Potato-Leek Gratin

Prepared with cream and two kinds of cheeses, this rich gratin is the perfect accompaniment to our Bacon-Wrapped Beef Tenderloin. To simplify preparation, the leeks are braised in a fry pan until tender, then all of the ingredients are assembled in the same pan and baked until golden brown.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Potato-Leek Gratin
Review 1 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Mill Creek
,WA
July 27, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Side Dish Ever!!
July 27, 2015
I have made this dish several times and it has been a hit each time. I like that I can make it ahead of time so we can enjoy our company and cook it later. I also like the fact that it is easy to reduce the size for just the two of us. It is so flavorful and an attractive dish to serve. It is one of our favorites.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again, Adaptable, Appearance
Review 2 for Potato-Leek Gratin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,NH
December 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great gratin
December 28, 2014
I made this for Christmas and everyone loved it. I didn't weigh the leeks at the grocery story but I bought 2 bunches w/3 in each bunch. It didn't seem like enough since they cook down so much (I'll weigh them next time). I cut down on the salt a bit. Next time I will cut the potato slices in half - I think they would fit better in the pan that way. Lastly, I baked it in a disposable foil pan and it came out perfectly. Although I usually don't use heavy cream in a recipe, it cooked down and thickened up perfectly. I recommend the splurge!
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,NY
October 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
First Great Gratin
October 13, 2014
This is the first time I've made a gratin s my family usually cooks fairly in an Italian simple way BUT these were almost gone at the end of dinner. Really great hearty side dish. I will definitively make this again- maybe try different cheeses, The leeks nutmeg & cream were so good before even cooking I almost ate them all!
Has anyone ever tried to assemble this the day before? Or would the potatoes change?
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
June 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST POTATOES EVER!!!
June 27, 2014
The first time I used this recipe was for my family's Easter dinner and it was a huge hit! This dish is now requested for everyone's birthday dinner! I follow the recipe without any changes and make sure to use the best cheeses and heavy cream I can find.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again, taste
Cons: Cost, high in calories
Review 5 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Downingtown
,PA
April 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Question on prep
April 9, 2014
I've enjoyed this recipe at a party. A few questions: what is the best way to prepare ahead of time - cook all the way to the end or just layer and bake later? Is it 4 leeks or 4 lbs. per reviewer question? Can this be prepared in a casserole dish and would 9 x 13 be the correct size?
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CapHoya
Washington, DC
Posted December 16, 2014
Re: Question on prep
4 lbs of leeks will yield the right amount for this recipe. You lose a lot when you trim them down.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Albuquerque
,NM
January 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic but reduce the salt!
January 5, 2013
This is one of my family's favorites. It always gets great reviews. However, I think there may be a typo because 1 1/2 Tbs of salt is way too much! I don't normally cook with much salt but even my family members who do say that the 1 1/2 Tbs version is salty. I think 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 teaspoons is more accurate. You would probably also be fine using half and half in place of cream. Enjoy!!
Pros: Will Make Again
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
buckus
Chester, VA
Posted November 19, 2014
Clarification
It's 4 pounds of leeks and 3 pounds of potatoes, not 3 three potatoes. :)
0points
Customer avatar
jumpygrouch
Somerville, MA
Posted January 12, 2014
Typos
Yes it isn't just the salt though - 4 lbs of leeks, do they mean 4 leeks? Because with just three potatoes, 4 lbs of chopped leeks is way more than what they show in the pictures.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Seattle
December 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is amazing!!
December 22, 2012
Wow - this is SO good! Everybody loved it. It is pure "feel good" food. Super easy to make as well.
I'm making it for Christmas!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again