Easy Mississippi Mud Pie

A double boiler is used for cooking foods gently on the stovetop. Made up of two nesting saucepans, double boilers are available in cookware stores, but a makeshift one is easy to assemble. Choose a saucepan and a heatproof bowl that rests securely in the top of the pan. Fill the saucepan with water to a depth of 1 to 2 inches. Once the bowl is placed atop the pan, the water must not touch the bowl; allow at least 2 inches of clearance. Bring the water to a boil, set the bowl in place, and reduce the heat so that the water simmers gently.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Easy Mississippi Mud Pie
Review 1 for Easy Mississippi Mud Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smitty27
,Plattsburgh
,NY
January 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy - Plan Ahead
January 4, 2014
Made this dessert for a gathering with friends. They loved the dessert and were all asking about the recipe.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Easy Mississippi Mud Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefSof
June 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DELICIOUS!!
June 5, 2013
I made this for a pool party and all the kids AND adults loved it! Perfect for a summer day! I used oreos to make the crust and it turned out great. I also used Blue Bells Dutch chocolate ice cream instead of coffee ice cream and it was great for the kids. Definitely will make again:)
Pros: Yield, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Easy Mississippi Mud Pie
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
signe
,Fremont
,CA
July 16, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
can't wait to try this
July 16, 2012
This sounds great. I was just looking at your recipe and notice an inconsistency in the amount of butter needed.
It calls for 4 Tbl (1/2 stick) butter.
Is it 4 Tablespoons (1/4 stick) OR
1/2 stick butter
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mangopapaya
Posted December 13, 2012
Top 25 Contributor
4 tablespoons of butter is a half a stick of butter. There are usually markings on the box of butter and on each individual stick if you aren't sure.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Easy Mississippi Mud Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smiles711
New Jersey
May 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to make awesome to eat!
May 29, 2011
Made this recipe for Easter after reading the reviews and I can't even tell you what a hit it was with everyone! I am making it again for MDW for a BBQ and may try making it with vanilla ice cream as well
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Easy Mississippi Mud Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ripken
July 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Family Favorite
July 11, 2010
Delicious! This dessert is easy to prepare and one that my family requests ofen.
Review 6 for Easy Mississippi Mud Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Megno
Bel Air, MD
July 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbelievably Rich & Delicious
July 9, 2010
My daughter made this for her boyfriend's graduation party and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
I then made it for Thanksgiving and received the same response! Outstanding!
Review 7 for Easy Mississippi Mud Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Franklin20
Toledo, OH
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicioso!
April 30, 2010
This pie was a hit! Everyone loved it! Disappointed that there wasn't enough for second helpings... Everyone has asked me to make it again real soon.