Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce

A combination of ground beef, ground pork and pancetta lends great flavor to this classic Italian sauce, which is tossed with wide pasta noodles known as pappardelle. Be sure to cook the pasta until it's just al dente-tender but still a bit chewy. You won't need all of the sauce for this dish; freeze the rest to serve again with pasta or to use in lasagna.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce
Review 1 for Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sailingreetz
,seattle
,wa
February 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a definite keeper
February 12, 2014
Followed the recipe pretty much except drained the meat in a colander which definitely decreased the grease. Actually forgot to do the pancetta next but sauteed it in a separate pan with some of that grease.
Used a combination of different kinds of tomatoes..added extra paste and added oregano, thyme and basil. Did not have a cheese rind :( but adding extra grated cheese at the end was perfect)
Oh and no its not traditional but chopped up some green olives in at the end...delish. that and a splash of premium cold pressed EVO at the end was the topping on this incredible dish. Made it with pappardelle but will do leftovers with spaghetti squash in the next few days.
Pros: Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Yield
Review 2 for Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thatgirlbrittany
January 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for a cold night
January 24, 2014
I wanted something warming that would fill my apartment with delicious smells. This did not disappoint. Used 1lb ground chuck and pork, 1/2lb ground veal, 3oz pancetta, $11 bottle of Cab, and whole milk. I did not immediately stir the tomato paste into the vegetables. Instead, I pushed the vegetables to the sides, put the paste in the center, and cooked it until it caramelized. Then I mixed it with the vegetables and continued. Because I do not have a food mill, I pulsed the tomatoes and their juices in a blender a few times, in 2 batches. Cooked it for around 3 hours. When I use the leftovers I will probably finishing cooking the pappardelle in the sauce, and maybe top with some high quality extra virgin olive oil in addition to Parmigiano.
Review 3 for Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jmc721
October 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
October 23, 2013
I was so hopeful this would be the defining Bolognese Sauce I've been searching for but it totally lacked flavor. With the exception of using San Marzano "crushed" tomatoes, as another cook had done, I made the recipe exactly as stated. I now have a huge pan of sauce and hoping to salvage it with a jar of store-bought marinara sauce and make a lasagna. Bummer!
Cons: Taste, Lengthy
Review 4 for Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsCrabbyIckyMan
,Aubrey
,TX
September 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another one for the family cookbook!
September 20, 2013
Made as directed, but added 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes. This is an amazing recipe, one that works for company or just the family. Will definitely file this under our favorite recipes!
Pros: Yield, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bkksks
,FL
September 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
September 5, 2013
"That was absolutely incredible!" was the quote from my husband after having this dish. Even my kids (who don't like much) thought it was really good, saying it more than once. The flavors are bold and delicious and it also works really well as a dip for chips or nachos. I did use only 1 lb. of both the beef and the pork, but followed the rest of the recipe as is. It was still very "meaty". The cheese rind really adds nice flavor. Will definitely be making this again.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JLJohnson
September 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding Recipe
September 2, 2013
This was an absolutely wonderful bolognese recipe. We followed the recipe as described. Only substitution is we used 2 28-oz cans of San Marzano crushed tomatoes. The flavor was wonderful, and the amount of meat was just right. It is, after all, bolognese, and therefore should be rich in meat! We made our own pappardelle pasta, and will make this recipe again. I would definitely serve this at a dinner party.
Pros: Impressive
Review 7 for Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taffe
,San Diego
,CA
August 20, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Bolognese
August 20, 2013
Made this dish and it was absolutely to die for. I will definitely make it again. I followed the recipe to a T and used San Marzano tomatoes. Made my own pappardelle, and it was a fun evening cooking in the kitchen with my husband and a good bottle of wine.
Pros: Impressive
Review 8 for Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jonesey12
,NY
August 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Proportions seem right to me
August 7, 2013
I disagree with the prior comment. The proportions of meat in the recipe are completely appropriate for bolognese. I didn't use all the paper towels it calls for, but it makes a nice sauce.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Debbyyyyyyyyyyy
CT
August 6, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rich and Delicious
August 6, 2013
It's supposed to be rich. I add Ricotta to it to make it even richer. Delicious.
Review 10 for Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mn3505
,Dallas
,TX
August 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Meat Lovers Dream
August 6, 2013
My family loved this recipe. Very flavorful due to the pancetta. I actually used about one-third pound instead of the quarter pound. Boys will love this!
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive
Review 11 for Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SouthernGal820
August 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good and nice presentation
August 6, 2013
Made this recipe for company and have to say it was so good. I did leave out the onion (which I would have loved) but two of the people did not eat onions. The recipe is easy to make but tastes like a chef made it. As it states, there is enough sauce leftover to freeze for another day. I see the prevous reviewer saying it seems far too much meat and I'm a little baffled because 2-/12 lbs really isn't that much meat plus you put it on the paper lined plate to drain it. Very good recipe.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 12 for Pappardelle with Bolognese Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AliceWondering
,Chicago
,IL
August 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-25points
1of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Whoa! Way too much ground meat!
August 6, 2013
Please tell me I'm reading this recipe wrong and it does not use 2 1/2 lbs. of ground meat (plus 4 oz. of pancetta!). My first thought upon seeing the amount was, surely it means "one" 1/4 lb. portion...? I can't imagine using that much ground meat in that amount of sauce, I don't care what quality or how lean the meat is!
Cons: Unhealthy, Ingredients
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
cvp54
Boston, MA
Posted September 12, 2013
bolognese
This is not a spaghetti sauce. In Italy the pasta is light coated with the tomato sauce and the meat is the highlight.
0points
Customer avatar
DebB818
Los Angeles
Posted August 7, 2013
Read the recipe carefully
The instructions indicate that you do not use all of the sauce for this pasta dish and recommends that you freeze the extra for future use.
0points
Customer avatar
Afanonilooks
Foothills ca
Posted August 6, 2013
Looks right to me
Unhealthy with 2 large cans of sauce? Unhealtahy has got to he the overused word of this decade. Oh brother!
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
VickieG
Westlake Village, CA
Posted August 6, 2013
Please read full recipe
This makes a lot of sauce and you only use 3 cups of it for the one recipe. I freeze the rest getting at least 2 more meals.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)