Pumpkin Lasagna with Fontina

This hearty lasagna is perfect for that transitional time, when late-summer produce is winding down and the first fall vegetables appear at farmers' markets. Combining yellow squash, zucchini and pumpkin, the dish comes together quickly, thanks to our ready-to-use pasta sauce.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pumpkin Lasagna with Fontina
Review 1 for Pumpkin Lasagna with Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CraftPAC
,Pinellas Park
,Fl
December 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT Vegetarian :-(
December 1, 2013
This entree is very flavorful and, compared to traditional lasagna, easy to put together. Unfortunately, the Pumpkin Parmesan Sauce contains chicken broth and therefore the dish cannot be served to vegetarians. If WS had used vegetable broth instead, this great dish would be suitable for both carnivores and vegetarians alike.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: not vegetarian despite veggie title
Review 2 for Pumpkin Lasagna with Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BeeDee
,Houston
,Tx
November 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
no longer available
November 3, 2013
It is such a great dish but as usual WS takes away the product - the pumpkin sauce that is the heart of the recipe. I really wish they would stop doing this!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Ingredients
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
mommyof2angels
Cupertino, CA
Posted September 29, 2014
Pumpkin Sauce
The Pumpkin Parmesan Sauce is available in the Fall at WS. I have also found a pumpkin pasta sauce at my local grocery chain store during the Fall season so I stock up when I see it :)
0points
Customer avatar
janabobanana
Belgium
Posted November 20, 2013
Substitute
Do you think one could make the sauce with a bought jar of white parmesan sauce and pumpkin?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Pumpkin Lasagna with Fontina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LaurenCab
,New York
,NY
October 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Fall Dish
October 29, 2013
I tried this recipe last night and it was so delicious. The fontina cheese is perfect with the pumpkin. The next time I make I will add more pumpkin sauce than the recipe requires. My dutch oven is not oval or large enough so I made it in a regular lasagna dish and it was still perfect.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Snaggle
Posted September 23, 2014
What size Dutch oven is required? (Can't find any information with the recipe.)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Pumpkin Lasagna with Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wtrbarb
,Danville
,CA
October 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous and Elegant
October 29, 2013
Never having made lasagna before, this was a perfect beginning! I made it the day before serving, refrigerated it, next day let it come to room temperature and then baked as directed. I made the recipe as written but added chicken apple sausage - delicious. Great presentation, fabulous dinner - all diners were very happy campers!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Pumpkin Lasagna with Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommyof2angels
,Cupertino
,CA
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Fall Entree!
October 22, 2013
My two boys (ages 6 and 9 yrs) and I loved this recipe! It does take time to make so be sure to start preparing early if making for dinner guests. I also turned over the squash half way through the baking time as another reviewer stated. I did not use all of the 1 lb of shredded Fontina cheese as it seemed like a lot of cheese to me ;) This is a wonderful Fall recipe that looks beautiful and tastes very yummy! My 9 year old said it was worth the effort! I will definitely make again for my family :)
Pros: Yield, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Pumpkin Lasagna with Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fance
,Boca Raton
,Fl
October 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Deliciously different
October 13, 2013
When I told my family I was making pumpkin parmesan lasagne I got a few strange looks! But everyone loved it and went back for seconds. It looked yummy in the dish when finished and tasted even yummier. This is great for vegetarians, but even the carnivores will love it.
Pros: Yield, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Pumpkin Lasagna with Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BocaMiMi
,Boca Raton
,Fl
September 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy Fall Dinner without meat
September 21, 2013
Made this tonight for a small dinner party. Made exactly as recipe (not like other reviewer who added meat).
Perfect. Everyone went back for seconds. And asked for the recipe.
Only thing I varied was I turned the squash over halfway through baking cycle so would brown on both sides. Then let cooled completely.
I also made this the night before our party and put in the refrigerator. Baked the following day.
Will make again.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: takes a while to make
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Pumpkin Lasagna with Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzen
,Pembroke
,NH
September 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!!
September 21, 2013
I have to say this was a hit with my family. Followed the recipe exactly and it was just delicious!!! I will be making this again soon!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Pumpkin Lasagna with Fontina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nccait
,Asheville
,NC
September 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Deliciously Different!
September 19, 2013
Was very curious about "pumpkin pasta sauce!" Delicious! Used it tonight to make this recipe. I did modify it, using a mild ground pork sausage in place of the squash. Loved the use of fontina cheese which has so much more flavor than mozzarella. Very creamy and we loved the pumpkin pasta sauce, nice mild pumpkin flavor! Would be a great addition to the upcoming fall dinners!
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, feeds a crowd