Pot Roast Brisket

Mushroom demi-glace adds depth of flavor to this beef brisket, which is braised to tender perfection in a slow cooker. Carrots and cipollini onions, a sweet Italian variety, simmer alongside the meat.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pot Roast Brisket
Review 1 for Pot Roast Brisket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ABanana
November 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very tender and tasty. Dish a bit of effort.
November 8, 2013
This is a more labor intensive version of a brisket but worth making (prep time of all stages is probably closer to one hour than a 1/2 hr) Ask your supermkt. to do the flat and roll step for you. While the final dish has plenty of non stringy large pieces, you will get parts of the dish literally falling apart. I recommend doubling the amount of carrots and greens, adding one yellow onion diced along with the called for onions. I also threw in a few pounds of red potatoes (chunked). I added the potatoes along with the carrots at the end. I also used Wegman's basic demi glaze and saved over William Sonoma's mushroom demi glaze. This dish will make a ton of meat. Make sure if not using a large crock pot the meat with fit before starting the recipe. The recipe is not clear the heat on the last stage with the carrots. I used high and that worked well on the 2 hour setting. I highly recommend this dish and it freezes well and the left overs tasted good refrigerated for 4 days.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Pot Roast Brisket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lizster
,MA
East Longmeadow, MA
June 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
June 17, 2013
This is so tender and flavorful! I used beef broth instead of the wine and 1/2 cup tomato sauce instead of paste. I also added baby red potatoes. The vegetables are fabulous because they soak up all the flavors from the meat and sauce. Will definitely make this again.
Pros: Easy, flavorful
Review 3 for Pot Roast Brisket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AshleyH
,Houston
,TX
January 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Recipe!!
January 21, 2013
I made this recipe last night for dinner. A++!! The flavor was beautilful and the brisket wonderfully tender.
I omitted the red wine and after searing the brisket, cooked it in a cast iron dutch oven in the oven at 350 degrees for 4 hours.
Instead of the swiss chard, I served it with mashed red potato and roasted asparagus.
The compliments lasted throughout the meal and well after the dishes were washed and put away.
This is definitely a winner!
Thank you, William-Sonoma!!
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Pot Roast Brisket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefStapes
,Bellevue
,WA
January 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipe
January 1, 2013
For $84, It was a great recipe for new year's dinner. I used an Emile Henry Dutch oven at 350 degrees for 1.75 hrs. Got the beef brisket from whole food and had them trim the fat. it worked great.
My wife baked some sliced red potatoes with rosemary olive oil and coarse salt covered on aluminum foil for 20min, a great complement.
It served six people
Comments to the recipe:
Hard to sear the meat with 1tbsp of olive oil. I used about 7-8 tbsp and it worked great.
1.25 hr at 350 degrees, then carrots + 15 min.
Add white and portobello mushrooms.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Pot Roast Brisket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AbiC
Texas
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic, delicious!
January 18, 2011
I had been wanting to cook brisket for a long time now, and this was just perfect. My husband and I just loved it. I did not have the demi glaze but I added mushrooms to the recipe and it was great. I will definitely be making this dish again. I highly recommend it!
Review 6 for Pot Roast Brisket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
daydreambeliever
Chino, CA
October 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious pot roast
October 29, 2010
I tried this recipe out last night. It was delicious. My family loved it. In fact, I do not have any leftovers the day after as my family went for seconds (and there is four of us, so that tells you that the recipe makes plenty). I decided not to cook it in my crockpot but instead used my Le Creuset dutch oven and cooked stovetop style. I didn't have mushroom demi-glace but used my beef demi-glace from WS. I had never had Swiss Chard before so that was a new veggie for my family. The onions are also a nice touch. And I roasted potatoes, carrots, and butternut squash instead of cooking them with the meat. I added the swiss chard to the pot the last 8 minutes. The meat is so tender. Pour the gravy (the best part) over the meat (and veggies if you like). Very yummy meal. Will make again.
Review 7 for Pot Roast Brisket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IrishSue
Boston, MA
October 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
superb! Perfect on a cold evening!
October 20, 2010
A wonderfully easy family dinner. My kids loved it! I don't have a fancy slow cooker, I used my crock pot! You don't have to blanch the swiss chard, just add it in 20 minutes before serving. I also added the carrots at the beginning and left it simmer on low for about 5 hours. Will definitely make this again.
Review 8 for Pot Roast Brisket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lali
dallas
October 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great meal!
October 17, 2010
This is a great recipe. I will tell you that I did not use the electric pot I used the dutch oven from Le Creuset and it turned out great also. The flavors are amazing.