Pomegranate-Merlot Braised Lamb Shanks

Pomegranate juice lends a sweet-tart flavor to this slow-cooked lamb dish, while cinnamon, cumin and allspice add an undertone of spicy warmth. Serve over couscous to soak up the delicious sauce.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pomegranate-Merlot Braised Lamb Shanks
Review 1 for Pomegranate-Merlot Braised Lamb Shanks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cranskitchen
,Sharon
,MA
November 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
most requested dish
November 12, 2014
Stunningly delicious. Made this in the slow cooker and allowed it to cook for 6 to 8 hours. The flavor was exceptional and my family frequently requests this dish,
Pros: Healthy, Impressive
Cons: Cost
Review 2 for Pomegranate-Merlot Braised Lamb Shanks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dmrmsr
,Eagle
,ID
Central Oregon
October 27, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to make, beautiful to see, delicious to eat
October 27, 2014
Super simple to make. I do not have a slow cooker so cooked shanks in a Dutch oven in a 250 degree oven for two hours, then added the carrots and cooked for another hour. All was perfect.
I left the seed garnish off. It was still a beautiful dish and drew "ooohs" for apparance and "aaahs" for aroma from our guests.
Made a day ahead; removed shanks and carrots to one sealed dish and broth to another to hold in fridge overnight. Next day, boiled broth to reduce, added back in shanks and carrots and reheated all in low oven (275) until piping hot.
Fregola is a great alternative to the coucous the recipe note suggests as serve with.
A keep and repeat recipe.
Pros: Appearance, Will Make Again, make ahead, simple, eat every bite good
Review 3 for Pomegranate-Merlot Braised Lamb Shanks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
agerfamily
,VA
Alexandria, VA
January 30, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dinner Party
January 30, 2014
We have made this a few times for dinner parties. After every party at least one guest asked for the recipe.
Review 4 for Pomegranate-Merlot Braised Lamb Shanks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnnyPetros
,Arvada
,CO
December 18, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yum, yum, yum!!!
December 18, 2013
As a complete novice, this is a dish I can prepare and absolutely WOW my guests! Simple and yet beautiful in presentation and wonderful on the fork!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive
Cons: Cost
Review 5 for Pomegranate-Merlot Braised Lamb Shanks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cook3865
,West palm beach
,Fl
October 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
As good as any high end restaurant
October 16, 2013
This recipe was a WOW! Served it over yukon mashed and a cool cucumber salad. Was a real hit. Easy and fall off the bone delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Review 6 for Pomegranate-Merlot Braised Lamb Shanks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bosh
,Drexel Hill
,PA
October 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect to impress guests
October 13, 2013
This was easy to make with simple ingredients. Everyone loved it.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Pomegranate-Merlot Braised Lamb Shanks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kajalene
August 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Comfort food with style!
August 28, 2013
Tried this recipe today in my All Clad slow cooker (yes the large one here). I used my Staub pot to do the browning, sauce prep and then to reduce the sauce at the end. Decided to serve it over mashed potato's. It was very simple to make but looked like you spent hours. The lamb was succulent and falling off the bone. The sauce was rich and flavorful. The kind of food you want to eat on a cold winter night but so good no matter what time of year. Will definitely be making this again.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Pomegranate-Merlot Braised Lamb Shanks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tonguetied
,New York
,NY
August 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So tasty, so easy
August 5, 2013
This was delicious, and the lamb just fell off the bone so easily. My only wish was that the recipe gave instructions for if you wish to use a dutch oven (what I used). I had a hard time thickening the sauce, so I had to add a bit of cornstarch (a little bit isn't so bad).
I will be making this again!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again