Roasted Brussels Sprout and Apple Salad with Black Walnuts

The Blackberry Farm chefs say this recipe convinces anyone to love brussels sprouts. Because the dish is served at room temperature, it's ideal for Thanksgiving or any time you're entertaining. Black walnuts have a more bitter, earthy flavor than traditional walnuts, although either will work well in the salad. Here, the brussels sprouts are pan-roasted on the stovetop to conserve oven space. If you prefer to cook them in the oven, toss them with 2 Tbs. olive oil, place on a foil-lined baking sheet and roast at 450deg.F (230deg.C) for about 15 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Roasted Brussels Sprout and Apple Salad with Black Walnuts
Review 1 for Roasted Brussels Sprout and Apple Salad with Black Walnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TiffanyJoy
,Farmington
,MN
Lakeville, MN
December 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Hot, Cold and Leftover!
December 30, 2013
Made a double batch of this as a side for our Christmas dinner with family of 16. It was a huge hit! There was just a bit leftover and was fantastic the next day. A word of advice: if you double the recipe, only make a single batch of dressing. I doubled the dressed as well and had enough for at least another double batch!
This salad is not only delicious (black walnuts are a marvelous mix-in!) but it's extremely beautiful on the platter!
I browned some 3 shallots and a diced apple in butter, then mixed in a squeeze of lemon juice and a couple spoons of brown sugar to caramelized in place of the jam. An easy enough solution instead of trying to track down the jam! :)
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, variety of textures
Review 2 for Roasted Brussels Sprout and Apple Salad with Black Walnuts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SuperFly
December 5, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-11points
1of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A HOMEGROWN THANKSGIVING 2013
December 5, 2013
I recently chose A HOMEGROWN THANKSGIVING 2013 book for a great thanksgiving meal. Roasted Brussels as a side dish would have been thee prefect choice UNTIL, I spotted a fly in the picture. (page 13) This was really and truely upsetting to me,and for thee amount of money we pay for these dishes and magazines, thats the last thing I would expect from "Professionals" :(
Cons: Confusing, Unhealthy, Ingredients, Appearance, fly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Roasted Brussels Sprout and Apple Salad with Black Walnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CookingInChicago
,Chicago
,IL
December 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You have to try it!
December 4, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving for a large crowd of "traditionalists" who have been eating the same thing for Thanksgiving for 60 years. I was worried that no one would eat it because it has - gasp - brussels sprouts!
BUT, was I wrong! Not only was it tried by everyone, but everyone loved it! I doubled the recipe and it was demolished. I used the Smoked Onion Jam - - it was great. Just make this if you're on the fence... you won't be sorry!
Pros: Will Make Again, delicious
Review 4 for Roasted Brussels Sprout and Apple Salad with Black Walnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rosetulip
November 29, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding
November 29, 2013
This is a great dish. Simple to create and can be eaten at room temperature. It was a great hit on Thanksgiving.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Roasted Brussels Sprout and Apple Salad with Black Walnuts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ymwelcom
,Marietta
,GA
Marietta, GA
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice side dish
November 28, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving this year. I made the dressing the day before and made all the ingredients sliced and ready to go.
It takes a bit time and steps but it was well worth it!
My husband loved it!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Roasted Brussels Sprout and Apple Salad with Black Walnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cuisiniere
,Edwards
,CO
November 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
side dish any time!
November 20, 2013
I also made this as a trial for Thanksgiving dinner and WOW! It is wonderful. I also used caramelized onions and will definitely find it on our Thanksgiving table next week.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, tasty
Review 7 for Roasted Brussels Sprout and Apple Salad with Black Walnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
islemon
,seattle
,wa
November 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Brussel Sprouts Ever
November 18, 2013
I made these yesterday as a test for possible thanksgiving recipe… they made the cut!! I can’t wait to make these for my family. My husband who hates brussel sprouts even liked them. I made them with the caramelized shallots and I also added bacon. Soooo good! Will be making these every year
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Roasted Brussels Sprout and Apple Salad with Black Walnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TriciaSchrum
,Rocklin
,CA
November 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What an excellent salad!!
November 10, 2013
My husband and I made this recipe and absolutely loved it. We can't wait to share it with others! You should definitely give this recipe a chance.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
scarletb
Houston
Posted November 12, 2013
Apple Onion
The smoked onion jam is no longer available do you think the apple onion jam would work as a substitute?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)