Pumpkin Ice Cream

To make your own pumpkin puree, use 1 large or 2 medium Sugar Pie or other eating (not field) pumpkins. Cut out the stem and quarter the pumpkin lengthwise. In a preheated 400deg.F oven, bake the quarters, cut side down, in a shallow roasting pan with a little water in the bottom until tender, about 1 hour. Let cool, scrape out the seeds, cut the flesh from the peels, and force it through a medium-mesh sieve or the medium disk of a food mill. Freeze any leftover puree for up to 2 months.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pumpkin Ice Cream
Review 1 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SummerGallant
,Carlsbad
,CA
October 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First time making ice cream!
October 21, 2012
We were at our local Trader Joes the other day where we were handed a sample of their pumpkin ice cream, my son was ecstatic at his first taste of ice cream. After looking at the ingredients (carmel coloring) I decided to attempt to make my own. This recipe was intimidating considering I've never made ice cream before. But, my 2 year old and I went for it and I'm SO glad we did! We used our own homemade pumpkin puree, which I think is neat since it helps make the connection of the real pumpkin going into the ice cream for my son. We try to avoid all processed foods, we used all organic ingredients, and even substituted the brown sugar with maple syrup following the mention in another review. It turned out great! Thanks for the great recipe!
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jnoel
,san diego
,ca
July 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
instead of pie
July 31, 2012
This was easy to make. I didn't do the ice bath; but I did let it cool down in fridge for 2hrs. My husband loved it; its just like eatting pumpkin pie.. I did replace 1 cup of heavy cream for whole milk. Next time I might cut heavy cream out completely. Great for those who love pumpkin.
Pros: Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brittmo
,TX
December 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!!
December 18, 2011
After asking question about omitting the bourbon, I finally made this for Thanksgiving and it was absolutely delicious. Didn't add bourbon, but I added a little more cinnamon than recipe calls for because I love cinnamon and a little more vanilla also. So wonderful. My mom bought a name brand's pumpkin ice cream today and said mine was better! Definitely making this one again very soon!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again, tasty
Review 4 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jen808
October 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream
October 14, 2011
I was a little skeptical about the recipe as it was so different than the others I had seen but after making it I was so impressed. It takes just like pumpkin pie! I didn't use any Bourbon but I am sure that would make it even better!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suszie
October 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Creamy and fantastic!
October 8, 2011
Don't let the ingredients list scare you. The blend of these flavors makes for a tremendous, creamy, rich ice cream. Delicious!
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, Ingredients, Lengthy
Review 6 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EclecticKim
,Los Angeles
,CA
October 1, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spoon Licking Good and Gone within Days
October 1, 2011
This recipe was absolutely, ring in the change of seasons, spoon licking fantastic.
Everyone who had a taste wanted more. From the creamy texture, the delicious pumpkin flavor to the fact that it was home made ice cream - every bit of the final product was good till it was gone.
I made pumpkin bread from the remainder. I didn't make any dietary based changes, as I didn't need to.
I would definitely make this again.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Berkeley, CA
May 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pumpkin Pie, not Pumpkin, Ice Cream
May 17, 2011
This is a very good recipe but it should be called pumpkin pie ice cream. It tasted just like filling in a pumpkin pie with an intense pumpkin flavor. It was good, but for my taste, I would adjust the recipe in the following ways to give it a milder, more subtle pumpkin flavor:
1. use half the amount of pumpkin
2. use half white and half brown sugar
3. reduce the spices by half
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzstori
Pennellville, NY
December 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
European elegant
December 4, 2010
This ice cream is the best pumpkin ice cream I have ever had! Don't deviate
from the original recipe - it is perfect.
Review 9 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fargmania
Santa Cruz, CA
November 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easier than it looks
November 28, 2010
Ice cream making is a once-in-a-while adventure for me. But I've made a custard base before, and it wasn't as hard as this recipe makes it sound.
Just whisk the eggs until their color lightens - mix in the sugar - heat the cream and spices until bubbling, and mix a third of it slowly into the eggs to temper them - pour everything back into the pot and heat until it's thick enough to coat the back of a spoon, etc.
I put the pumpkin puree in the fridge only for as long as the rest of the recipe took to prepare. Also, I didn't bother to chill the custard in an ice bath - it was much cooled by the time I was done straining it. Mixing in the pumpkin knocked the temp down even further, to luke warm. If I cooked the pumpkin slightly in doing that, it sure didn't affect the quality of the final product - it came out great. Very rich - could only eat one scoop... which isn't like me. ^_^
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
GurrlChef
Evanston, IL
Posted October 10, 2011
Chilling is key
Since most home ice cream makers use freezable bowls to freeze the custard, they can only change its temperature so much before they thaw. Starting with custard that is as cold as possible, therefore, yields a better result, because the bowl has to do less work to get the base cold enough.
