Roasted Pumpkin Soup with Cider Cream

For cooking, use small, sweet pumpkin varieties with a thick flesh and a fairly small seed cavity, such as the Sugar Pie, Baby Bear or Cheese pumpkin. Field pumpkins have a fibrous flesh that is not good for cooking. Instead of pumpkin, you can use kabocha squash, which has bright green skin marked with paler green stripes and pale orange flesh.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Roasted Pumpkin Soup with Cider Cream
Review 1 for Roasted Pumpkin Soup with Cider Cream
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kmdunn
,Bath
,MI
December 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
More time, more time, more time
December 16, 2013
The basics of this recipe are great. But it takes a LOT more than 7 minutes for "thickly cut" carrots and celery to go from raw to soft. I cooked those veggies for at least 40 minutes.
Then, recipe as is, until the instruction to "simmer for 15 minutes." I simmered the soup before blending for about 90 minutes, then blended it.
The flavors were incredible. Deep, rich, no one flavor overpowering the others. My dinner guests were over the moon happy with this as an entree with some salad and crusty bread on the side.
This was my 2nd time making it. The first time I followed the recipe almost exactly, and it was tasty but nowhere near the ambrosia it became with MORE TIME.
Oh, and above all, DO NOT SKIP THE CIDER CREAM!
Pros: Yield, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Roasted Pumpkin Soup with Cider Cream
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
annelovestocook
,Portland
,OR
October 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Different than Expected
October 31, 2012
I was kind of disappointed in this soup. The chicken broth was the prominent flavor. I was expecting something milder, with more emphasis on the pumpkin flavor. I probably won't make this again. First time I was disappointed with a William Sonoma recipe.
Pros: Yield, Healthy
Cons: Taste, Lengthy
Review 3 for Roasted Pumpkin Soup with Cider Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PryorE
Jackson, California
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Winter Meal
January 7, 2011
I wanted a way to use winter squash & pumpkins that my husband would eat. He says he doesn't like these vegetables, but when I prepared this soup, he couldn't get enough. The first time I prepared it precisely according the recipe and it got rave reviews from family & friends. Since then I've taken liberties and substituted other winter squash depending on what I have on hand. It is always fabulous.
Review 4 for Roasted Pumpkin Soup with Cider Cream
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PhillyG
Pennsylvania
November 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great...once the cider cream is added....
November 23, 2010
I'm a little mixed on this one. It's a lot of work and the soup alone tasted a little bland to me. I had to wake it up with more salt, more nutmeg, cinnamon and allspice. I used the cheese pumpkin and was concerned that the soup didn't have a strong enough pumpkin flavor. But once you mix in the concentrated cider cream, that really seems to do it wonders. We'll see what my guests think on Thanksgiving...
Review 5 for Roasted Pumpkin Soup with Cider Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MRPhoenix
Portsmouth, UK
November 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best I've had!
November 3, 2010
I made this pumpkin soup for a Halloween party in Oct 2010. I've had a number of pumpkin soups before, and some have been good, some, well... This soup was really fantastic (though I did add a bit more nutmeg than called for). The cider cream adds a wonderful touch. All of my guests raved about it, and it disappeared quickly. This recipe is going into my "keepers" file.
Review 6 for Roasted Pumpkin Soup with Cider Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katz66
Maryland
September 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastey fall
September 20, 2010
I made this for a wine tasting dinner party for the fall. . It was a major hit in Oct. 2009 I saw that no one had reviewed it and thought it needs to be talked about.
It does take a little work but is well worth the effort. Don't forget to add the cider cream. That sets it above any other pumpkin soup I have had. I paired it with a dry rose` and yes there is such a thing.
But I really knew it was good when my very limited eating son said it was wonderful. Then I knew it was a keeper and a special soup for Thanksgiving. Make it ahead and put it in the frig for turkey day.