Plum Buckle

Fresh plums are available from late spring through summer. You will find these juicy fruits in an assortment of colors, from yellow and green to deep pink, purple and scarlet. Check the varieties available at your local farmers' market and choose firm, fragrant fruits with sweet, tangy flesh, such as Simka, Santa Rosa, Seneca or Satsuma.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Plum Buckle
Review 1 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kcsmom
,Coralville
,IA
Iowa City, Iowa
September 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Recipe!
September 15, 2013
I had a very productive plum tree this year and tried out this recipe. I ended up making this plum buckle 8 times in the last two weeks because it was such a huge hit whether for breakfast at a FB tailgater, co-workers, or even served at a dinner party with homemade vanilla ice cream. I lightly dust the top with powdered sugar. This will definitely be my go to plum recipe!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lauae
,Houston
,Tx
September 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Diet Killer
September 14, 2013
This is a Wonderful dessert if you are looking to impress, but want something simple and easy. It's delicious, but with 2 full sticks of butter, and almost as much sugar as flour, it isn't an everyday dessert!!! Still, even my husband who doesn't like plums ate every bite of his piece.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissMargaret
,Laurel
,MD
Laurel, MD
September 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Plum Deliciousness!
September 7, 2013
Made this today and it's almost gone. It was a huge success. We loved it. Followed the recipe exactly. I used a hand mixer and it turned out perfect. I had a little trouble serving the first piece from the pan because the parchment paper was in the way. Then I realized I would have to turn the cake out on to a plate! It was so moist I was afraid it would fall apart, but I held a plate on top and flipped the cake over and back, right side up, on to another plate, then peeled off the parchment. I will definitely make this again!
Don't hesitate to make it. It's easy!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
June 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Plum Season!
June 30, 2013
I am making this cake for the second time in a month. So good. Simple, easy and unbelievably good!
The batter is very thick, almost doughy. It is important that you push the fruit in, as it rises a bit whilst it cooks. If you don't push it down in to the batter, you will have all cake on the bottom and fruit on the top.
The end product is like a coffee cake. It is very moist. My first batch of plums was a bit tart, so I sprinkled the top with powdered sugar to offset the sourness.
Fantastic cake. I can't wait to try different variations of fruit. I think my next will be peach and blueberries. I highly recommend this cake.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
martawillcox
,London, UK
September 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist and delicious!
September 26, 2012
This is just to reiterate what the other reviewers have said. It IS a lot like a moist coffee cake (fork worthy, not so great for hand-to-mouth).
Great for taking over to a friend's house for tea, which is in fact what I will use it for!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lsez
September 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy and delicious
September 11, 2012
This cake came out like a moist coffee cake. Don't be afraid to be generous with the fruit. It seemed like I was adding a lot of fruit before baking the cake but it could have used more. I mixed plums and peaches and it was divine. Also make sure to press the fruit into the batter, otherwise you get lots of plain cake on the bottom and all the fruit will stay on top of the cake.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cynthi
Carbondale, CO
August 19, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Dessert Everytime!
August 19, 2012
This is always a hit! I use fruits of the season...peaches, pears and pluots have all been successes.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dalia
CA
May 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my picky mother loved it
May 8, 2011
i have to say who ever is a picky eater will love this refreshing cake, that being said, it was moist. i baked it for 50 mins{ i have an old oven} and it came out perfect and not dry.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mothra
March 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty and Super Easy!
March 27, 2011
Delicious recipe. The batter is very thick, almost doughy. I added a bit of extra cinnamon sugar on top because my plums were not as ripe as they should have been. The result won rave reviews from my family.
Review 10 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grantessa
Lima, NY
October 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fool Proof
October 26, 2010
This was my first time making a buckle and my first time baking with plums. This recipe turned out great. It was moist and delicious. Not too much cake and not too much plums. I didn't have to bake it as long as the recipe called for so keep an eye on it. I took it to work and all my co-workers raved about it. Some asked for the recipe. Give this a try. It is worth it!!
Review 11 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mstewart
Alameda, CA
September 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Recipe
September 22, 2010
Love this recipe - always turns out perfect. Tastes great and looks beautiful.
Review 12 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OliAna
Cape Cod, MA
September 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Potluck Dessert
September 15, 2010
Delicious! Easy! Great presentation with lots of color.
Review 13 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oceanview77
Monterey, CA
July 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful dessert
July 30, 2010
I'm not much of a baker and this seamed easy. Super easy and super delicious. I made mine with blueberries and my guests were raving. It makes a wonderful coffee/breakfast cake too.
Review 14 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NickSF
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
June 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Try it with Santa Rosa plums
June 16, 2010
Plum season doesn't last long.
This gets really yummy if you use Italian plums (a little firmer, smaller, and more elongated), or with Santa Rosa plums (bigger, round, and fairly soft, almost runny if you handle them a lot). The latter kind does not cut very neatly, but you end up with "stains" all over the cake, which makes it look really professionally baked.
The recipe is very resilient -- you can cut down on the butter, and less so on the sugar, and it still comes out tasting great.
It may not need that long in the oven, so watch it. Using parchment paper is optional, but recommended.
Review 15 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CHANEE
BROOKLYN,N.Y.
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT FRUITY DESSERT
May 3, 2010
THIS PLUM BUCKLE IS A GREAT LIGHT FRUITY SPRING SUMMER DESSERT!