Roasted Carrot and Chestnut Soup with Parsley Cream

Passing this soup through a chinois produces a velvety texture. For a more rustic version, simply process the soup using a blender until coarsely chopped.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Roasted Carrot and Chestnut Soup with Parsley Cream
Review 1 for Roasted Carrot and Chestnut Soup with Parsley Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
busymom4
DFW Texas
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Add to your fall soup recipe collection!
November 21, 2013
This soup will be a new fall favorite! Next time, however, I will not add the parsley to the whip cream and will only garnish the soup with a sprig as pictured. I used vacuumed packed roasted chestnuts. I also added a splash of heavy cream for richness. Easy and impressive!
Review 2 for Roasted Carrot and Chestnut Soup with Parsley Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caron001
November 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Have been making this soup for years!
November 21, 2012
I found this recipe in a WS catalogue years ago and have been making it ever since. I have had people beg me for the recipe. The roasting of the carrots and the chestnuts (used for thickener) make this a divine winter soup. I also use garam masala instead of the allspice.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Roasted Carrot and Chestnut Soup with Parsley Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefRoxi
,Las Vegas
,NV
October 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy - Great flavor
October 14, 2012
This soup is amazing! Very light (almost fluffy though that is a really work to describe it) and warm tasting. The spices were great. Loved it! It works well to use creme fraiche instead of the other cream. Enjoy!
Pros: Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Roasted Carrot and Chestnut Soup with Parsley Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Northern VA
December 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
!Wow! Great entertaining starter.
December 21, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving, like the other reviewer. I set it on the side board, called everyone to dinner, and while I was still in the kitchen, they managed to eat it all up! Thank goodness someone managed to ladle me a bowl! It was really one of the most fantastic soups I've ever had. I thought that the sweetness of the carrot or the pungent nut flavor might over-power the other, but it's a very balanced recipe - and perfect for entertaining. Just make sure that you are also ready to sit down so you can claim some for yourself!!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Roasted Carrot and Chestnut Soup with Parsley Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnaGB
Brooklyn, NY
November 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Soup I've Ever Had
November 27, 2010
I just made this for Thanksgiving and my entire family said they thought it was the best soup they'd ever eaten. It was amazing: flavorful and even without running it through a chinois it was light and creamy. I'll be making it again soon!