Unless you have an ice cream maker that has a compressor (wish I did), chilling the custard is an important step.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
docbok
San Francisco, CA
November 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great even if you don't like Pumpkin Pie
November 23, 2010
I like most things pumpkin, except pumpkin pie. Pumpkin bread and muffins. Pumpkin cookies. Pumpkin soup. And now, pumpkin ice cream! Super easy, too. Hoping the family will like it on Thanksgiving.
Review 11 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melodizzles
Athens, GA
November 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lots of prep-time- Amazing Result
November 8, 2010
I made this for an "Oktoberfeast" with friends. Served with traditional apple strudel. Big Hit!
Extremely creamy & flavorful!
Make sure you read the recipe all the way through and plan your preparation.
Review 12 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Liddlebit
New York, NY
October 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Strong fresh pumpkin flavor
October 30, 2010
I made this recipe using a 50/50 combination of milk and light cream after reading comments that the ice cream was very, very thick. It still turned out rich and creamy, but not too heavy. I also didn't let the pumpkin puree chill for 3 hours - I just let it sit in the fridge while I did the rest of the recipe. It turned out just fine, since you chill the completed ice cream base overnight anyway.
This ice cream really tastes like fresh pumpkin! It seems like the ice cream equivalent of a fresh pumpkin pie - it doesn't have that fake, overly sweet taste some pumpkin ice creams can have. I may amp up the pumpkin pie aspect by serving the ice cream with crumbled gingersnaps or shortbread cookies, and of course some fresh whipped cream. Yum!
Review 13 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
agirlyouknow
Denver Colorado
October 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Custard not ice cream
October 19, 2010
I used 2% milk rather than cream to save calories and in hopes to achieve a lighter ice cream. It was still too thick. I prefer lighter ice creams.
The flavor was decent but a little stronger than I expected. Overall not impressed. I'll be trying a new recipe next year.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PurplePastryChef
Boise, ID
Posted September 21, 2011
Um, yeah
Ice cream IS A CUSTARD. By definition.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foodieme
October 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oatmeal Pumpkin Icecream Sandwiches
October 11, 2010
I made this icecream and used it in between oatmeal cookies to make icecream sandwiches. It was amazing! Also, I substituted maple syrup for the brown sugar in order to not used refined sugar. I found a oatmeal cookie recipe that used honey instead of sugar too. It was so gourmet I couldn't believe it had no sugar in it!
Review 15 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
coco5
Beaver Falls, PA
September 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A hit at the birthday dinner!
September 18, 2010
This is a very good recipe! I made this today for my moms birthday dinner dessert. AMAZING! It is full of flavor and spice. It is perfect for fall. It is very rich, so a small portion really is enough and this comes from an ice cream crazy family! Will make this again VERY soon. :)
Review 16 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MagnumPI
North Canton, Ohio
September 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
'Tis the Season for Pumpkin
September 13, 2010
I just made this and I must say WOW.
I used a little more nutmeg and 100% pumpkin. I found some Junket Rennet and used 1 tablet (2 for my double batch).
The instructions are great but my order was a little different. I set up the cold bath, dissolved the tablets, then set out making the custard. Then I just put the pumpkin mix in after it sat in the bath for about 10 minutes Everything is mixed at this point. Three hours in fridge then 40 minutes in the churn. I have an old style churn and it came out great!!!!
Did I say WOW??
Review 17 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarcelaM
Nashua, NH
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Thanksgiving Dessert!
April 30, 2010
I made this ice cream because of my love for "pumpkin" stuff. My friend made it with her family for Thanksgiving and it is now a staple for their Thanksgiving dinner. I even got a new ice cream maker just to make this. And it was so worth it. The ice cream is rich with nice pumpkin flavor with just the right amount of sweetness. The first time I made it I didn’t do the best job with the custard; I let it go little too long so it curdled up on me. But that didn’t matter everyone loved it anyway. I make it frequently by a popular demand. When making ice cream I would also recommend using WS Vanilla Extract/Bean. It’s just worth to invest in good Ingredients. .
Review 18 for Pumpkin Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
superbitz
Connecticut
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It was a hit at 2 Thanksgiving Dinners!
April 30, 2010
This ice cream was delicious! I used to work at a university dairy bar & could never find a "good" pumpkin ice cream after that, but I loved this one & so did everyone at my family's & then our "friends thanksgiving" dinners! The bourbon gives it just the right kick.