Penne with Beef Ragu

Ragu, which can be made with ground beef, pork, veal or a combination, tastes even better the day after it is made. This recipe can easily be doubled and will keep in an airtight container for up to 3 days in the refrigerator or up to 3 months in the freezer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Penne with Beef Ragu
Review 1 for Penne with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sfremed
,New York
,NY
January 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 11, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times for guests and I never have leftovers. It is a great, simple recipe. Like another reviewer mentioned, I also cut back on the amount of oil and use 3 - 4 Tbl instead of the 6 called for in the recipe.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 2 for Penne with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cjbuddy
,Denver
,CO
Denver
December 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple but seems like more...
December 15, 2012
I have made this a few times, most recently with pork in place of the beef. Other than a couple of extra cloves of garlic made as directed. It is so good and even though there is a long simmer time the prep work is pretty quick. Would serve to guests.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Penne with Beef Ragu
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nilpi
Beverly Hills, CA
April 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple & practical
April 10, 2012
I really like this recipe due to its simplricity. I also agree with the previous reviewers about mixing beef with pork, etc., as this makes it more delicious. However, 6 Tablespoons of oil is very excessive. The meat (even if you use sirloin, which I did) also renders fat, so you end up with a significant amount. I would cut down the saute oil by half to 3 Tablespoons. This is a fantastic dish, and keeping it healthy is the way to go!!
Pros: Quick, Good Value
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 4 for Penne with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarish
,Redwood City
,CA
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple Cooking, Flexible Recipe
January 4, 2012
We make this about once a week. Family and friends love it and it makes great leftovers for lunch (I eat it on toast rather than use pre-cooked noodles).
We replace rosemary with 3 bay leaves (and add before wine), which is called for in the Ragu from the WS "Sauces" cookbook.
We also use any combination of pork, beef, veal, and lamb that is available.
The more wine the better (but also the longer it takes to cook). This recipe can be doubled (trippled etc) well.
Long and short: this is simple cooking for delicious comfort food.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Penne with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
J9Bo
,Feeding Hills
,MA
November 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super Easy and Delicious
November 14, 2011
I made this with a combo of beef, veal and pork. It wasas so simple and quick. Will definitely become a standard go-to meal.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again