Pasta e Ceci Soup

The combination of pasta and legumes is a perennial favorite in Roman cuisine. In this rustic soup, ceci beans (also known as chickpeas or garbanzos) are paired with tender pasta and bathed in a hearty broth-delicious proof that the simple can be sublime.
Average Customer Rating:
2.857 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
10 of 21(48%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pasta e Ceci Soup
Review 1 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bellocia
,New Jersey
August 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good for a cold night
August 22, 2013
I used the chic beans out of the can so I didn't have to do the overnight soak and instead of water I used homemade chicken stock and I didn't do the sprig thing I think the rosemary or thyme over powers I just used enough dry spice to taste and i did add the crushed red pepper and it came out really good served it to company and everyone loved it I know that because they all ate more than one bowl.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Caracalla
,Washington
,DC
November 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrible - try something else.
November 6, 2012
As others have noted, this recipe simply does not work. You wind up with a cup of unaccounted for cooking liquid in one pot, and a frying pan full of bland ceci mixture with too much pasta. No sign of a hearty soup anywhere. Don't you guys test these recipes? I'm very disappointed.
Cons: Taste, Yield, Confusing
Review 3 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ashley1996
,Dallas
,TX
January 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent WITH CHANGES
January 17, 2012
I was hesitant to try this recipe due to the negative reviews. But I went ahead and tried it and am so glad I did. I used about double the garlic and also used a large can of whole tomatoes, chopped roughly, instead of the tomato called for. Also, I added about 1/4 cup tomato paste when I added the garlic to pot. The liquid cooked down a lot. I didn't strain or mash any of the beans. I just left it all in the pot. There wasn't much liquid after cooking for an hour+. I cooked the pasta separately and then just mixed in the individual bowls so that I could keep the leftovers separate and keep the pasta al dente. Dont' forget to SEASON with S&P after the beans are cooked. I also seasoned with crushed red pepper. The cheese and rosemary finish it off nicely.
Pros: Easy, Healthy
Cons: complicated as written
Review 4 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
goldenrescue
,Chandler
,AZ
November 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not bad....but
November 21, 2011
Recipe is not clear. Do you use the rest of the reserve or throw it out? If you don't use it, the soup is not really soup, but thicker. If you use the reserve, and I did both, the soup lacks full flavor. I may try it again, but with many revisions. I grew up on Pasta Ceci, but not like this!
Pros: Easy
Cons: Confusing
Review 5 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Memphiscat
,PA
September 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Blah flavor
September 23, 2011
I expected a tasty Tuscan bean soup. This had no flavor. Amazing actually, it really had no flavor. I tried adding salt, pepper, broth, more tomatoes. Nada. The entire pot will go to waste.
Cons: Taste, Appearance
Review 6 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
McHouston
,Tucson
,AZ
September 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Tasty
September 17, 2011
I changed some things after reading the other reviews. I used an entire can of diced tomatoes and took someone else's suggestion and instead of using 6 cups of water I used 2 cups of water and 4 cups of chicken broth. I also used a blender to mash the mixture. It is really good and not at all bland!
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SquirrelBarrett
,Albuquerque
,NM
September 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Meh..................
September 13, 2011
I made this soup with vegetable broth instead of water, used a cup of tomatoes, and a sweet onion. I also added a zucchini, and put the rosemary in the soup, instead of as a garnish. It turned out ok, nothing special. I might try it again with more broth and herbs.
Pros: Healthy, Adaptable
Cons: Lengthy
Review 8 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Eolie
September 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not your usual soup
September 10, 2011
I read over the recipe, and it is similar to the one my grandmother taught me. I use can chopped tomato, I omit the onions because some family members can not eat, but do use two cloves of garlic finely chopped. I do not use fresh ceci all the time, sometimes for the sake of speed, I use Goya canned ceci. I also do not use broth in the amounts given, instead, I use 2 cups of the salted pasta water when I add the cooked al dente pasta. Always add pepper, either peppercino or freshly ground black. At the last minutes I add fresh chopped parsley - do not cook, just add it at the end. This is not a very liquid soup, but a hearty soup to be served with good Italian bread for dunkin. I like it with the onions though, it gives this soup a nice sweetness. Do simmer the soup for a few minutes - left over taste even better the next day.
Review 9 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JaniceF
,Grandy
,NC
North Carolina
September 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious! with a few more tweaks :)
September 10, 2011
I love this soup! I always use a recipe as a guide and make some enhancements along the way. This is a winner though!
I added yellow bell pepper, and minced celery early on, used vegetable stock/bouillon, plenty of sea salt, cracked pepper, a bit of balsamic vinegar for added flavor, and Parmesan cheese right in the soup in addition to at serving time. This soup is great!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Eener731
,Gainesville
,FL
September 9, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Could be great, but it wasn't.
September 9, 2011
I love chickpeas, so when I saw this recipe I had to try it. However, as I was cooking I noticed it wasn't very flavorful--it calls for water instead of chicken or vegetable broth, contains very little herbs/seasonings, etc. I immediately checked the reviews for this recipe and found that other people complained about blandness. As a result, I altered it by subbing in 2.5 cups of low-sodium chicken broth, adding red pepper flakes and a parmesan rind. Still, it was very bland and I ended up adding a host of italian seasonings and tomato paste to try to perk it up before serving. In the end, it was ok but nothing great.
The directions are also really strange. For example, it tells you to only add back 1 cup of broth, but that's crazy. I added all of my broth back in and still ended up with very little broth. Overall, this soup is a great concept, but there has to be a better recipe for it out there. Next time I try this, I'll be using the Cooks' Illustrated recipe.
Pros: Easy
Cons: Taste, Confusing
Review 11 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VeggieKate
,NY
,NY
September 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Needs tweeking, but nothing major, and delicious!
