Potato-Leek Gratin

Prepared with cream and two kinds of cheeses, this rich gratin is the perfect accompaniment to our Bacon-Wrapped Beef Tenderloin (see related recipe at left). To simplify preparation, the leeks are braised in a fry pan until tender, then all of the ingredients are assembled in the same pan and baked until golden brown.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Potato-Leek Gratin
Review 1 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NanaLor
,San Francisco
,CA
June 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST POTATOES EVER!!!
June 27, 2014
The first time I used this recipe was for my family's Easter dinner and it was a huge hit! This dish is now requested for everyone's birthday dinner! I follow the recipe without any changes and make sure to use the best cheeses and heavy cream I can find.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again, taste
Cons: Cost, high in calories
Review 2 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pj36912
,Downingtown
,PA
April 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Question on prep
April 9, 2014
I've enjoyed this recipe at a party. A few questions: what is the best way to prepare ahead of time - cook all the way to the end or just layer and bake later? Is it 4 leeks or 4 lbs. per reviewer question? Can this be prepared in a casserole dish and would 9 x 13 be the correct size?
Review 3 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jkoana
,Albuquerque
,NM
January 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic but reduce the salt!
January 5, 2013
This is one of my family's favorites. It always gets great reviews. However, I think there may be a typo because 1 1/2 Tbs of salt is way too much! I don't normally cook with much salt but even my family members who do say that the 1 1/2 Tbs version is salty. I think 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 teaspoons is more accurate. You would probably also be fine using half and half in place of cream. Enjoy!!
Pros: Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jumpygrouch
Somerville, MA
Posted January 12, 2014
Typos
Yes it isn't just the salt though - 4 lbs of leeks, do they mean 4 leeks? Because with just three potatoes, 4 lbs of chopped leeks is way more than what they show in the pictures.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeaKC
,Seattle
December 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is amazing!!
December 22, 2012
Wow - this is SO good! Everybody loved it. It is pure "feel good" food. Super easy to make as well.
I'm making it for Christmas!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again