This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
patgbury
,glastonbury
,CT
November 25, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
great presentation
November 25, 2012
Thought the photo looked great and made it for Thanksgiving. Scaled it down to serve 2 and used a Gala instead of honeycrisp apple. Made it a few hours ahead of baking and it held up well. Baked fine but we were too full to eat dessert. Just chilled it overnite and rewarmed it in a 200 oven. It was great and held it's shape (did not use string). Served it with warmed cream laced with a little brandy-would skip that the next time. I reread the recipe and checked the photo a number of times to decern it was a half apple.
Review 2 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bnhiggins
,NJ
November 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent and Super Easy!
November 25, 2011
I baked this as dessert on Thanksgiving because we had a small group this year and it was fantastic! The crust is so good, I would use this crust recipe for pie crusts in the future---golden brown on the outside and flaky!
The only thing I would change next time, is stuffing the core with brown sugar and butter. The brown sugar to butter ratio seems very off and I don't think there is a need for butter at all. I have made baked apples in the past with just brown sugar and cinnamon and they're delicious!
I think you could definitely assemble them ahead of time and put them in the fridge for an hour or so before you bake and serve them.
I served them with homemade salted caramel sauce on top!
Review 3 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cowboydandauntlizzy
November 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Super Easy and delicious!
November 3, 2011
This recipe was super easy and very delicious. My husband loves apple pie and I wanted to make something special for our anniversary, so my 5 year old daughter and I made these. They were a hit!
Review 4 for (Unknown)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chickadee161
,Bangor
,ME
October 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+22points
24of 26found this review helpful.
Better & easier with ready-made pie crust
October 17, 2011
I cheated and used Pillsbury ready-made refrigerated pie crusts. Honestly it came out delicious -- my family raved -- and it was so easy! Also I skipped the string; I just crimped the seams by hand. I think this will become a favorite fall dessert for us!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TheAzzuri
Posted November 7, 2011
tried the pillsbury dough, was a little thick any ideas ?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for (Unknown)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Foxy
,Ormond Beach
,FL
Ormond Beach, FL
October 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
15of 34found this review helpful.
NOT SO FANTASTIC
October 15, 2011
I too found this dough recipe way too much and too difficult. I didn't bother to disolve the salt in the water. I just mixed it in with the flour and I also did not use so much water. Just enough to hold the dough together. My own recipe for pie crust is much flakier and tender.
I thought the end result was not even close to my pie crust (which is beyond fantastic). Next time I will use my own dough recipe which will be a great improvement over the recipe provided.
The taste of the baked apples inside the bundles was good but I used a little more cinnamon and just a touch of lemon juice. I did not use string to tie the bundles, just moistened the top pieces of dough and pressed them to seal the apple contents. Worked fine.
This recipe is OK but as written, the author of this recipe could stand to do some kitchen testing.
Pros: taste of baked apples inside was good
Cons: way too much dough, disolving salt in the water not necessary, more cinnamon needed, a touch of lemon juice needed, too much water needed for the dough, dough not as flakey as it should be
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
MagnificentMe
Palm Beach, FL
Posted November 14, 2011
Beyond Fantastic
If your pie crust recipe is "Beyond Fantastic" why don't you share it with us.
0points
Customer avatar
gramyra
new york
Posted November 2, 2011
would you be willing to share your pie crust recipe? i've been finessing mine for years - and am always interested in new recipes.
0points
Customer avatar
RecipeFan
Portsmouth, NH
Posted October 19, 2011
Unhelpful
We all know now that this baker's own pie crust is wonderful beyond belief. Unfortunately that fact does not contribute to reviewing the recipe at hand.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 6 for (Unknown)
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JoanDeG
October 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+31points
59of 87found this review helpful.
Poorly organized recipe
October 9, 2011
I was surprised as I was making this recipe to come across a measurement for 4 "sticks" of butter. Sticks seems like a pretty imprecise unit of measurement - I would have expected a recipe from a "gourmet" food catalog to have at least used tablespoons or, even better, ounces. I went on the assumption that a stick = 4 oz each. Also, a warning that this recipe makes a LOT of dough - it barely fit in my 12 cup food processor. Finally, trying to dissolve kosher salt in cold water doesn't work too well - just add the salt to the dry ingredients like most other pie dough recipes. I suggest using another dough recipe and substituting it here, then continue on with the rest of the instructions. The final product turned out OK, but the recipe here is poorly written.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
gramyra
Posted November 2, 2011
i think the recipe says to use SEA SALT not kosher salt when making the pie dough.
0points
Customer avatar
curlygirly
Dublin, Ohio
Posted October 18, 2011
salt correction
It actually called for fine sea salt NOT kosher salt as you suggested. Sea salt actually does go back into water quite nicely - just an observation
0points
Customer avatar
amberk
Posted October 12, 2011
Measuring Butter
I don't have a stick of butter in front of me, but I believe most butter found in grocery stores comes in a package of 4 sticks per pound, making measurement quite simple. Each packaged stick shows tablespoon measurements on its packaging. One stick equals 8 tablespoons, or 1/2 cup, which is also marked on its packaging and makes measuring a snap for any recipe. I believe "4 sticks of butter" is quite easy to follow and can't help but think most cooks would prefer ease of measurement over the need to get out a scale for ounces. Just my opinion.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)