Pressed Sugar Cookies

These simple vanilla sugar cookies are perfect for holiday baking. If desired, you can enhance the flavor with a pinch of cinnamon or a teaspoon of freshly grated lemon zest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pressed Sugar Cookies
Review 1 for Pressed Sugar Cookies
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lksmithnj
,Tewksbury Township
,NJ
Tewksbury Township NJ
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
gooey mess
December 12, 2011
Trust me, I followed the recipe exactly - twice - and each time it turned out a disastrous mess. The first batch was gooey and the cookies burned, so thinking that I might have measured the flour incorrectly, I started over and made a second batch.
Same thing. Very soft dough and dark brown, misshapen, crisp cookies.
Any thoughts anyone?
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CookieElves
Atlanta, GA
Posted December 17, 2011
gooey mess fixes
first step, cream butter and sugar together - easiest with a mixer. Then add egg, beat, and then vanilla. Do NOT start with the flour, and DON'T sift the flour before measuring. Good luck.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Pressed Sugar Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clau
,Argentina
September 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite butter cookies recipe
September 14, 2011
I bought the machine to prepare this fantastic cookies.
I´m from Argentina and we are not accustomed to use tbsp to mesure.
Could anyone tell me how to translate this mesure into pounds?
I don´t know how to translate 2 sticks into pounds, for instance.
Thanks in advance!!!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Sharae
Los Angeles, CA
Posted November 20, 2011
Sticks of Butter to pounds
I believe one stick of butter is 1/4 pound. This recipe uses 2 sticks of butter, so that will be 1/2 pound. My step-mother is from Mexico and she does not use the US metric system either.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Pressed Sugar Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chris999
Boca Raton,Florida
February 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT TASTING COOKIE
February 13, 2011
I made this cookie and used my cookie press for the first time today. All I can say is wow. Although my daughter and I made them for Valentines Day gifts to her friends at school we had to make another batch as the family members kept eating them. Instead of coloring the dough or adding sprinkles we drizzled melted milk chocolate over the top and it just added to the taste. This recipe is great tasting and very easy to make. We give this one a very big thumbs up !!!
Review 4 for Pressed Sugar Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheeMotimes
Seattle, WA
December 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Love Love!
December 12, 2010
I love love love this recipe! I added a few drops of food coloring to the dough and some sugar crystals on top and they were not only delish, but they looked amazing too! Everyone in the family loves them!
Review 5 for Pressed Sugar Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
June 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Get Rave Reviews
June 3, 2010
I made these during Christmas before when my cousins came over and then one of them loved these cookies. The next time he came over to my house he even requested for them. Whenever you make these cookies, people will be impressed by the pretty shapes and taste. Definitely a must try recipe. You can also reduce the sugar by 1/4 cup and butter to 3/4 cup.
Review 6 for Pressed Sugar Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sharon101
Port Charlotte, FL
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pressed Cookies at their BEST
April 30, 2010
The taste of the cookies is really good. I made them as gifts for my coworkers for Christmas. I had many request for the recipe. I also made them for St. Patrick's Day, and for Easter. They last about 2 minutes at work. I do add the pinch of cinnamon.
Very easy to make. The only negative is my cookie press holds to little dough.