Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Pasta e Ceci Soup

The combination of pasta and legumes is a perennial favorite in Roman cuisine. In this rustic soup, ceci beans (also known as chickpeas or garbanzos) are paired with tender pasta and bathed in a hearty broth-delicious proof that the simple can be sublime.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pasta e Ceci Soup
Review 1 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Edgwater
,FL
October 16, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I adore this soup...
October 16, 2016
I have made this soup many times and tweaked it to make it easier. I do NOT drain the liquid. It just seemed like a pain and I'm lazy like that. Plus, it's wasteful. Instead, I ladle some of the soup into my blender, give it a whirl, and then add it back into the pot along with the pasta and oil and it's done. No frying pan involved. The pasta absorbs a LOT of the liquid.
The fried rosemary sprigs make this dish. I'm always so surprised by how these simple ingredients come together to make such a perfectly delicious and economical meal.
I start with dried chickpeas and do a quick soak (bring to a boil, cover, remove from heat, set an hour=overnight soak). I use canned diced tomatoes also.
I've used roasted walnut oil and roasted pistachio oil instead of olive for a different flavor and both were fantastic.
It does take a long time but you don't have to hover over it once it gets going.
Pros: Good Value, Healthy, Will Make Again, sunday meal, freezes well
Cons: Lengthy, complicated but does not have to be!
Review 2 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New Jersey
August 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good for a cold night
August 22, 2013
I used the chic beans out of the can so I didn't have to do the overnight soak and instead of water I used homemade chicken stock and I didn't do the sprig thing I think the rosemary or thyme over powers I just used enough dry spice to taste and i did add the crushed red pepper and it came out really good served it to company and everyone loved it I know that because they all ate more than one bowl.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Washington
,DC
November 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrible - try something else.
November 6, 2012
As others have noted, this recipe simply does not work. You wind up with a cup of unaccounted for cooking liquid in one pot, and a frying pan full of bland ceci mixture with too much pasta. No sign of a hearty soup anywhere. Don't you guys test these recipes? I'm very disappointed.
Cons: Taste, Yield, Confusing
Review 4 for Pasta e Ceci Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dallas
,TX
January 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent WITH CHANGES
January 17, 2012
I was hesitant to try this recipe due to the negative reviews. But I went ahead and tried it and am so glad I did. I used about double the garlic and also used a large can of whole tomatoes, chopped roughly, instead of the tomato called for. Also, I added about 1/4 cup tomato paste when I added the garlic to pot. The liquid cooked down a lot. I didn't strain or mash any of the beans. I just left it all in the pot. There wasn't much liquid after cooking for an hour+. I cooked the pasta separately and then just mixed in the individual bowls so that I could keep the leftovers separate and keep the pasta al dente. Dont' forget to SEASON with S&P after the beans are cooked. I also seasoned with crushed red pepper. The cheese and rosemary finish it off nicely.
Pros: Easy, Healthy
Cons: complicated as written