1.75 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
1 of 4(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Roasted Spiced Walnuts
Review 1 for Roasted Spiced Walnuts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ninotchka
,Vienna
,VA
December 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The oven temperature is wrong
December 20, 2014
I found as with the other reviewers that the oven temperature was too high. My first batch burnt. I have an old family recipe for pecans and the oven temperature is 300 degrees F. I also will tweak the spice combination it lacked a depth of flavor. With experimentation I believe this recipe can be reworked into a tasty holiday treat. However, as written it fails.
Cons: Taste, Appearance
Review 2 for Roasted Spiced Walnuts
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nessaj
,La Crescenta
,Ca
January 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recommend, but with reservations
January 2, 2014
The execution of this recipe needs tweaking. Mine nearly burned the first time around.
Reading similar recipes for spiced nuts over the internet, I noticed a couple of things to tweak.
1 - I too had a 'gummy' like consistency that made it difficult to coat the nuts evenly. A lot of recipes which incorporate 1 egg white also incorporate anywhere from 1 tsp to 1 Tbsp of water or vanilla extract. This makes sense, as I imagine it would reduce the ‘gumminess’ and make it easier to coat the nuts.
2 – No recipe I could find online roasted at or above 375F. Most recipes called for temperatures of 300F – 325F, citing more controlled roasting, even browning, and less risk of burning. Some recipes went as low as 200F but roasted for MUCH longer. Perhaps the author of this Williams Sonoma recipe, having a baking time of 30 minutes, intended for 275F! Not 375F!
The spicing is good, and I like the balance of flavors being imparted. I will try again. I’m thinking 300F, and adding 1 tsp of water.
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: recipe needs revision
Review 3 for Roasted Spiced Walnuts
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lizzywalk
,Dublin
,CA
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recipe needs tweaking
November 24, 2012
I wish I had read the other reviews before making these. I liked the taste of the spice mixture, There seemed to be too much 'batter' so I added another cup of walnuts. It was still pretty gummy and, after 20 minutes of baking (yes, I turned them at 10min), they were very dark, so I took them out. Taste was disappointing. I'm wondering if WS taste kitchen really tried this recipe before posting it.
Review 4 for Roasted Spiced Walnuts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PearSpice
,Norman
,OK
October 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Impressed
October 25, 2012
"Spiced" flavor very, very weak. Recipe's cook time too long. 15-20 min. would be good. Hard to tell when they're done, until it's too late as they stayed gummy looking until cooled. Unattractive "fuzzy" appearance. Two cups of walnuts ruined.
Cons: Taste, Appearance, recipe needs revision