Moroccan-Spiced Lamb Burgers

Throughout North Africa and the Middle East, highly seasoned ground lamb is popular for grilling. Many traditions call for molding the lamb mixture onto metal skewers in an elongated sausage shape. The lamb is grilled and then the sausage is slipped off the skewer in a single piece and served with traditional garnishes of pita breads, seasoned chopped tomatoes and onions, and citrus wedges. Here, the lamb is formed into oval burger shapes, grilled and then inserted into pita pockets for a terrific, informal supper.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Moroccan-Spiced Lamb Burgers
Review 1 for Moroccan-Spiced Lamb Burgers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sweetpumpkin
,Lansing
,MI
February 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Flavors!
February 8, 2013
So yummy and flavorful. First tried this at a Williams Sonoma technique class. Was so great had to recreate it at home. I used 1/2 lamb & 1/2 beef. Skipped the spices and used the Mourad's Meatball & Burger Seasoning, about 2 Tbsp for a pound. Grilled it on an indoor grill. Mixed a little of the Mourad's Preserved Lemons into mayo to spread on pitas. So good! Can get the Mourad items at Williams Sonoma.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Moroccan-Spiced Lamb Burgers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mylucky48
Utah
January 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious flavor!
January 19, 2011
These burgers were fantastic! I cooked them in the fry pan due to the cold weather and substituted Tzatziki sauce for the plain yogurt & it was to die for! I love using this sauce in any lamb recipe, the acidity works so well with strong meats. Also, I only used 1 lb of meat which was plenty- it made 8 small burgers! Perfect for us, as my family prefers lighter portions.
Review 3 for Moroccan-Spiced Lamb Burgers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JennyS
San Francisco, CA
July 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple Dinner
July 28, 2010
This lamb recipe was great. The flavor was awesome, just make sure you chop up the onion really small. I added an egg and made meatball instead of burgers. I also didn't feel like dragging the grill out so I baked them 350 for 30 minutes. They were great in the pita. We had them with tomatoes, basil and harissa sauce. Next time I'm going to double the recipe and freeze some for a super simple dinner night.
Review 4 for Moroccan-Spiced Lamb Burgers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrJenny
Novi, MI
July 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Bi-weekly Summer Staple
July 19, 2010
Hubby and I have been making these lamb burgers for quite some time now. I belong to various recipe sites and am teased by my family that we never make the same recipe twice even though I copy down a lot of keepers. While this is generally true, the Moroccan lamb burgers are the only exception. We make these at least monthly, if not every two weeks or so. They are easy to prepare and extremely tasty. I use 2% Greek yogurt (Fage brand) and typically omit the alfalfa sprouts. I often halve grape tomatoes to mix with the cilantro versus chopping up a whole tomato. This recipe is a must try!