Plum Buckle

Fresh plums are available from late spring through summer. You will find these juicy fruits in an assortment of colors, from yellow and green to deep pink, purple and scarlet. Check the varieties available at your local farmers' market and choose firm, fragrant fruits with sweet, tangy flesh, such as Simka, Santa Rosa, Seneca or Satsuma.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Plum Buckle
Review 1 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kcsmom
,Coralville
,IA
Iowa City, Iowa
September 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Recipe!
September 15, 2013
I had a very productive plum tree this year and tried out this recipe. I ended up making this plum buckle 8 times in the last two weeks because it was such a huge hit whether for breakfast at a FB tailgater, co-workers, or even served at a dinner party with homemade vanilla ice cream. I lightly dust the top with powdered sugar. This will definitely be my go to plum recipe!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lauae
,Houston
,Tx
September 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Diet Killer
September 14, 2013
This is a Wonderful dessert if you are looking to impress, but want something simple and easy. It's delicious, but with 2 full sticks of butter, and almost as much sugar as flour, it isn't an everyday dessert!!! Still, even my husband who doesn't like plums ate every bite of his piece.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissMargaret
,Laurel
,MD
Laurel, MD
September 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Plum Deliciousness!
September 7, 2013
Made this today and it's almost gone. It was a huge success. We loved it. Followed the recipe exactly. I used a hand mixer and it turned out perfect. I had a little trouble serving the first piece from the pan because the parchment paper was in the way. Then I realized I would have to turn the cake out on to a plate! It was so moist I was afraid it would fall apart, but I held a plate on top and flipped the cake over and back, right side up, on to another plate, then peeled off the parchment. I will definitely make this again!
Don't hesitate to make it. It's easy!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
June 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for Plum Season!
June 30, 2013
I am making this cake for the second time in a month. So good. Simple, easy and unbelievably good!
The batter is very thick, almost doughy. It is important that you push the fruit in, as it rises a bit whilst it cooks. If you don't push it down in to the batter, you will have all cake on the bottom and fruit on the top.
The end product is like a coffee cake. It is very moist. My first batch of plums was a bit tart, so I sprinkled the top with powdered sugar to offset the sourness.
Fantastic cake. I can't wait to try different variations of fruit. I think my next will be peach and blueberries. I highly recommend this cake.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
martawillcox
,London, UK
September 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist and delicious!
September 26, 2012
This is just to reiterate what the other reviewers have said. It IS a lot like a moist coffee cake (fork worthy, not so great for hand-to-mouth).
Great for taking over to a friend's house for tea, which is in fact what I will use it for!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lsez
September 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy and delicious
September 11, 2012
This cake came out like a moist coffee cake. Don't be afraid to be generous with the fruit. It seemed like I was adding a lot of fruit before baking the cake but it could have used more. I mixed plums and peaches and it was divine. Also make sure to press the fruit into the batter, otherwise you get lots of plain cake on the bottom and all the fruit will stay on top of the cake.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Plum Buckle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cynthi
Carbondale, CO
August 19, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Dessert Everytime!
August 19, 2012
This is always a hit! I use fruits of the season...peaches, pears and pluots have all been successes.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again