Pappardelle with Rich Meat Sauce (Pasta alla Bolognese)

This rich, robust meat sauce is elegantly rustic. Add the pappardelle and the comfort factor is accentuated. The dish calls for a full-bodied, full-flavored red wine. Hearty Italian reds are especially sublime, but you'll have equal success with their counterparts from Spain or France or even muscular reds from the United States. Narrow lasagne noodles or wide fettuccine can be used in place of the pappardelle. Dependable: Nebbiolo blend from northwestern Italy. Daring: bold, dry Rose from France, California, or Australia.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pappardelle with Rich Meat Sauce (Pasta alla Bolognese)
Review 1 for Pappardelle with Rich Meat Sauce (Pasta alla Bolognese)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mnboater
,MN
Minnesota
December 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
110% Worth the Effort
December 7, 2012
A fabulous recipe if you really want to impress someone special. The key is the beef broth. I used Swanson Fat Free broth with excellent results. Next time, I'll opt for a higher quality one, like More Than a Gourmet. So worth the time for this one.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again, restaurant quality
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Pappardelle with Rich Meat Sauce (Pasta alla Bolognese)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ljf0625
Newbury Park, CA
August 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Restaurant Quality
August 26, 2011
My husband loved this! This is what he would order in an Italian restaurant. I only used about 1/4 c. of heavy cream and it was still rich and creamy. I couldn't get dried procini mushrooms so I used dried Boletes instead. It was fabulous! I will make this again and again!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Pappardelle with Rich Meat Sauce (Pasta alla Bolognese)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NikkiS911
Philadelphia
May 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Fabulous
May 9, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING! The sauce is rich and flavorful with just the right balance of flavors. I did adjust the recipe slightly to suit my personal preferences---I used 90% lean ground beef (no pork) and added a bit of chopped rosemary and some truffle oil to the sauce while it was simmering. I love mushrooms so I used the porcinis and feel that this is a truly special part of the dish. I also felt that the amount of cream the recipe calls for is excessive and not necessary. I used about 1/4 cup of cream and that was more than enough to make the sauce rich and flavorful. I also made my own pasta so that it was light and delicate with this rich sauce.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Pappardelle with Rich Meat Sauce (Pasta alla Bolognese)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cloclo
Toronto Canada
September 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not for a quick weeknight. Plan it!
September 2, 2010
As I started making the recipe,I noticed that the sauce has to simmer for 2 hours...Oups!Didn't have as much time, so I boiled it for 1 hour. Used the porcini and a tiny bit of cream.The result was unbelievable. I served it with a nice arugula salad and a lemony dressing. Beautiful meal.A keeper!!!! My 3 and 6 year old kids loved it.Bon appetit!
Review 5 for Pappardelle with Rich Meat Sauce (Pasta alla Bolognese)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MSMO
Plano, Texas
July 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the time.
July 3, 2010
Certainly not a quick meal due to the amount of time necessary to reduce the sauce, but what a wonderful flavor. We used baby portabella mushrooms (it's hard to find porcini mushrooms), and finished it with just 1 cup of cream.
We made fresh Pappardelle and it worked great. Our leftover sauce went over Penne pasta, and that was also a great fit.
Review 6 for Pappardelle with Rich Meat Sauce (Pasta alla Bolognese)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chuggins
Red Springs, NC
June 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it great for a Saturday meal with friends
June 29, 2010
Have made this recipe several times with portabello mushrooms, and linguine pasta from our pasta machine. My wife, kids, and friends loved it.