Michael Voltaggio's Vanilla Wafer Ice Cream

Vanilla wafers are the secret ingredient in this ice cream, created by chef Michael Voltaggio. For the ultimate dessert, place a scoop (or two) atop his Banana Bread Pudding (see related recipe at left).
Average Customer Rating:
1.429 out of 5
1.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
2 of 7(29%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Michael Voltaggio's Vanilla Wafer Ice Cream
Review 1 for Michael Voltaggio's Vanilla Wafer Ice Cream
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChefSof
June 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ELIMINATE THE MILK POWDER!
June 6, 2013
I didnt have milk powder and i thought it sounded kina funny to put milk powder in ice cream, so i just didnt use it. The ice cream came out great and very creamy. I served it with banana bread pudding and it was great! Definitely try without milk powder.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly
Review 2 for Michael Voltaggio's Vanilla Wafer Ice Cream
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jencooks
,Mequon
,WI
July 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too Much Milk
July 17, 2012
Since this recipe won't freeze could the amount of milk be incorrect? A typo? Maybe it should be 2/3 cup not, 1 2/3 cup.
Review 3 for Michael Voltaggio's Vanilla Wafer Ice Cream
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ashlandave
Kansas City MO
July 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How about a correction!
July 4, 2011
Since no one can make this recipe work, can't Williams-Sonoma prevail on Michael to correct it? If the recipe is actually correct as written, then perhaps Michael could explain where we all went wrong.
Cons: Texture, Ingredients
Review 4 for Michael Voltaggio's Vanilla Wafer Ice Cream
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bob1003
Saint Joseph MO
June 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Weird Stuff
June 19, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and was totally disappointed. I should have known something was amiss when an ice cream recipe contains powdered milk and corn syrup. (I've never seen these ingredients in any ice cream recipe.) After cooling the batter in the fridge overnight I poured it into a Cuisinart ice cream maker and after half an hour it hadn't even started to freeze. I finally managed to freeze it by putting it in the freezer. The end result was the sort of sickly sweet stuff that sticks to the roof of your mouth. Next time I'll just add the wafers to a good vanilla ice cream recipe.
Cons: Texture, Ingredients
Review 5 for Michael Voltaggio's Vanilla Wafer Ice Cream
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kmlc
Canton, MI
June 15, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's A Hot Mess!
June 15, 2011
I saw this recipe and was so excited to try it but, as the previous review stated, there is something VERY wrong with this recipe. The custard would not freeze in my Cuisinart and so I too put it in the freezer and it became a very odd consistency. Don't waste your time and effort. I also was not a big fan of the fact that he used corn syrup and milk powder in the recipe.
Review 6 for Michael Voltaggio's Vanilla Wafer Ice Cream
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MrBlueSky
June 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Error in Recipe?
June 15, 2011
This ice cream has potential to be really tasty, but it has way too much sugar in it. There is no way it could have been intended. It even prevented it from freezing. The only explanation I can think of is that it was supposed to be half a cup or one cup of sugar instead of two. I suggest making it, but try only half a cup first to test the sweetness. It really does have a nice flavour, but the recipe has to be wrong.
Pros: inventive
Cons: wrong
Review 7 for Michael Voltaggio's Vanilla Wafer Ice Cream
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WSchick
Lexington, Kentucky
June 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
amazing flavor, but...
June 13, 2011
I made this recipe twice and while I followed it carefully both times, it never froze correctly in my ice cream maker. I make A LOT of ice cream, so I'd like to think I know what I'm doing, but something is just defintely off in this recipe. The texture was odd to me; unlike other custard-style ice creams. After my poor Cuisinart worked for at least 40 minutes, i called it quits and poured the mixture into a container and stuck it in the freezer. Hours later, when i checked it, it was frozen, but it wasnt like normal ice cream and softened very quickly.
I wanted it to work out, because the flavor is so, so wonderful! It would be great if it could be reworked somehow?! We went to plan b and served it drizzled atop Michael V's banana bread pudding!
Pros: Flavor
Cons: Texture, wont freeze, involved