Quick Buttercream Frosting

Use this fluffy frosting to decorate cakes and cupcakes or as a filling for baked goods. The frosting can be flavored in a variety of ways, including chocolate (see related recipe at left).
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Quick Buttercream Frosting
Review 1 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kedenv
,Irvine
,CA
April 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So easy and so yummy!
April 19, 2014
I will definitely make this recipe again. It is deliciously sweet, and it comes together nicely. A definite keeper recipe.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lboston
December 17, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great ! Best I've ever had . . .
December 17, 2012
Best butter cream I've ever had. Really good and easy. I was using a recipe I think my Mom gave me and my sister found this one. Just used it for the first time to frost Christmas cookies and WOW!! This is good. When you read the recipe, it might seem like it will be too much confectionery sugar but it's perfect. So creamy and easy to spread. I'll never use a different recipe again for basic butter cream. This is delicious! Don't substitute and let it mix for at least four minutes. It gets so smooth and creamy.
Review 3 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DAG43
Banning, CA
October 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
THE best ever
October 25, 2012
This is my forever go-to frosting recipe. It's perfect - smooth, tasty, easy to manage and it doesn't dry out on the cake. Yes, it is sweet - it's FROSTING. But it's not sickeningly sweet. Kids and grownups love it.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, perfect texture
Review 4 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
martawillcox
,London, UK
March 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just so everyone knows...
March 9, 2012
This recipe serves for around 36 cupcakes! And is delicious!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
QTRican
,Mechanicsville
,VA
January 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OMG Yummmm!
January 28, 2012
This recipe was so simple and perfect!
So light and fluffy. Perfect mix of sweet and vanilla. This will now be my standard buttercream recipe.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
biffer
October 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great, easy icing
October 26, 2011
I use this recipe all the time whenever I need buttercream. I find it super easy to make, and quick too. It is sweet - it's icing. And the flavour is great! It's very easy to pipe or spread, I've never had an issue with consistency. And I've got nothing but compliments!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lolita88
,Lubbock
,Tx
October 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bad texture and consistency
October 17, 2011
This recipe is so bad, it's so runny and doesn't hold peaks at all! I would not recommend this frosting to anyone, it's also so sweet you can feel the sugar crunch in your teeth. Maybe someone knows how to balance it out and make the taste and consistency better, but until then I will not use it again. I followed all instructions but to no avail.
Cons: Texture, Taste, Appearance
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer avatar
DAG43
Banning, CA
Posted October 25, 2012
Wrong sugar
If there is even a bit of crunch in this recipe you must have used regular sugar instead of confectioners sugar. This recipe is as smooth as silk and certainly neither crunchy nor runny. I encourage you to try again using powdered sugar.
0points
Customer avatar
MSUMOM
Michigan
Posted September 3, 2012
Sounds like the wrong sugar??
Sounds like you used regular sugar instead of confectioners sugar. Confectioners Sugar would never crunch.
0points
Customer avatar
farmerdaughter
Fergus Falls, MN
Posted March 25, 2012
Bad testure and consistency
I am wondering if Lolita who had the negative review and complained of crunchiness used granulated sugar instead of powdered sugar. I have used this recipie for over 50 years and always have gotten positive comments. My mother added cocoa and put the frosting between graham crackers for a quick company treat..
0points
Customer avatar
Rlichlyter
Hoover, Al
Posted November 29, 2011
It crunched?
You said the sugar 'crunched". Did you use granulated sugar instead of powdered sugar? Powered sugar is not grainy and doesn't crunch.(I don't think)
0points
Customer avatar
Jeannejeannie
Posted November 3, 2011
fixing frosting
this recipe is easy to fix. if its runny, add more sugar in small batches, like 1/4 cup at a time. If its too stiff, add more milk a T at a time. if you add a lot of food coloring, that is a liquid and you have to add more sugar to balance out the liquid. The sugar crunching issue may be that you aren't beating it long enough. This is more of a "frosting" than a traditional buttercream. Good Luck.
0points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 8 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DCBaker
Washington, DC
May 3, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, Delicious
May 3, 2011
This recipe is perfect as is. One would never want to cut down the sugar to two cups. The whole recipe would need altered. Buttercream is a sweet icing but this is not overly sweet. This recipe will make your cupcakes and cakes bakery worthy.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
haber
Guelph, ON
April 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
0of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This icing is TOO SWEET
April 10, 2011
I thought this recipe was way to sweet. I put 4 cups pf sugar instead of 6...and it was still way too sweet! I you are going to make this recipe, use 2 cups of sugar.
Cons: Taste, Unhealthy
Review 10 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
collgrad09
Jonesboro, GA
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for cupcakes
February 20, 2011
Excellent recipe easy to follow. It was very tasty could not find stop my son from eating the leftovers. Would make this again..
Review 11 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeAnnneJ
Milwaukee, WI
January 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Frosting
January 26, 2011
I've been making this recipe for awhile now. HUGE hit with friends and family. Easy to make and the taste is so much better than anything you buy in a can.
Review 12 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CupcakeNJ
Egg Harbor Township,NJ
August 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick Buttercream frosting
August 26, 2010
I love this recipe! It's so easy to make!
I just became a baker 2 years ago and I make cupcakes. All my friends & family love this icing the best! The vanilla flavor is excellent, so is the chocolate! I can never go wrong with a William Sonoma recipe- Thanks!
Review 13 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nohelydj
kearny, nj
June 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
just amazing
June 21, 2010
I love this recipe. I'm not a big fan of making things from scratch when you can buy it in a can but this frosting is sweet but not to sweet and is soft. My daughter loves it when I make it for her.
Review 14 for Quick Buttercream Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bakerchick
Fountain Valley, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great go to frosting!
April 30, 2010
This is a great simple buttercream recipe that is very easy. Every time I use it my guests ask for the recipe.