Potato-Leek Gratin

Prepared with cream and two kinds of cheeses, this rich gratin is the perfect accompaniment to our Bacon-Wrapped Beef Tenderloin (see related recipe at left). To simplify preparation, the leeks are braised in a fry pan until tender, then all of the ingredients are assembled in the same pan and baked until golden brown.
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Potato-Leek Gratin
Review 1 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pj36912
,Downingtown
,PA
April 9, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Question on prep
April 9, 2014
I've enjoyed this recipe at a party. A few questions: what is the best way to prepare ahead of time - cook all the way to the end or just layer and bake later? Is it 4 leeks or 4 lbs. per reviewer question? Can this be prepared in a casserole dish and would 9 x 13 be the correct size?
Review 2 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jkoana
,Albuquerque
,NM
January 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic but reduce the salt!
January 5, 2013
This is one of my family's favorites. It always gets great reviews. However, I think there may be a typo because 1 1/2 Tbs of salt is way too much! I don't normally cook with much salt but even my family members who do say that the 1 1/2 Tbs version is salty. I think 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 teaspoons is more accurate. You would probably also be fine using half and half in place of cream. Enjoy!!
Pros: Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jumpygrouch
Somerville, MA
Posted January 12, 2014
Typos
Yes it isn't just the salt though - 4 lbs of leeks, do they mean 4 leeks? Because with just three potatoes, 4 lbs of chopped leeks is way more than what they show in the pictures.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeaKC
,Seattle
December 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is amazing!!
December 22, 2012
Wow - this is SO good! Everybody loved it. It is pure "feel good" food. Super easy to make as well.
I'm making it for Christmas!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookieg
,Worthington
,oh
November 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So decadent, yet easy!
November 23, 2011
About 20 years ago, I had a similar recipe from Bon Appetit and lost it. I was so sad until I got my W.S. catalogue with this recipe in it. It gets rave reviews every time. It's time-consuming but not difficult. You can substitute white cheddar or other hard cheese for the Gruyere, and it turns out fine. Great for holidays!
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, Unhealthy, Lengthy
Review 5 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rbsquire
,Alexandria
,VA
September 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Potato-Leek Gratin
September 21, 2011
My son made this potato leek dish for a brunch and it is amazing!! Everyone had seconds. I love it. It is rich, but well worth the calaries. I am making it for my brunch with friends this weekend. This dish is good for brunch or dinner. You can't go wrong.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PfromNJ
Glen Ridge, NJ
June 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just excellent
June 11, 2011
Awesome for Thanksgiving turkey as well as beef or just reheated the next day with a nice salad. I have water in my mouth as I write the review!!!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again, great flavors
Review 7 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JelliB
Chicago, IL
April 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of our favorite potato dishes
April 24, 2011
I have made this for several holiday meals, and every last bite is always gone before people can even get to seconds. I get requests for this all the time, and it really is one of our favorite potato dishes. It is very rich, but tastes decadent and easier than it tastes! I think there is a lot of leeway with the cheese, this last time I used an inexpensive trader joes white cheddar/gruyere blend mixed with the parm...I have used more expensive gruyere, or combos of similar cheese that I have on hand. Good cheese is key, but it doesn't have to be pricey. The leek cream sauce is a must - it elevates the dish to something special. Highly recommend this, no one will be disappointed!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: high calorie
Review 8 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MikesKitchen
Chattanooga, TN
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect Side Dish
December 24, 2010
I have made this dish so many times because of request at family get together's and when we entertain. The leeks really make this dish. It is an amazing side dish that compliments many different meats, beef is my favorite. It is well worth the time it takes to make it.
Review 9 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mcmahon
nc
December 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Special Side Dish
December 23, 2010
This is a family favorite for all holidays/special occasions. There are hardly any leftovers. I cut back the salt a bit, because I think it can get overly salty with the cheese and leeks. Other than that, a great dish!
Review 10 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KGunter
Charlotte,NC
November 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The most amazing potato dish!
November 14, 2010
This has been a Thanksgiving side for 2 years now, and it is incredibly popular. I've made it for family and friends and it is always a hit. Not "light" by any means, but the extra calories are worth it. No more mashed potatoes at our holiday table ---these are a great replacement!
Review 11 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WendyPoo
Eads, TN
September 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Even my fussy mother--in-law loved this one
September 17, 2010
I made this last Thanksgiving and my mother-in law devoured it; didn't care about any of the other foods just wanted this. Now that she's in assisted living and doesn't care for most of the foods there, I'm about to make it again for her. Splurge and buy some gooood gruyere cheese.
Review 12 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cwirla
Hacienda Heights, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Special Occasion Dish
May 14, 2010
I made this for Christmas Eve and everyone raved about it. I must admit that I used Yukon Gold potatoes and parcooked them in the microwave to insure that they would be completely cooked through and it helped reduce the baking time. The leeks, cheese and potatoes were a great combination. I have made them again and they were just as popular the 2nd time. This recipe is a keeper.
Review 13 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carolsfavrecipes
Bloomington, IL
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Even the kids like it
May 14, 2010
This is a wonderful side dish. Even my kids liked it. It takes a little time to prepare, but well worth it. I found you can get the same flavor antexture using only 2 1/2 TBL of butter; instead of the 5TBL. This is a keeper!
Review 14 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmarie52
Leawood, KS
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No leftovers
May 3, 2010
I made this with the Bacon-wrapped Tenderloin and found it easy to do ahead and everyone loved it.
Review 15 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MattyRW
Miami, FL
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Entertaining
May 2, 2010
I have made this recipe twice: the first time was on Easter Sunday and the second time was for a reunion with friends. The mixture of the leeks with the cheese and cream made a delicious combination and I would not change anything about it. All of my friends and family commented on the delicious taste and the wonderful smell that permeated the house as it was cooking. I always enjoy cooking with leeks and the combinations with the cheese and potatoes made it a winning dish.
Review 16 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
skinnyhen
Denver, CO
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious side dish; worth the wait!
May 1, 2010
This dish is a delicious accompaniment to the bacon-wrapped beef tenderloin. The leeks add a velvety texture and a contrast in flavor to the potatoes and cheese. It takes a while to bake until the potatoes are perfectly tender, but the dish is so worth the wait! The gratin is easy to make and assemble, just time-consuming to cook. This dish offers sophisticated flavors to complement beef and was a welcome change of pace from baked or mashed potatoes. Not only did my husband and I love it, our three small children devoured it, too!
Review 17 for Potato-Leek Gratin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
klk6112
Reading
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I loved the richness of the dish
April 30, 2010
This dish was easy to make and very filling while it is a side dish I think it was substantial enough to be a full meal.
Review 18 for Potato-Leek Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
johannam
Austin, TX
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for a elegant dinner
April 30, 2010
I've made this recipe several times, 1st time was for the family Christmas dinner, everyone loved the dish, and wanted the recipe. I just made it for a dinner party and my guests were impressed.. Never had cooked with leeks before, so I was a little apprehensive, wow the favors are awesome.