September 9, 2011
I followed the advice of the reviewers who went before me (Thank You!) and made the following changes and it came out delicious.
-I used 4 cups veg broth and 1/2 cup water, instead of 6 cups water.
-I used 1 can of diced tomatoes instead of chopped for a little more flavor.
-I used 1 can cooked garbanzo beans and it shortened the cooking time.
-I used 1 tablespoon dried thyme
-and for the mashing step, I used my food processor and then put it all back in the dutch oven (one less pan to clean!)
It is a nice mild, hearty soup that I think will appeal to kids. We are vegetarians, and it is also protein packed for my 19 month old.
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable
Cons: Ingredients, Lengthy
Review 12 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
genieelliewill
,verona
,nj
September 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not enough liquid, needs more herbs
September 9, 2011
I agree that there was not enough liquid to call this a soup. I ended up using all of the reserve liquid from the beans and it still wasn't enough. I also agree that it was light on the tomatoes -- could easily benefit from 3/4 c instead of 1/3. I didn't feel that too many pots were involved, as i skipped frying the rosemary and i put everything back in my dutch oven, then used the bamix to mash the beans. the parmesan on top is essential to provide some extra flavor, as are generous helpings of all the herbs listed in the recipe. while i was really excited for this recipe, i found it to be only average.
Pros: Healthy, Adaptable
Cons: Taste, Confusing, Lengthy
Review 13 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jodemyers
,Redford
,MI
Detroit, Mi
September 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious flavor needs more liquid
September 8, 2011
The soup has a great flavor. Very healthy too. Had to add back all of the reserved liquid and that was all absorbed by the pasta too. Left over soup looks more like pasta and sauce.
Review 14 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SecaucusGrandma22
Secaucus
September 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the usual great recipe from Wm Sonoma
September 7, 2011
I made this exactly the way the recipe is printed--but it really did not have a lot of flavor. It didn't even look like the picture. You would not get that much red sauce from 1/3 C of Tomato! So, I added:Cento Petite Diced Tomatoes; 1 C Beef Broth; Basic; Italian Parsley; & Goya Sazon. Big Difference. Not great, but good.
Pros: Adaptable
Cons: Taste
Review 15 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rabbit75
Cincinnati
September 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
has no flavor
September 1, 2011
I made a total mess of my kitchen and spent money on fresh herbs to make something that tasted like plain hummus.
Cons: Complicated, Taste, Cost
Review 16 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cusey
Syracuse NY
September 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good with some modifications
September 1, 2011
After reading the reviews ofthis recipe, I made some modifications and I think it turned out wonderfully. I used 4 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water instead of 6 cups of water. I also used canned chickpeas which cut down on the cook time. When the chickpeas were cooked, I quickly mashed the mixture in the soup pot, instead of straining it. I then added the dried pasta and cooked it with the chickpea mixture. I also added cooked sausage for more flavor. It turned out great. My finicky husband even liked it!
Pros: Yield, Quick, Will Make Again
Review 17 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Momer
Northern Michigan
August 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Make this first before serving to guests
August 31, 2011
This recipe is as time consuming as a good Minnestrone but without the flavor. I am not worried about prep time nor amount of utensils used. I want the end result to be awesome. I reduced the use of pans by frying the rosemary in the dutch oven, removing then adding the onions, etc. Instead of going through the whole chick pea mixture draining, I removed 2 cups of that mixture, mashed it and returned it to the dutch oven. I added 3 shakes of red pepper flakes, 1 tsp fresh oregano, 2 tsp fresh basil cut in strips, and a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes with basil, oregano & garlic. Instead of garnishing the soup with the rosemary & parmesan, I added it to the soup along with a cup of freshly grated mixture of asiago & parmesan. The result was a creamy flavorful Pasta e Ceci Soup.
Review 18 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wandrerr
August 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasted great, but some effort
August 12, 2011
We thought this recipe was a lot of work, but the end result was very good. It tasted great! Something best to make over a weekend when you have time to prep. But we would consider making it again especially on a cool fall day where you want something warm and carb-loaded.
Pros: tasted great
Cons: Lengthy
Review 19 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gresstr
Indianapolis, IN
August 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This recipe needs work!
August 11, 2011
I made this recipe last night for the first time. I have to agree with the other reviews. The amount of pots and clean up was large and there was not enough liquid to make it look like the picture. But the most disappointing part of this recipe was the taste. Without adding an unhealthy amount of salt, and a considerable amount of pepper, this soup is tasteless. I ended up throwing it out and making something different. If you plan to make this, consider adding some additional spices and layering more flavor. It also needs more tomato than the recipe calls for in order to get the color in the picture.
Pros: Adaptable
Cons: Taste, Confusing
Review 20 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastes good, but too many pots
August 4, 2011
As the prior reviewer mentioned, there is a need to mash some of the peas so that there is a thicker soup base. This is standard for a lot of soups where you have to blend a portion of the ingredients. Why did I have to warm it in a fry pan? I have no idea. Nevertheless, my soup base was nearly nonexistent. Not as much liquid as in the photo.
What really makes this recipe tasty is the fried rosemary. Otherwise, this would be a dull recipe. Oh, and copious amounts of kosher salt.
I recommended this recipe with 3 stars because there are too many pots involved in preparation. So if you are willing to endure the clean-up, I recommend the recipe. For example, I used a small fry pan, large fry pan, pasta pot, soup pot, colander, large bowl, medium bowl, masher, pasta stirrer, soup stirrer.....you get the idea.
I did not soak the ceci beans overnight. I used one pound of canned beans and added them in the last 15 minutes of simmering the soup for an hour. It turned out fine.
Pros: fried rosemary great
Cons: Complicated, Confusing, Lengthy, too many pots
page1 2 next