Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)

In this hearty chicken soup, Mexican oregano lends an herbal aroma and strong, spicy flavor, which is countered by the fragrant garlic, piquant jalapeno chili and tart lime juice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this recipe to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
Review 1 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mcinspire
,Virginia Beach
,VA
November 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fabulous refreshing soup
November 17, 2013
This soup is a great hit at home. I modified it in the following way:
I added sautéed leeks, celery, only 1/2 onion
added total of five chicken breasts, so this was nearly a stew
When serving, some of us chose to add queso, others added pico di gallo, cilantro and extra lime
I did not add any avocado.
I also added a bit of cumin…the soup was very full-flavored
To start, I put the chicken broth in the crock pot, on high
Sautéed the veggies in a tad bit of olive oil, threw the veggies into the crockpot
sautéed the chicken breasts in a tad bit of olive oil, then threw them in to the crockpot whole
I added the seasoning, including a 1/8 t cumin to the broth,covered and cooked for about four hours.
About 30 minutes prior to serving, I shredded the chicken and stirred. All chicken fell apart into shreds easily.
This was fabulous, especially with the lime, cilantro and pico di gallo. Y
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeamVB
,LA
,CA
August 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy
August 24, 2013
Wonderful recipe!!! Delicious!!! Everyone loved it!!
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SouthTampaFoodie
,Tampa
,FL
February 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy Weeknight Meal
February 27, 2013
I made this recipe exactly 'as is', no changes and it was perfectly delish!
I served it with a nice side salad with avocado, tomato and onion and a lime vinegarette dressing...and added a little of the queso fresco on the salad too. Nice weeknight meal!
If I was going to add anything else I might try some plain tortilla strips to add some crunch, but nothing flavored as I think the flavor of the soup was awesome as is.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again, different
Review 4 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DTodd
,Corona
,Ca
January 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good recipe
January 8, 2013
I made the soup with adding the suggestions of cumin, rice and broth for the liquid. The soup was really delicious! I have made this soup several times now and even made extra to freeze.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Cons: Taste
Review 5 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MichaelVie
,Arlington
,VA
December 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
¡Expected Mo' Flavor!
December 19, 2012
The soup was kind of bland from the recipe. I added more lime and salt, but that did not do it. I recommend cumin powder to add the missing flavor. It is a fast and simple recipe though.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable
Cons: Taste
Review 6 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ebaum
,Fort Mohave
,AZ
November 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Deliciouso!
November 11, 2012
I loved this! I never would have thought about adding avocado into a soup. I read people's review while making and did do the 4 c broth (2 of homemade) and 2 cups water and I added cilantro to the bowl. I was bummed there wasn't any "spicy" or "heat", next time I make this I will add 2 or 3 jalapenos
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Impressive
Cons: Lengthy
Review 7 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
,Dallas
,TX
October 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent and easy
October 5, 2012
This a great change from the tortilla soup I normally make. Few revisions:
* more heat, so add more jalepenos and cumin
* would use 4 cups broth and 2 cups water ratio
* to make it less thin, cut up white corn tortillas -- about 2-3 of them -- and add them for the 30 minute cook time. they will dissolve and make the broth less watery
* serve with cilantro if you like, along with the avocado, cheese and lime
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again