Orecchiette with Broccoli Rabe and Sausage

Broccoli rabe, also known as rapini and cime di rapa, has a pleasantly bitter flavor that is an appealing contrast to the sweet pork sausage in the sauce. As you toss, both ingredients become trapped in the hollows of the ear-shaped pasta, making every bite wonderfully flavorful. Prepare this dish in cool-weather months, when broccoli rabe is in season.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Orecchiette with Broccoli Rabe and Sausage
Review 1 for Orecchiette with Broccoli Rabe and Sausage
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yoii
,BEND
,Or
July 22, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a gift for my fiance!
July 22, 2014
absolutely delicious! was tired of all my own ideas, and this one hit it out of the ball park! used rainbow chard and it's beautiful! i loved it and have made a few times now. well done! my fiance requests this at least once a month now. it's been locked in as a regular recipe now. thank you guys so much.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Orecchiette with Broccoli Rabe and Sausage
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Penniej
,Mpls
,MN
June 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy meal for
June 22, 2014
Loved the idea, however, I could not find Orecchiette at my local store, so I substituted Farfalle pasta. I basically modified the recipe to work for us. I purchased link Italian sausage, and used Parmesan instead of Romano cheese omitted the red pepper.
Pros: Quick, Easy
Review 3 for Orecchiette with Broccoli Rabe and Sausage
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Waterloo
,ON
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You can't get this in a restaurant
January 6, 2013
Fantastic synergy of flavours in this recipe. I was able to find wild boar sausage with sage and porcini at my local specialty food store (Vincenzo's in Waterloo, Ontario) and used Swiss Chard instead of Broccoli Rabe, but this was a huge hit for my family. I would definitely recommend this recipe.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Orecchiette with Broccoli Rabe and Sausage
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KWSylvia
,Key West
,FL
July 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
"sauce" has issues
July 23, 2012
I made this recipie this weekend after finding the Feb WS catalog it was in and requesting the recipe. First, broccoli rabe is not in season so I used regular broccoli but roasted it in the oven to richen it up. I also used oriecchiete pasta from the store, but it was just too dense & heavy. The main issue I had was the cheese & pasta water. As soon as the dish got even remotely cool it clumped up badly. Any suggestions on how to "lighten" this up some? I love the idea but it needs work. Does anyone know of where I can buy oricchiete pasta that's "thinner"? I will have to play with this.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Texture
Review 5 for Orecchiette with Broccoli Rabe and Sausage
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Somy100
,Rochester
,NY
Rochester, NY
February 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An outstanding source of dietary fiber
February 1, 2012
I made this last night and it was a huge hit in my house. I have never cooked with broccoli rabe before but found this recipe on the Williams Sonoma website.and it sounded like a great combination. I used some hot Italian sausage instead of the sweet fennel to give it some heat. In the future, I'd try escarole and /or broccolini for fun.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again